8 minute read 1 Apr 2020
Woman looking at the skyscrapers

An overview on private mergers and acquisitions in Hong Kong

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

Jacky Chan

Associate

Jacky Chan, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on mergers and acquisitions, energy, infrastructure and projects, restructuring and insolvency.

8 minute read 1 Apr 2020
Related topics Know-how

Mergers and acquisitions (“M&A”) transactions of public companies often receive a lot of publicity. Nevertheless, there is no shortage of activities in private M&A. In Hong Kong, there are two main types of acquisitions in the private M&A space: (1) purchase of shares of a private company and (2) asset purchase. The sale and purchase of shares is a common form of corporate acquisition in Hong Kong.

By acquiring all or the majority part of a target company’s share capital, the buyer can exercise control over the target company as well as all its businesses and assets. Yet, some parties choose to acquire assets because it allows cherry-picking the suitable assets in the target company. This article provides some of the key legal issues involved in a private M&A and considers the differences between a share purchase and asset purchase.

Share purchase versus asset purchases

Whether to proceed by way of a share purchase or asset purchase will depend on the objectives of the buyer and circumstances of the target entity and its business. Some of the key considerations are set out below:

Entirety
In a share acquisition, all the assets, liabilities and obligations of the target company will in effect pass to the buyer. By contrast, in an asset acquisition, the buyer acquires only specific identified assets and liabilities.

In other cases, a transaction may involve the sale and purchase of a division of a wider business. Unless the relevant division is neatly contained within one target entity owned by the seller, it would probably make sense for the transaction to be structured as an asset sale whereby the buyer can cherry-pick the assets it requires and house them in an appropriate entity in its own group.

Another potential avenue in this case is for the seller to implement an intra-group reorganization so that the assets of the relevant division are transferred into one dedicated entity, followed by the acquisition by the buyer of all the shares in such entity. In short, an internal asset transfer followed by a share purchase.

Tax
There may be certain tax advantages or disadvantages, depending mainly on the nature of the target’s assets, which may drive the structuring decision in favor of one option over the other.

Advantages of share purchases

Simplicity
A share purchase has the effect of transferring the target’s entire business, although sometimes prior consents of third parties are required. This is in contrast to an asset purchase, which requires each piece of target asset and liability to be individually identified and transferred.

Effect on existing contracts
Existing contracts (i.e., supply agreements, customer contracts etc.) of the target company are generally unaffected by a share purchase (subject to any change of control provisions and commercial risk that counterparties may cease their contractual relationship with the target). However, under an asset purchase, such contracts must be specifically novated or assigned to the buyer under the consents of the contract parties.

Effect on licenses and permits
The target’s existing licenses and permits remain in place, subject to any change of control requirements.

Tax
In general, Hong Kong stamp duty on transfer of shares of a property holding company is likely to be lower than the stamp duty on a direct transfer of its underlying land properties, assuming that company does not own any other assets.

Advantages of asset purchases

Cherry-picking
The buyer can pick and choose the target’s specific assets and liabilities that it wishes to acquire, leaving behind any undesired assets and liabilities with the seller. An added advantage of cherry-picking assets is that the buyer has a reasonable degree of comfort that it needs not deal with any unwanted liabilities of the target following the completion of the transaction. Under a share purchase, the buyer acquires all the target’s assets and liabilities unless these are specifically carved out from the transaction.

Pre-emption rights
Asset purchases avoid any problems in relation to the pre-emption rights of the other shareholders which may arise when purchasing shares in a private company. For example, there may be problems in locating missing minority shareholders of the target.

Share purchases

The most common Hong Kong corporate form is a private company limited by shares. Under the Companies Ordinance Cap. 622, Laws of Hong Kong (“Company Ordinance”), a private company is a company that restricts the right to transfer shares, limits the number of members to 50 people and prohibits any invitation to the public to subscribe for shares in the company.

