11 minute read 29 Jan 2020

An overview of the listing qualifications in Hong Kong

By Bonnie Yung

Partner

Bonnie Yung, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on capital markets, mergers & acquisitions and restructuring transactions.

11 minute read 29 Jan 2020
Related topics Know-how

Going public has long been recognized as one of the most monumental developments of a company. Yet the IPO process in Hong Kong is heavily scrutinized by the regulatory bodies, namely The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Exchange”) and the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), which make it a requirement for the listing applicant to have a strong and sustainable history of operations, financial performance and a healthy outlook. 

Generally, to qualify for listing on the Main Board or GEM of the Exchange, listing applicants must either meet the listing qualifications provided under Chapter 8 of The Listing Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “MBLR”) or Chapter 11 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on GEM (the “GEMLR”). While the Main Board is suitable for more established companies, GEM serves as a securities market for small and mid-sized companies. This article provides an overview of the general listing qualifications in Hong Kong and the additional requirements for issuers with weighted voting rights (WVR) structures and pre-revenue/pre-profit biotech companies.

General listing qualifications for Main Board and GEM

The listing applicant must be duly incorporated in jurisdiction acceptable to the Exchange and such acceptable jurisdictions include Australia, Bermuda, BVI, Cayman Islands, Canada, China Hong Kong, India, China mainland, Singapore, Japan, Italy and some states in USA etc. Other jurisdictions which are subject to appropriate standards of shareholder protection that are equivalent to those required under Hong Kong Law may also be considered at the Exchange’s discretion.

1. Trading record and financial requirements

Both the Main Board and GEM listing applicants are required to meet certain financial metrics to gain access to the stock market.

For Main Board, there are three financial standards under Rule 8.05 of MBLR: (1) the profit test; (2) market capitalization/revenue/cash flow test; and (3) market capitalization/revenue test. The listing applicants must satisfy one of these financial standards. The listing applicant will also need to have trading record of not less than three financial years (subject to the exception for biotech companies under Chapter 18A of the MBLR) and management continuity for at least the three preceding years and ownership continuity and control for at least the most recent audited financial year.

Whereas for listing on GEM, the financial conditions under Chapter 11 of the GEMLR focused on market capitalization and positive cash flow. The listing applicant will also need to have trading record of not less than two financial years, management continuity for at least the two preceding years and ownership continuity and control for at least the most recent audited financial year.

The follow table sets out the major requirements for listing on the Main Board and GEM:

 
Main Board
GEM
  Financial requirements (satisfy one of the below tests) Financial requirements
 

Profit test

Market cap / Revenue / Cashflow test

Market cap / revenue test

Profit
≥ HK$50m
note 1
- - -
Market capitalization - ≥ HK$2 bn ≥ HK$4 bn ≥ HK$150m
Latest year revenue - ≥ HK$500m ≥ HK$500m -
Positive cash flow - ≥ HK$100m for the 3 preceding financial years - ≥ HK$30m for the 2 preceding financial years
Trading records ≥ 3 financial years ≥ 2 financial years
Management continuity
note 2
≥ 3 preceding financial years ≥ 2 preceding financial years
Ownership continuity

at least the most recent audited financial year

Note

  1. For the most recent year, the profit attributable to shareholder must not be less than HK$20m and, for the two preceding years, it must not be less than HK$30m.
  2. Listing Decision LD45-1 noted that the Exchange will attribute proportionately greater responsibility to officers with more senior positions than those with more junior positions. It will focus on reviewing the substance of the management, particularly whether there is an identifiable group of individuals remained with management responsibility throughout the relevant track record period and they form the core management of the listing applicant at the time of listing and thereafter.

2. Directors

The Exchange must also be satisfied that the directors of the listing applicant qualify under Chapter 3 of the MBLR or Chapter 5 of the GEMLR. This includes having the character, experience, required level skill and diligence, and being able to demonstrate a standard of competence commensurate with their positions as a director. There must also be at least three independent non-executive directors representing one-third of the directors and at least one of them must have appropriate professional qualification or accounting or financial management related expertise.

3. Public float and spread of shareholders

The Exchange will grant a listing only if there is sufficient interest in the securities of the listing applicant. In this connection, both the MBLR and GEMLR require at least 25% of the issuer’s total issued share capital at all times be held by the public. However, the Exchange may, at its discretion, accept a public float between 15%-25% if the market capitalization of the listing applicant at the time of listing exceeds HK$10bn. Nevertheless, the market capitalization of a Main Board listing applicant must be at least HK$500m at the time of listing and HK$125m of which must be held by the public; whereas, the market capitalization of a GEM listing applicant at the time of listing only needs to meet the threshold of HK$150m, with HK$45m of which being held by the public.

