EN

10 minute read 26 Jun 2020
871216090

COVID-19 pandemic: Outsourcing arrangements reinvented

Authors
Kareena Teh

Partner

Kareena Teh, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the dispute resolution sector. She also advises on governance and compliance matters.

Catherine Wong

Associate

Catherine Wong, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on dispute resolution and compliance and investigations.

10 minute read 26 Jun 2020
Related topics Our latest thinking

The trading landscape for markets and firms has changed considerably over the last decade.

Regulatory reforms, technology developments, increased connectivity between market participants, and increased levels of electronic trading and process automation have heightened the complexity of markets and increased focus on operational efficiency. These developments have incentivized firms to outsource certain tasks to service providers, due to the benefits it offers, including reducing operating costs and overheads, as well as improving focus and service quality. In 2019, the global market size of outsourced services amounted to US$92.5 billion.[1]

However, COVID-19 crisis has revealed some challenges in outsourcing arrangements, particularly including those involving offshore outsourcing service providers (OSPs).  Most of these weaknesses arose due to the movement control orders that were implemented to curb the spread of the pandemic.  Take, for example, in India, which was ranked as the most attractive country to offshore business services to in 2019,[2] the Indian Government on 24 March 2020 imposed a compulsory lockdown to restrict commerce and travel across the nation, and such lockdown has been extended to 30 June 2020.[3] Despite announcement of certain relaxations outside of the COVID-19 containment zones, during the original lockdown period, only businesses providing “essential services” were permitted to operate. Some states specifically expanded their list of exempted industries to include data centers. [4] On 15 April 2020, the Indian Government allowed IT establishments (whether providing “essential services” or not) to operate, subject to the limitation of only 50% capacity.[5] Some OSPs also had problems implementing remote working arrangements that became necessary, including in getting laptops to service provider personnel, setting up virtual private network access, ensuring WiFi availability, and providing the requisite security software applications. 

These difficulties have resulted in many OSPs struggling to operate fully, if at all. Concerns have also arisen as to whether the remote working systems used by the OSPs (most of which have neither been tested nor specifically designed for the disruption arising from the pandemic) can securely handle confidential data and maintain the integrity and availability of their services. As a result, some organizations have started to bring their outsourced operations back in-house and/or find alternative service providers which are less affected by the pandemic at short notice.

Some conflicts have also arisen because of this, with:

  • OSPs which were unable to perform their services seeking to delay the performance of their contractual obligations and/or avoid liability for non-performance.
  • Organizations seeking to replace their existing OSPs with alternative service providers which are less affected by the pandemic and whose services are more reliable.
  • Organizations affected by the economic downturn seeking to cut costs and terminate their outsourcing contracts prematurely to cut costs.

Nonetheless, it is anticipated that the outsourcing trend will continue, with more and more organizations turning to outsourcing, including of core or supporting functions such as accounting, finance, human resources administration, legal, marketing, payroll and tax.  For finance and tax, 73% of the respondents to the EY 2020 Tax and Finance Operate survey said they are more likely than not to co-source some critical activities in the next 24 months in order to add value, reduce risk and decrease cost.[6]

In considering outsourcing and/or changing outsourcing arrangements, it is important for organisations to bear in mind two key issues:

  1. Whether there are laws and/or regulations governing outsourcing; and
  2. Whether the third-party service provider has the requisite expertise and experience and business continuity capability to support the outsourcing.

As a guide to issues and risks to watch out for, we summarize below Hong Kong’s regulatory regime for outsourcing and conclude with some recommendations for proactively managing these issues and risks. 

 

Regulatory regime for outsourcing in Hong Kong

There are no laws which specifically govern or regulate outsourcing activities in Hong Kong. However, certain government and regulatory authorities have published industry-specific regulations and guidelines for outsourcing activities. To name a few examples:[7]

  • The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has not created its own set of guidelines or principles to regulate outsourcing activities of SFC-licensed entities but has endorsed the Principles on Outsourcing of Financial Services for Market Intermediaries (IOSCO Principles) published by the International Organization of Securities Commissions (the IOSCO). The IOSCO Principles are intended to provide a framework to guide regulated entities through the steps that should be taken when outsourcing activities.

    Recently in May 2020, the IOSCO issued a media release requesting feedback on proposed updates to its principles for regulated entities that outsource tasks to service providers.[8] Such consultation report was published, as the outbreak of COVID-19 has highlighted the need to ensure resilience in operational activities, and to maintain business continuity in situations where both external and often unforeseen shocks impact both firms and their service providers. The revised principles comprise a set of fundamental precepts and a set of seven principles, each being supplemented with guidance for implementation, covering the following areas:
    • Due diligence in the selection and monitoring of a service provider;
    • The contract with a service provider;
    • Information security, business resilience, continuity and disaster recovery;
    • Confidentiality issues;
    • Concentration of outsourcing arrangements;
    • Access to data, premises, personnel and associated rights of inspection; and
    • Termination of outsourcing arrangements.
  • The Insurance Authority publishes guidance for insurers, including the Guidance Note on Outsourcing (Insurance Guidance Note)[9] and the Guideline on Outsourcing[10] which provide guidance for a list of essential issues that an authorised insurer needs to attend to when outsourcing its services. 
  • The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA)’s Supervisory Policy Manual includes a chapter on outsourcing (SA-2), which is a non-statutory guideline setting out HKMA’s supervisory approach to outsourcing and the major points which the HKMA expects authorised institutions to address when outsourcing their activities.[11] In addition, it includes a chapter on general principles for technology risk management (TM-G-1) setting out non-statutory guidelines regarding the technology-related risk controls that authorised institutions are expected to consider.
  • According to the Seventh Schedule of the Banking Ordinance (Cap 155), authorised institutions must consider their legal obligations to meet the minimum authorization criteria when considering their outsourcing plans. These obligations include having adequate accounting systems and systems of control and conducting business with the interest of depositors and potential depositors in mind. Authorised institutions are advised to discuss their outsourcing plans with the HKMA in advance to ensure that their internal control systems or business conduct will not be compromised or weakened after the activity has been outsourced, and that certain major issues are addressed before the outsourcing plans are implemented.

