EN

6 minute read 3 Aug 2020

Sino-US Friction – Risks and Precautions of USD Settlement by Chinese Enterprises in International Trade

By Lynia Lau

Partner

Lynia Lau, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the energy / resources, infrastructure and projects sectors.

6 minute read 3 Aug 2020
Related topics Our latest thinking

Since the United States (“the US”) unilaterally initiated the “301” investigation against China in August 2017, the Sino-US bilateral economic and trade relations have undergone a major historical downturn.

In recent years, the US’ tendency to “close the door” on China in the fields of economy, trade, science and technology has become increasingly evident[1]. On 15 January 2020, the signing of the Economic and Trade Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the People’s Republic of China temporarily put an end to the continued escalation of trade conflicts, but on the deep structural issues, the two parties have not yet reached a consensus, the competing interests between China and the US is long-term and complicated[2], so it remains unclear whether the US will follow up with further restrictive measures, such as financial sanctions, against China.

Financial sanctions

Financial sanctions are generally high-intensity economic sanctions[3] through the obstruction of financial flows and the freezing of assets of the sanctioned party[4]. Throughout the US sanctions against Iran and Russia, the US has long been the principal initiator of financial sanctions, taking advantage of the strong position of the US dollar, its important role in international trade and its political and military position. The US through freezing and confiscation of government officials of sanctioned country’s assets, restricting access to the US bond market by sanctioned country’s enterprises to finance, cutting off the ability of the sanctioned country to obtain US dollars, closing the US dollar trade settlement channel and other major measures, implements economic and financial measures against the sanctioned country, and causes significant direct economic losses to the sanctioned country. In the case of sanctions against Iran, the imposition of sanctions has resulted in a significant financial decline in Iran’s oil exports, a decline in its gross national product, and severe damage to its credit system, international trade, payments and settlements etc.[5] Financial sanctions are primarily imposed by restricting the free movement of the sanctioned party's currency, ultimately forcing it to make concessions or compromises in line with the interests of the sanctions initiator[6]. The settlement currency agreed upon by Chinese enterprises in their international trade has become a constraint for their future development, in particular the LNG international long-term resource procurement projects is likely to bear the brunt.

Risks of using USD as settlement currency

When Chinese enterprises conduct trade on a global scale, agreements entered into by the trading parties usually stipulate that the US dollar is the currency of settlement. This is also determined by the international monetary system centered on the US dollar[7]. The US financial sanctions against Iran are effective because of the financial status of the US dollar in the global financial system, nearly half of all cross-border settlements are conducted in US dollars, and docking with the US banking system for clearing and other business is an indispensable part of every bank with international business[8]. Due to the above, on the one hand, in the negotiation and formulation of future international trade agreements, especially for long-term LNG procurement agreements, since those agreements usually involve as long as 20 years of trade and involve large amount of trading finance, once the settlement currency is hard hit, it is likely to affect the effect and performance of the entire agreement, and affect China’s procurement of offshore energy resources. Chinese enterprises should therefore consider the issue of settlement currency in their future international trade projects, agreements and contracts etc. with trading parties.

Solutions

  1. The choice of Hong Kong Dollar or Renminbi (“RMB”) 

    Since the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (“Hong Kong”) is a relatively mature international financial center, its legal currency, Hong Kong dollar, can be one of the options for Chinese enterprises. Since 17 October 1983, Hong Kong has implemented a Linked Exchange Rate System to stabilize the exchange rate of Hong Kong dollar in the range of 7.75 to 7.85 Hong Kong dollars to one US dollar through a rigorous, robust and transparent currency board system[9]. The Hong Kong Monetary Authority has established a one-to-one relationship between its currency base and foreign exchange reserves through direct and indirect means[10], resulting in a relatively stable exchange rate between the Hong Kong dollar and the US dollar, and is directly pegged to the US dollar, allowing Hong Kong dollar to be used as an alternative option for the trading parties in the negotiation of future international trade agreements.