Furthermore, the listing applicant must have an adequate spread of shareholders. While the Main Board and GEM listing applicants must have at least 300 and 100 shareholders, respectively, not more than 50% of the shares in the public hands at the time of listing may be beneficially owned by the three largest public shareholders.

4. Suitability for listing

In addition to the above basic requirements, according to Rule 8.04 of the MBLR or Rule 11.06 of the GEMLR, the listing applicant must, in the opinion of the Exchange, be suitable for listing. As stated under Rule 2.06 of the MBLR or Rule 2.09 of the GEMLR, there is no bright line test in determining what would render an issuer and its business unsuitable for listing. The Exchange has set out in guidance letter GL68-13 some non-exhaustive examples of factors that the Exchange takes into consideration when assessing a new applicant’s suitability for listing.

5. Other requirements

There are certain other listing requirements focusing on the securities to be issued. Both the MBLR and GEMLR require the securities to be issued be freely transferable. Also, the voting power of the shares must bear a reasonable relationship to the equity interest those shares represent. This is the “one-share, one-vote” concept, whereby the shares shall carry the same voting right and a shareholder will have same voting power as another with the same amount of equity in the listing applicant.

This effectively prohibits companies with dual-class shares structure from listing in the stock market. However, with the new Chapter 8A of the MBLR, which came to effect in April 2018, listing applicants with WVR structure may be allowed to list on the Main Board.

Specific listing requirements for issuers with WVR structures

In addition to satisfying the general listing qualifications as aforementioned, listing applicants with WVR structure must demonstrate that it has met certain additional characteristics for the purpose of demonstrating to the Exchange that it is suitable for listing in Hong Kong with a WVR structure, a summary of which is set out below (please refer to guidance letter GL93-18 for more details):

1. Innovative

Firstly, the listing applicants should be an innovative company with the following characteristics:

(i)

its success is attributable to the application, to the company’s core business, of (1) new technologies; (2) innovations; and/or (3) a new business model;

(ii)

research and development (R&D) are a significant contributor of its expected value and constitutes a major activity and expense;

(iii)

its success is attributable to its unique features or intellectual property; and/or

(iv)

it has an outsized market capitalization/intangible asset value relative to its tangible asset value.

Whether the listing applicant is “innovative” will depend on the state of the industry and market that the listing applicant operates which will be ever-changing as the technology, market and industry develop.

2. WVR holders

For WVR holders, they must have an active executive role within the business and must continue to be a director at the time of listing. They must also have been materially responsible for the growth of the business by way of their skills, knowledge or strategic direction in circumstances where the value of the company is mainly derived from intangible human capital. Nevertheless, their voting power shall not be more than 10 times of the voting power of the non-WVR holders. The listing applicants must also ensure that the non-WVR holder will hold at least 10% of the voting powers of the shares.

3. Financial requirements

There are two financial requirements for the WVR requirements to meet. The first concerns market capitalization, whereby the listing applicant must achieve, at the time of listing, either:

(i)

a market capitalization of at least HK$40bn; or

(ii)

a market capitalization of at least HK$10bn and revenue of at least HK$1bn for the most recent audited financial year.

Another financial requirement concerns external validation in which there must be previous third-party investment from at least one “sophisticated investor”. The Exchange, in considering whether an investor is “sophisticated”, will consider the investor’s knowledge and expertise in the relevant field, investment experience and net assets etc. Such investor(s) must retain an aggregate 50% of its/their investment for a period no less than six months after listing.

Specific listing requirements for biotech companies

Biotech companies applying for listing under Chapter 18A of MBLR are also subject to additional listing qualifications. Pre-revenue/pre-profit biotech companies will not be able to achieve the financial metrics as set out under chapter 8 of the MBLR. The new chapter 18A of the MRLR, which came to effect in April 2018, allows such biotech companies to list if they satisfy the qualifications as set out below.

1. Suitability

The listing applicant must qualify as a biotech company whereby its principal business is research development, application and commercialization of biotech products. In particular, it must demonstrate the following features (please refer to guidance letter GL92-18 for more details):

(i)

the listing applicant must have developed at least one core product beyond the concept stage, i.e., having met the developmental milestones specified for the relevant type of product as defined in guidance letter GL92-18;

(ii)

it must have been primarily engaged in R&D for the purpose of developing its core product;

(iii)

it must have been engaged with the R&D of its core product for a minimum of 12 months prior to listing;

(iv)

it must have as its primary reason for listing the raising of finance for R&D to bring its core product to commercialization;

(v)

it must have registered intellectual property rights attached to its core product; and

(vi)

if the listing applicant is engaged in the R&D of pharmaceutical products or biologic products, a pipeline of those potential products must be demonstrated.