Shares in private companies are subject to transfer restrictions set out in the company’s articles of association or shareholders’ agreement. For purchases of shares from an existing shareholder, the consent of the other shareholders may be required to waive pre-emptive rights, tag-along rights or other restrictions on transfer that are usually specified either under the articles of association of the target company or the relevant shareholders’ agreements. In general, there are no legal, regulatory or governmental restrictions on transfers of shares in a Hong Kong incorporated company unless the target business belongs to the banking1, insurance2, securities and futures3, provident fund4, telecommunications5 or broadcasting6 sectors. Moreover, businesses in the telecommunications sector are also subject to the ‘Merger Rule’ under the Competition Ordinance7.

Asset purchases

For acquisition or disposal of assets, parties should inspect the provisions under the articles of association and shareholders’ agreement to see if there are any restrictions on the transfer and/or prior shareholders’ approval for the transfer. The parties should follow the procedures for transferring rights, permits, licenses and consents for the transition and continuous operation of the business in Hong Kong and/or for obtaining new permits and/or licenses when acquiring a business or assets. Consents from third parties may be required under previous agreements of the target company with its landlords, creditors, debenture holders, mortgagees or other contracting parties that may be affected because of a transfer of assets or upon a change in control of the target company.

Processes

The most common process is that the seller and the buyer, after bilateral negotiations, agree on the terms and conditions of a sale and purchase agreement on the transfer of the target privately-owned company or target businesses and assets.

However, where the seller wishes to solicit interest from several potential buyers, the disposal process may take the form of a controlled auction which typically involves:

  1. Drafting an information memorandum as the basis of marketing the target company, business or assets;
  2. Providing vendor due diligence report;
  3. Drafting of a sale and purchase agreement and other transaction documentation;
  4. Round one expressions of interest from potential buyers;
  5. Seller’s selection of potential buyers in round one who will then be permitted to undertake their own due diligence;
  6. Round two offers by potential buyers with definite bidding price and mark ups of the transaction documentation; and
  7. Negotiation of transaction documentation with one or more buyers until definitive terms are agreed with one party.

In certain special situations, private companies can also be acquired by ‘contractual offer’ followed by a minority squeeze-out, provided that the offer is made in accordance with Part 13 of the Companies Ordinance8 , or by ‘scheme of arrangement’ proposed by the company to be acquired in accordance with Part 4 of the Companies Ordinance9 .

Due Diligence

Due diligence provides potential buyers and their financiers with the opportunity to evaluate the legal, financial, tax, commercial position and business prospects of a target company, business or asset. Legal due diligence conducted by legal advisers to the buyer typically covers the title to and encumbrances over the company or business, the legal structure, terms of financial obligations, licences and permits, material contracts, ownership and use of information technology, intellectual and real property, physical assets, employee arrangements, litigation and compliance with law.

Vendor due diligence reports are a common feature of controlled sale processes in Hong Kong, whereby the seller provides information on the target company or business in order to accelerate the sale process, minimize disruption to the target, and explain any complexities associated with the transaction. It is customary for a successful buyer, and its financier, to be able to rely on such vendor due diligence reports, although buyers may often also complete confirmatory due diligence to complete their evaluation of a transaction.

Documentations

The typical documents involved in a private M&A include:

  • a confidentiality agreement governing the exchange of confidential information relating to the transaction;
  • a memorandum of understanding or heads of terms setting out key terms and sometimes earnest monies and negotiation exclusivity;
  • a sale and purchase agreement setting out the terms and conditions of the transaction; and an agreement on transfer of a business or assets usually includes detailed provisions on the scope of the business, assets and liabilities that are to be transferred;
  • a disclosure letter in which general and specific disclosures are made by the seller qualifying the warranties included in the sale and purchase agreement;
  • documents to transfer the title (e.g., an instrument of transfer and a bought and sold note in the case of a share transfer, and an assignment in the case of real property and intellectual property rights); and
  • key members of management in the target business may enter into new employment agreements to secure their continued employment following completion of the transaction.