    As the legal currency of China, in recent years, there has been significant progress in direct RMB transactions. In 2010, the China Foreign Exchange Trade System launched direct RMB transactions against Ringgit and Ruble; subsequently in 2014, the RMB realized direct transactions against Pound, Euro and four other non-US dollar currencies; in 2012, the governments of China and Japan launched direct RMB transactions against Yen; on 1 October 2016, RMB formally joined the Special Drawing Rights (SDR), and the recognition of RMB continues to grow globally. Up till now, the realization of RMB being directly traded against non-US dollar currencies covers almost all major currencies in the world[11].

  2. The choice of other currencies

    In addition, Chinese enterprises can also negotiate with the trading party to choose the currency of a country where both parties of the international trade are located for their trade settlement, thus simplifying the exchange process, reducing transactional costs and enhancing the efficiency of international trade. In addition, it can also negotiate with the trading party to choose the currency of other countries or regions for settlement according to the actual situation.

  3. Amending existing agreements denominated in US dollars

    For international trade agreements in which the Chinese enterprise has used the US dollar as the settlement currency, the trading party may amend the signed agreement, for example, by adding a triggering clause, so that in the event of restrictive measures such as financial sanctions by the US against China or other countries where the trading party is located, the international trade agreement will be settled in other currencies.

Conclusion

In the process of negotiating and signing international trade agreements, it is sometimes difficult to predict the potential risks of the agreement and future developments in the international community. Parties should pay particular attention to the provisions relating to the settlement currency in international trade agreements, as well as to the development of policy, finance and public opinion in the international community, in order to systematically reduce the adverse consequences that the trading parties may suffer, while the drafting, design and negotiation of such trade agreements are usually very complex. Therefore, in dealing with such legal issues, it is always crucial for Chinese enterprises, especially large energy enterprises, to consult legal experts in international trade regarding specific situations.

This material has been prepared for general informational purposes only and is not intended to be relied upon as accounting, tax, legal or other professional advice. Please refer to your advisors for specific advice.

  • Show article references

    1. Pan Yingli and Zhou Xiaoping:《美国的全球化陷阱、贸易争端诉求与中国的战略应对》,《国际经济评论》2018, Volume 6, p.85. Yu Shigao:《美国挑起贸易争端的深层原因及其应对研究》,《大庆师范学院学报》May 2020, Volume 40, Issue 3.
    2. Qin Weibo and Wang qinglong:《中美贸易摩擦背景下我国外汇储备变化对“一带一路”地区OFDI的影响》,《吉林大学社会科学学报》May 2020, Volume 60, Issue 3.
    3. Xu Yisheng and Ma Xin:《美国金融制裁的法律、执行、手段与特征》,《国际经济评论》2015, Volume 1, p. 131-153.
    4. Gary Clyde Hufbauer, Jeffrey J. Schott and Kimberly Ann Elliott:《反思经济制裁》,Du taoyi,Shanghai People’s Press, 2011.
    5. Niu Xinchun:《伊朗的“经济圣战”:一场政权保卫战》,《国际问题研究》2013, Volume 1, p. 95-107.
    6. Tao Shigui and Nie Lei:《美国对伊朗经济金融制裁的动因、影响及启示》,《南京邮电大学学报(社会科学版)》December 2017, Volume 19, Issue 4.
    7. Li Xioageng:《权力之巅:国际货币体系的政治起源》,Social Sciences Academic Press (China),2017, p.111.
    8. Tao Shigui and Nie Lei:《美国对伊朗经济金融制裁的动因、影响及启示》,《南京邮电大学学报(社会科学版)》December 2017, Volume 19, Issue 4.
    9. Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Linked Exchange Rate System https://www.hkma.gov.hk/gb_chi/key-functions/money/linked-exchange-rate-system/
    10. Zhang Qidi:《香港联系汇率制度运行原理探析》,《债券》2018, Volume 5.
    11. Pan Dayang:《人民币对非美元货币直接交易的意义、问题及应对》,《中国物价》,August 2016.