2. Financial requirement

The listing applicant must have been in operation in its current line of business for at least two financial years prior to listing with the same management. There must also be sufficient working capital to cover at least 125% of the group’s costs for at least 12 months from the date of publicizing its listing documents. Such costs must substantially consist of (i) general administrative and operating costs; and (ii) research and development costs.

At the time of listing, the market capitalization of the listing applicant must reach at least HK$1.5bn.

Lastly, similar to listing applicant with WVR structure, the listing applicant must have received “meaningful investment” from at least one “sophisticated investor” at least 6 months before listing (which must remain at the time of listing). The Exchange will assess whether an investor is a “sophisticated investor” for the purpose of applications for listing under Chapter 18A on a case-by-case basis by reference to factors such as net assets or assets under management, relevant investment experience, and the investor’s knowledge and expertise in the relevant field. As set out in guidance letter GL92-18, for this purpose, the Exchange would generally consider the following as examples, for illustrative purposes only, of types of sophisticated investor:

(i)

a dedicated health care or biotech fund or an established fund with a division/department that specializes or focuses on investments in the biopharmaceutical sector;

(ii)

a major pharmaceutical/health care company;

(iii)

a venture capital fund of a major pharmaceutical/healthcare company; and

(iv)

an investor, investment fund or financial institution with minimum assets under management of HK$1 billion.

As a guidance, the Exchange listed out investment benchmarks for one to qualify as “meaningful investment” under guidance letter GL92-18, and they are:

(i)

for an applicant with a market capitalization between HK$1.5bn to HK$3bn, an investment of not less than 5% of the issued share capital of the applicant at the time of listing;

(ii)

for an applicant with a market capitalization between HK$3bn to HK$8bn, an investment of not less than 3% of the issued share capital of the applicant at the time of listing; and

(iii)

for an applicant with a market capitalization of more than HK$8bn, an investment of not less than 1% of the issued share capital of the applicant at the time of listing.

Summary

This article provides an overview of the general listing qualifications in Hong Kong and the additional requirements for issuers with weighted voting rights (WVR) structures and pre-revenue/pre-profit biotech companies.

About this article

By Bonnie Yung

Partner

Bonnie Yung, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on capital markets, mergers & acquisitions and restructuring transactions.

EN

4 分钟 2020年1月29日

香港上市资格概述

作者 容璟瑜 Bonnie Yung

合伙人

容璟瑜律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的合伙人。容律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市、兼并与收购及公司融资交易。

4 分钟 2020年1月29日
Related topics 专业知识

上市多年来被视为一家公司最重大的发展之一。然而,香港的上市程序受监管机构(即香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)及证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)的严格审查,其要求上市申请人具有良好且可持续的营运历史,财务业绩及健康的前景。

般而言,要符合资格在联交所主板或GEM上市,上市申请人必须达到《香港联合交易所有限公司证券上市规则》(“主板上市规则”)第8章或《香港联合交易所有限公司GEM证券上市规则》(“GEM上市规则”)第11章规定的上市条件。主板适合较成熟的公司,而GEM则为中小型公司提供证券市场。本文概述香港的一般上市资格和针对具有不同投票权(“WVR”)结构的发行人及未有收益/未盈利生物科技公司的附加上市条件。

主板和GEM的一般上市资格

上市申请人须依据相关法例于经联交所接纳的司法管辖区注册成立,而该等司法管辖区包括澳大利亚,百慕大,英属维尔京群岛,开曼群岛,加拿大,中国香港,印度,中国内地,新加坡,日本,意大利和美国部分州等。联交所会酌情考虑其他具有与香港法例类同及适当的股东保护标准的司法管辖区。

1. 营运记录及财务要求

主板和GEM上市申请人都必须达到某些财务指标才能成功在股票市场上市。

就主板而言,主板上市规则第8.05条制定了三项财务标准:(1)盈利测试;(2)市值/收入/现金流量测试;及(3)市值/收益测试。上市申请人必须达到其中一个财务标准,并拥有至少三个会计年度的营运记录(根据主板上市规则第18A章规定的生物科技公司除外),以及管理层连续前三个会计年度维持不变,公司拥有权及控制权至少在经审计的最近一个会计年度维持不变。