Consideration

Consideration may be fixed or subject to post-closing adjustments. Payment of cash consideration may be in the form of a lump sum or several instalments. Non-cash consideration may be in the form of shares in the buyer (where the buyer is a listed company) or other securities, such as loan notes convertible into the buyer’s shares. Non-cash transactions generally involve a more complicated payment structure.

Timetable and delays

To avoid deviating from the timetable, parties should first ensure they are prepared, both internally and externally (in terms of engaging advisers), to undertake an M&A transaction. In complex or cross-border transactions, or where the target has a complex financial or tax position, parties should understand that:

  1. structuring discussions might dominate the early part of a timetable and result in a delay to processes which depend on the outcome of these discussions;
  2. the scope of the due diligence exercise conducted can extend a transaction timetable prior to signing;
  3. the preparation and negotiation of documentation is an integral part of any M&A process and the duration depends on the relative bargaining powers of the parties and the complexity of the transaction;
  4. any delay might interrupt the buyer’s funding plan or increase its funding cost; and
  5. obtaining shareholders’ approval, regulatory approvals and/or third parties’ consents may impact completion of an M&A transaction.

Note: This material has been prepared for general information purposes only and is not intended to be relied upon as professional advice for any cases. Should you need further information or legal advice, please contact us.

  • Show article references

    1. Banking Ordinance (Cap 155)
    2. Insurance Companies Ordinance (Cap 41)
    3. Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap 571)
    4. Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes (General) Regulation (Cap 485A)
    5. Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap 106)
    6. Broadcasting Ordinance (Cap 562)
    7. Competition Ordinance (Cap 619)
    8. Part 13 (Arrangements, Amalgamation, and Compulsory Share Acquisition in Takeover and Share Buy-Back) of the Companies Ordinance contains provisions relating to schemes of arrangement or compromise with creditors or members, reconstructions or amalgamations of companies, and compulsory acquisitions of shares following a takeover offer or following a general offer for a share buy-back. Please see https://www.cr.gov.hk/en/companies_ordinance/docs/briefingnotes_part13-e.pdf for more details
    9. Part 4 (Share Capital) of the Companies Ordinance contains provisions relating to the core concept of “share capital” and its creation, transfer and alteration. Please see https://www.cr.gov.hk/en/companies_ordinance/docs/briefingnotes_part04-e.pdf for more details.

Summary

Mergers and acquisitions (“M&A”) transactions of public companies often receive a lot of publicity. Nevertheless, there is no shortage of activities in private M&A. This article provides some of the key legal issues involved in a private M&A and considers the differences between a share purchase and asset purchase.

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

Jacky Chan

Associate

Jacky Chan, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on mergers and acquisitions, energy, infrastructure and projects, restructuring and insolvency.

EN

4 分钟 2020年4月1日
Woman looking at the skyscrapers

香港私人公司并购概览

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

朱静文律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的管理合伙人。朱律师在其主要业务领域银行融资和跨境兼并与收购,以及资本市场被誉为高度推荐领先律师。她也在公司重组、债务重组及合规领域提供专业法律意见。

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

陈政康是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。陈律师的主要业务领域包括兼并与收购、雇佣及人才管理、重组与破产清算。

4 分钟 2020年4月1日
Related topics 专业知识

上市公司并购交易一向备受公众关注。尽管如此,私人公司并购并不罕见。在香港,私人公司并购主要分为两种:(1)收购私人公司的股份和(2)收购资产。

卖股份是香港商业收购的一种常见模式,通过收购目标公司全部或大部分的股本,买方可以控制目标公司及其业务和资产,但是,某些买方也会选择收购资产,因这做法允许买方在目标公司中筛选合适的资产。本文提出了私人公司并购所涉及的主要法律问题,并分析收购股份和收购资产的区别。

股份收购与资产收购的区别

决定进行股份收购还是资产收购取决于买方的目的以及目标公司和其业务的状况。一些关键的考虑因素如下:

整体性
在股份收购中,目标公司的所有资产、负债和义务会都会实际上转移给买方。相反,在资产收购中,买方仅获取特定已识别的资产和负债。

在其他情况下,交易中的买卖可能只涉及广泛业务中的一个部份。除非拟收购的业务刚好是完整地包含在卖方持有的一家公司中,否则将交易规整为资产出售是较合理的,这样能方便买方筛选其所需的资产,并将该资产适当地投放在自己业务群中的适当位置。

另一个方式是:卖方先进行内部业务重组,以便将拟出售的资产转移到一家公司中,然后由买方收购该公司的所有股份。简而言之,先进行内部资产转移,继而进行股份收购。

税务
两种方式或许存在一些税务的优点或劣点,取决于目标资产的性质,这也可能促使决定交易架构时倾向于某一种选项。

收购股份的好处

简易性
尽管收购股份有时需要事先征询第三方的同意,但收购股份具有转移目标公司全部业务的效果。相反,收购资产则需对每项目标公司的资产和负债进行个别的识别和转让。

对现有合同的影响
目标公司的现有合同(即供应协议、客户合同等)通常不受股份收购的影响(视乎控制权变更的条款及交易对方可能终止与目标公司合同关系的商业风险)。然而,在资产收购中,只有在合同双方同意的情况下,才可对现有合同进行变更或把资产转让给买方。

对牌照及许可证的影响
目标公司现有许可证和牌照仍可保留, 但也取决于牌照及许可证是否有关于控制权变更的要求。

税务
一般而言,在目标公司不拥有任何其他资产的情况下,房地产控股公司的股份转让征收的香港印花税可能会低于对直接转让公司所持有房地产所征收的印花税。

收购资产的好处

筛选
买方可按其意愿筛选和选择目标公司的特定资产和负债,将买方不想要的资产和负债留下。筛选的另一个好处是赋予买方一定程度的保证,即交易完成后无需处理任何不必要的目标公司债务。在股份收购中,买方将一并收购和承担目标公司的所有资产和负债,除非交易中特意剔除某些资产或负债。

优先购股权
资产收购可以避免在收购私人公司的股份时可能存在的其他股东的优先购股权问题,例如在寻找失踪的目标公司的少数股东时可能产生的问题。

股份收购

香港最常见的公司形式为私人股份有限公司。根据香港法例第622章(《公司条例》)(“公司条例”),私人公司的特点为限制股份转让、将股东人数限制为50人,并禁止邀请公众认购公司股份。

转让私人公司的股份是受公司章程或股东协议所限制的。从现有股东收购股份时,可能需要其他股东同意放弃其按目标公司的章程或相关股东协议所享有的优先购股权、跟售权或其他转让方面的限制。一般而言,除非目标公司的业务隶属于银行业1、保险业2、证券和期货商业3、公积金业4、电讯5或广播业6、否则对于转让在香港注册成立的公司的股份并没有法律、法规或政府方面的限制。此外,根据香港《竞争条例》7,电讯行业也应遵守《合并守则》。

资产收购

对于资产的收购或出售,各应查阅公司章程和股东协议中的规定,了解转让是否有任何限制及/或须先获得股东的批准。各方应遵守转让权利、许可、牌照和准许的程序,以便其香港业务能持续,及/或在收购业务或资产时获得新许可及/或牌照。之前与目标公司签约的业主、债权人、债券持有人、抵押权人或其他缔约方可能因资产转移或目标公司控制权变更而受影响,因此资产转移可能也需要该等缔约方的同意。

流程

最常见的流程是买卖双方经过协商,就转让目标私人公司或目标公司的业务和资产之买卖协议的条款和条件达成共识。

可是,若卖方希望从不同潜在买方获取更大的利益,则出售流程可以采取受控拍卖的形式。涉及的流程如下:

  1. 起草一份信息备忘录以营销目标公司、业务或资产;
  2. 提供卖方尽职调查报告;
  3. 起草买卖协议和其他交易文件;
  4. 第一轮潜在买方表达兴趣;
  5. 卖方在第一轮有兴趣的买方中选择适合的买方,然后允许该等买方进行尽职调查;
  6. 第二轮潜在买方提供确实出价及对交易文件的反馈意见;及
  7. 与一位或多位买方进行交易文件的谈判,直到与一方达成协议。

在某些特殊情况下,买方也可以通过“合同要约”,并之后以强制收购少数股东的股份的形式来收购私人公司,前提是要约需根据《公司条例》第13部8进行。此外,目标公司也可以根据《公司条例》第4部9的“计划安排”来进行收购。

尽职调查

尽职调查可助潜在的买方及其融资人评估目标公司业务或资产的法律、财务、税务、商业地位和经营前景。买方的法律顾问进行的法律尽职调查通常包括:公司或业务的所有权和产权负担、法律结构、财务义务条款、牌照和许可证、重大合同、信息科技的使用及拥有权、知识产权和房地产、实物资产、员工安排、诉讼和法律合规性。

卖方出具尽职调查报告是香港受控出售中一个常见的特征,即卖方提供目标公司的业务信息和数据以加快出售过程、减少对目标公司的干扰,并解释与交易有关的复杂性。成功的买家及其融资人通常可以依赖卖方出具的尽职调查报告。尽管如此,买方也通常进行其确认性尽职调查以完成对交易的评估。

文件

典型私人并购包含以下文件:

  • 保密协议:规管与交易有关的机密信息的交流;
  • 谅解备忘录或条款大纲:列出关键条款,有时还包括诚意金和谈判专有权;
  • 收购协议:列出交易的条款和条件;而业务或资产的转让协议通常包括关于业务范围、需转让的业务、资产和负债范围的详细规定;
  • 披露函件:卖方在披露函件中进行一般和特定披露,以限制其于买卖协议中的保证条文需负上的责任;
  • 权益转让文件:例如,股份转让的转让文书和买卖票据、不动产和知识产权的转让文书;及
  • 目标公司管理层的主要成员签订新雇佣协议,以确保他们在交易完成后继续受雇。

对价

对价可以是固定的,也可在交割后进行调整。对价如以现金支付可以一次性支付,也可分期支付。非现金的对价可以采用买方的股份(如买方为上市公司)或其他证券的形式,例如可转换为买方股权的可换股债券,非现金交易的支付结构通常较为复杂。

时间表和延误

为避免偏离时间表,各方应首先确保他们无论对内和对外(就聘用顾问方面)都做好进行并购交易的准备。在复杂或跨国的交易中,或目标公司的财务或税务状况复杂的情况下,各方应了解:

  1. 对于交易结构的讨论可能会在交易早期花费大量时间,讨论的过程也会导致交易过程的延迟;
  2. 尽职调查的范围可能延误签约交易时间表;
  3. 文件的准备和谈判是任何并购交易中不可或缺的一部分,其耗时取决于双方的讨价还价能力和交易的复杂性;
  4. 任何延误都可能打断买方的融资计划或增加融资成本;及
  5. 争取股东批准、监管批准及/或第三方同意也可能会影响并购交易的完成。
注意:本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述, 只供参考, 不能构成任何个别个案的法律意见。

结语

上市公司并购交易一向备受公众关注。尽管如此,私人公司并购并不罕见。本文提出了私人公司并购所涉及的主要法律问题,并分析收购股份和收购资产的区别。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

朱静文律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的管理合伙人。朱律师在其主要业务领域银行融资和跨境兼并与收购,以及资本市场被誉为高度推荐领先律师。她也在公司重组、债务重组及合规领域提供专业法律意见。

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

陈政康是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。陈律师的主要业务领域包括兼并与收购、雇佣及人才管理、重组与破产清算。

Related topics 专业知识