Summary

In dealing with such legal issues, it is always crucial for Chinese enterprises, especially large energy enterprises, to consult legal experts in international trade regarding specific situations.

About this article

By Lynia Lau

Partner

Lynia Lau, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the energy / resources, infrastructure and projects sectors.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

6 分钟 2020年8月3日

中美摩擦 – 我国企业国际贸易美元结算的风险与防范

自2017年8月美国单方面发起对华“301”调查以来,中美双边经贸关系发生重大历史转折。

年来,美国在经贸、科技等领域对华“关门”的倾向日渐明显[1]。2020年1月15日,《中华人民共和国政府和美利坚合众国政府经济贸易协议》的签订暂时终止了贸易摩擦的继续升级,但在深层次的结构性问题上,双方尚未达成共识,中美之间的利益博弈具有长期性和复杂性[2],因此,美国后续对华是否有进一步限制措施,例如金融制裁,仍处于未知状态。

金融制裁

金融制裁一般通过阻碍金融流动和冻结被制裁方的资产[3],进行高烈度的经济制裁[4]。纵观美国针对伊朗、俄罗斯的制裁,长期以来,美国利用美元的强势地位,凭借其在国际贸易中的重要作用及其在政治军事上的地位,成为金融制裁的主要发起者。美国通过冻结并没收被制裁国政府官员的财产、限制被制裁国企业进入美国债券市场融资、切断被制裁国的美元获取能力、关闭美元贸易结算通道等主要措施,针对被制裁国实施经济金融措施,并对被制裁国造成直接的较大范围经济损失。就伊朗制裁而言,制裁实施后,伊朗石油出口金融大跌,其国民生产总值下降,其信贷系统、国际贸易及支付结算等也遭受重创[5]。金融制裁以限制被制裁方货币自由流动为主要方式,最终迫使其做出与制裁发起方利益相符的政策让步或妥协[6]。中国企业在国际贸易过程中约定的结算货币成为影响中国企业在未来发展中的掣肘因素,其中液化天然气国际资源长期采购项目可能首当其冲。

美元作为结算货币的风险

中国企业在全球范围内进行贸易买卖时,与贸易方之间的协议通常约定以美元作为结算货币,这也是以美元为中心的国际货币体系所决定的[7]。美国对伊朗的金融制裁之所以行之有效,是因为美元在全球金融体系中的金融地位,接近一半的跨国结算都以美元为单位进行,与美国银行体系对接进行清算等业务是每一个拥有国际业务的银行不可缺少的环节[8]。基于此,一方面,在未来国际贸易合同的协商及制定中,尤其就液化天然气资源长期采购协议而言,由于该等协议涉及贸易时间通常有20年之久,涉及贸易金融巨大,一旦结算货币遭受冲击,很可能影响整份协议的生效及履行,并对中国采购境外能源资源造成影响,因此中国企业在未来的国际贸易项目中,与贸易方之间的协议、约定、合同等均应考虑结算货币的问题。

解决方案

  1. 港币或人民币的选择

    中华人民共和国香港特别行政区(“香港”)作为相对成熟的国际金融中心,其法定流通货币港币可以作为中国企业的选择之一。自1983年10月17日起,香港开始实施联系汇率制度,透过严谨、稳健和透明的货币发行局制度,使港币汇率保持稳定在7.75至7.85港元兑1美元的区间内[9]。香港金融管理局的货币基础与外汇储备之间通过直接和间接方式均建立了一一对应的关系[10],从而港币与美元之间汇率较为稳定,且与美元直接挂钩,使得港币可以作为贸易当事方的代替选择,以应用在未来国际贸易合同的谈判中。