而GEM上市的财务要求则根据GEM上市规则第11章着重于市值和现金流量方面。上市申请人还必须拥有至少两个会计年度的营运记录,并且管理层连续前两个会计年度维持不变,公司拥有权及控制权至少在经审计的最近一个会计年度维持不变。

下表列出主板和GEM的主要上市要求:

  主板 GEM
  财务要求 (符合以下其中一项测试) 财务要求
 

盈利测试

市值/收益/现金流量测试

市值/收益测试

盈利

不低于5,000万港元(附注1)
- - -
市值 - 不低于20亿港元 不低于40亿港元 不低于1.5亿港元
最近一个会计年度的收益 - 不低于5亿港元 不低于5亿港元 -

现金流量

- 拟上市的业务于前三个会计年度合计不低于1亿港元 - 拟上市的业务于前两个会计年度合计不低于3,000万港元
营业记录 不少于三个会计年度 不少于两个会计年度
管理层维持记录(附注2) 不少于拟上市前三个会计年度 不少于拟上市前两个会计年度
控制权维持记录

至少经审计的最近一个会计年度

附注:

1.       最近一年的股东应占盈利不得低于2,000万港元,及其前两年累计的股东应占盈利亦不得低于3,000万港元。

2.       上市决策LD45-1指出,联交所会根据各人员的职级分配更多责任予较高职位的人员。联交所会着重审查管理层实质的职责,特别是在整个相关业务纪录期内是否存在一群管理人员一直承担管理责任并在上市时及其后组成核心管理层。

2. 董事

上市申请人必须令联交所信纳其董事符合主板上市规则第3章或GEM上市规则第5章的要求。其中包括董事具备合适的个性,经验,应有的才干和勤勉水平,并能够展示其具备足够的才干胜任董事的职务。上市申请人必须有至少三位独立非执行董事,占董事会成员人数三分之一,并且其中有至少一位具备适当的专业资格,或具备会计或财务管理相关的专长。

3. 公众持股量及股东分布情况

只有在上市申请人的证券有充分的市场需求时,联交所才会批准上市。就此而言,主板上市规则及GEM上市规则均要求发行人在任何时候都须确保公众人士持有至少占发行股份数目总额25%的股份。但是,如果上市申请人在上市时的市值逾100亿港元,联交所可能酌情接受15%-25%之间的公众持股量。不过,主板上市申请人在上市时的市值无论如何均须达到至少5亿港元,而其中的1.25亿港元必须由公众持有;GEM上市申请人则在上市时的市值只须达到1.5亿港元的门槛,其中4,500万港元由公众持有。

此外,上市申请人必须有足够的股东分布。主板和GEM的上市申请人必须分别至少拥有300名和100名股东。同时,上市时由公众人士持有的证券中,3名持股量最高的公众股东其实益拥有的股份不得超过50%。

4. 上市适合性

除上述的基本要求外,根据主板上市规则第8.04条或GEM上市规则第11.06条,上市申请人必须为联交所认为适合上市的公司。如主板上市规则第2.06条或GEM上市规则第2.09条所述,在判断什么因素会导致发行人及其业务不适合上市方面没有明确的标准。联交所在指引信GL68-13中列出了一些非尽列的例子,说明联交所在评估上市申请人的上市适合性时会考虑的因素。

5. 其他要求

其他的上市要求主要针对将发行的证券。主板上市规则及GEM上市规则都规定将发行的证券必须可自由转让。此外,股份附带的投票权必须与其股本权益成合理比例。这正是“一股一票”的概念,即每股具有同等的投票权,而上市申请人各股东将与其他持有相同股本权益的股东拥有相等的投票权。

此规定有效地禁止了拥有双重股权结构的公司在证券市场上市。然而,随着2018年4月生效的主板上市规则第8A章的规定,具有WVR结构的上市申请人可能会被允许在主板上市。

针对具有WVR结构的发行人之特定上市要求

除符合上述的一般上市资格外,具有WVR结构的上市申请人还必须展示其具有某些附加特点,以便向联交所证明其适合以WVR结构在香港上市,有关的附加特点概要如下(有关更多详细内容请参阅联交所指引信GL93-18):

1. 创新产业

首先,上市申请人必须属创新产业的公司,并具备下述特点:

(i) 公司核心业务的成功归功于(1)新科技;(2)创新理念;及/或(3)新业务模式;

(ii) 研究与开发(“R&D”)为其预期价值作出重要贡献,亦构成公司的主要活动和大部分开支;