    人民币作为我国的法定货币,近几年在人民币直接交易方面有显著进展。2010年,中国外汇交易中心先后启动人民币对林吉特、卢布直接交易;此后在2014年,人民币分别实现对英镑、欧元等四种非美元货币直接交易;2012年,中日两国政府启动人民币对日元直接交易;2016年10月1日,人民币正式加入特别提款权(SDR),人民币的认可度在全球范围内不断获得提升。截至目前,人民币实现可直接交易的非美元货币基本涵盖全球主要货币[11]

  2. 其他货币的选择

    此外,中国企业也可与贸易方协商,选择国际贸易当事双方所在国货币进行其贸易结算货币,从而简化兑换环节、降低交易成本,提升国际贸易的效率。另外,也可与贸易方协商,根据实际情况,选择其他国家或地区的货币进行结算。

  3. 修改现有以美元为结算货币的合同

    对于中国企业已基于美元作为结算货币的国际贸易合同,贸易当事方可就其已签署的合同进行修改,例如增加触发机制条款,一旦发生美国对华或其他贸易当事方所在国家采取金融制裁等限制性措施,该国际贸易合同将改为选用其他货币进行结算。

结语

在国际贸易合同的谈判和签署过程中,有时很难预测合同的潜在风险及国际社会的未来发展。当事方应格外注意国际贸易合同中与结算货币有关的条款,关注国际社会的政策、金融、舆论的发展,以系统性地减少贸易当事方可能承受的不利后果,而这一贸易合同的起草、设计及谈判过程通常也十分复杂。因此在处理该类法律问题时,就具体情况咨询国际贸易方面的法律专家,对于中国企业尤其是大型能源企业来说始终至关重要。

本材料是为一般信息的用途编制,并非旨在成为可依赖的会计、税务、法律或其他专业意见。请向您的顾问获取具体意见。

  • 显示文章参考文献

    1. 潘英丽、周兆平:《美国的全球化陷阱、贸易争端诉求与中国的战略应对》,《国际经济评论》2018年第6期,第85页。于世高:《美国挑起贸易争端的深层原因及其应对研究》,《大庆师范学院学报》2020年5月第40卷第3期。
    2. 秦卫波,王庆龙:《中美贸易摩擦背景下我国外汇储备变化对“一带一路”地区OFDI的影响》,《吉林大学社会科学学报》2020年5月第60卷第3期。利·克来德·赫夫鲍尔、杰弗里·J.莫斯特、金伯莉·安·艾略特:《反思经济制裁》,杜涛译,上海人民出版社,2011年。
    3. 加利·克来德·赫夫鲍尔、杰弗里·J.莫斯特、金伯莉·安·艾略特:《反思经济制裁》,杜涛译,上海人民出版社,2011年。
    4. 徐以升、马鑫:《美国金融制裁的法律、执行、手段与特征》,《国际经济评论》2015年第1期,131至153页。
    5. 牛新春:《伊朗的“经济圣战”:一场政权保卫战》,《国际问题研究》2013年第1期,第95至107页。
    6. 陶士贵、聂蕾:《美国对伊朗经济金融制裁的动因、影响及启示》,《南京邮电大学学报(社会科学版)》2017年12月第19卷第4期。
    7. 李晓耕:《权力之巅:国际货币体系的政治起源》,社会科学文献出版社,2017年,第111页。
    8. 陶士贵、聂蕾:《美国对伊朗经济金融制裁的动因、影响及启示》,《南京邮电大学 学报(社会科学版)》2017年12月第19卷第4期。
    9. 香香港金融管理局,联系汇率制度https://www.hkma.gov.hk/gb_chi/key-functions/money/linked-exchange-rate-system/
    10. 张启迪:《香港联系汇率制度运行原理探析》,《债券》2018年第5期。
    11. 潘大洋:《人民币对非美元货币直接交易的意义、问题及应对》,《中国物价》,2016年8月。

结语

在处理该类法律问题时,就具体情况咨询国际贸易方面的法律专家,对于中国企业尤其是大型能源企业来说始终至关重要。

关于本文

Related topics 最新视野