(iii) 公司的成功归功于其独特的业务特点或知识产权;及/或

(iv) 相对于公司的有形资产价值,其市值/无形资产总值极高。

上市申请人是否“创新”将取决于上市申请人所经营的业务的行业和市场状况,且随着科技、市场和行业的发展而不断变化。

2. WVR持有人

针对WVR持有人,他们必须为积极参与公司业务营运的管理层人员,并必须在上市时继续担任董事。在公司的价值主要来自无形人力资源的情况下,他们的技能、知识或战略方针均对公司的业务增长有着重大的贡献。尽管如此,WVR持有人的投票权不得超过非WVR持有人的投票权的10倍。上市申请人亦须确保非WVR持有人将持有至少10%的投票权。

3. 财务要求

要满足WVR的条件,有两个主要财务要求。第一个财务要求涉及市值,上市申请人在上市时必须达到以下条件之一:

(i) 市值至少为400亿港元;或

(ii) 市值至少为100亿港元及经审计的最近一个会计年度收益至少为10亿港元。

第二个财务要求涉及外界的认可,必须有至少一名“资深投资者”曾提供第三方投资。联交所在考虑投资者是否“资深”时,将考虑该投资者在相关领域的知识和专长、其投资经验和净资产等。此等投资者必须保留其上市时的总投资额至少50%至上市后不少于六个月。

生物科技公司的特定上市要求

依据主板上市规则第18A章申请上市的生物科技公司亦须符合附加的上市资格。未有收益/未盈利的生物科技公司通常无法达到主板上市规则第8章中规定的财务指标。2018年4月生效的主板上市规则第18A章允许符合下述资格的生物科技公司上市。

1. 适合性

上市申请人必须符合生物科技公司的定义,其主要业务为生物科技产品研发,应用和将其产品商业化。特别是,上市申请人必须展示以下特点(有关更多详细内容请参阅联交所指引信GL92-18):

(i) 上市申请人必须有至少一项核心产品已通过概念阶段,即达到联交所指引信GL92-18中就特定产品类型所设定的发展里程碑;

(ii) 上市申请人主要从事R&D以开发其核心产品;

(iii) 在上市前,上市申请人已一直从事其核心产品的研发至少12个月;

(iv) 其上市主要原因必须为R&D集资,以使其核心产品商业化;

(v) 其核心产品须拥有相关已注册的知识产权;及

(vi) 如上市申请人从事医药或生物产品研发,须证明其拥有多项潜在产品。

2. 财务要求

上市申请人必须在上市前至少两个会计年度由大致相同的管理层管理现有的业务,亦必须有充足的营运资金,以应付集团由其上市文件刊发之日起计12个月所需开支的至少125%。该等开支主要包括(i)一般行政和营运开支;及(ii)研发开支。

上市时,上市申请人的市值须达到至少15亿港元。

最后,类似于具有WVR结构的上市申请人,生物科技上市申请人须在上市前至少6个月从一位“资深投资者”获得“相当数额”的第三方投资,并在上市时仍未撤回投资。联交所会按个别具体情况而评估该投资者是否为依据主板上市规则第18A章提出上市申请所适用的“资深投资者”,所考量的因素包括其净资产或管理资产、相关投资经验以及在相关领域的知识及专长。为此,联交所在联交所指引信GL92-18中将下列投资者列为资深投资者(仅为示例):

(i) 专门的医疗保健或生物科技基金或具有专门负责或专注于生物制药领域的分支/部门的大型基金;

(ii) 大型制药/保健公司;

(iii) 大型制药/保健公司的风险投资基金;及

(iv) 所管理的资产总值不少于10亿港元的投资者、投资基金或金融机构。

同时,联交所于其指引信GL92-18列出了被视为“相当数额的投资”的指标,以供参考:

(i) 就市值介乎15亿港元至30亿港元的上市申请人而言,投资占其于上市时已发行股份不少于5%;

(ii)  就市值介乎30亿港元至80亿港元的上市申请人而言,投资占其于上市时已发行股份不少于3%;及

(iii) 就市值逾80亿港元的上市申请人而言,投资占其于上市时已发行股份不少于1%。

结语

本文概述香港的一般上市资格和针对具有不同投票权(WVR)结构的发行人及未有收益/未盈利生物科技公司的附加上市条件。

关于本文

作者 容璟瑜 Bonnie Yung

合伙人

容璟瑜律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的合伙人。容律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市、兼并与收购及公司融资交易。

Related topics 专业知识