The outsourcing of information technology and cloud services is also not regulated by any specific statute under Hong Kong law. However, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data issued guidance regarding cloud computing to advise organizations on the factors they should consider when considering engaging cloud computing. The guidance mainly refers to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap 486) and highlights the importance for a data user to fully assess the benefits and risks of engaging cloud computing and understand the implications for safeguarding personal data privacy.[12]

There are also no general laws or regulations that govern the outsourcing of telecommunications services. However, providers of telecommunications services licensed under the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap 106) are required to ensure that outsourced activities comply with applicable laws, including personal data privacy laws.

In relation to the public sector, the Efficiency Unit of the Hong Kong Government has issued a General Guide to Outsourcing which sets out the steps that private sector OSPs engaged by the government should consider at each phase of the outsourcing process so that they can better understand the procedures and practices followed by the government departments that they provide the outsourced services to.[13]

In sum, organizations in Hong Kong seeking to outsource and OSPs should ensure that they check for and are familiar with the regulations that apply to their outsourcing arrangements prior to entering into the same. If the outsourced services are to be performed outside Hong Kong, these checks must necessarily include the laws and regulations of the country or countries where the outsourcing services are to be performed.

Recommendations for businesses

Apart from ensuring compliance with laws, industry-specific regulations and guidelines for outsourcing activities, it is also important to proactively address compliance issues. Some key steps to take include:

  • Choosing the right OSPs. It is important that organizations exercise due care, skill and diligence in the selection of service providers, including conducting suitable due diligence in selecting appropriate service providers and in monitoring their ongoing performance. Organizations should be satisfied that the service providers have the ability and capacity to provide the outsourced tasks effectively and have effective business continuity contingency plans.
  • Entering into legally binding written contract with each service provider. The level of detail of the written contract should reflect the level of monitoring, assessment, inspection and auditing required, as well as the size, complexity and the risks of the outsourced services involved. Contractual provisions underpin the relationship between organizations and OSPs and can reduce the risks of non-performance or aid the resolution of any disagreements.
  • Ensuring that applicable contractual terms and laws for determining parties’ rights and obligations are included in the written contracts:
    • Security and data protection provisions and regulations should be included, including compliance with key security policy obligations such as restrictions on the locations, personnel, and technologies used to access and process customer data. Security breaches and cyber incidents can have damaging effects to business reputation. Organizations should seek to ensure that service providers maintain appropriate IT security, cyber-resilience and disaster recovery capabilities.
    • There should also be provisions that prohibit the service providers and their agents or sub-contractors from intentional or inadvertent unauthorized disclosure to third parties. Unauthorized disclosure of clients’ and/or organizations’ confidential information could have a number of negative consequences, including harm to clients, damage to reputation, financial losses, and loss of or risk to proprietary information (including trade secrets).
    • Termination of the outsourcing arrangements should be specifically provided for to ensure proper and orderly transition of the outsourced activities. Such provisions should clearly identify the events of termination (e.g. in case of insolvency, change in ownership, failure to comply with regulatory requirements, poor performance, breach of confidentiality, vulnerability to cyber intrusions through the OSP etc.), and include appropriate exit strategies (e.g. a minimum period before a termination can take effect to allow an orderly transition and/or that OSPs have the obligation to assist and provide full support for a successful and complete transition).
    • Lastly, force majeure clauses and change of control/material adverse change clauses should be included to cater for circumstances like the ones being encountered presently due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Maintaining a register of outsourcing arrangements, noting those which are critical to operations.  In the event of disruption, this will allow prompt identification and implementation of alternative arrangements necessary to maintain effective operations. For contractual compliance and/or regulatory oversight purposes, organizations should also take appropriate steps to ensure that they have prompt and ready access to the data, IT systems, premises and personnel of OSPs relating to the outsourced activities.
  • Reviewing business continuity policies, including any recovery planning and resolution planning measures in the event of disruption, and assessing the risk and exposure of existing and future outsourcing arrangements. Organizations should be aware of the risks posed and should be in a position to manage them effectively. Some factors that increase risks include outsourcing in multiple jurisdictions, dependence on a single OSP for material or critical outsourced tasks, and reliance on OSPs that outsource material or critical outsourcing services to multiple entities.

Keeping in close contact and working cooperatively and flexibly with OSPs.  Some of the issues confronting OSPs due to the COVID-19 pandemic may be temporary. Contact and/or call centers in particular, especially those that are offshore, which rely on large number of on-site personnel working on dedicated infrastructure, may be facing very significant challenges, when there is a surge in demand for technical support and services relating generally to remote working models. Short deadline extensions, amended milestones or waiver of rights and remedies (with or without appropriate price adjustments), and assistance in ensuring that the engaged OSPs have adequate technology to work on business matters may provide the necessary relief and avoid termination of the services and the associated time and costs in making alternative arrangements and/or resolving subsequent disputes. 

Summary

The trading landscape for markets and firms has changed considerably over the last decade. Regulatory reforms, technology developments, increased connectivity between market participants, and increased levels of electronic trading and process automation have heightened the complexity of markets and increased focus on operational efficiency.

About this article

Authors
Kareena Teh

Partner

Kareena Teh, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the dispute resolution sector. She also advises on governance and compliance matters.

Catherine Wong

Associate

Catherine Wong, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on dispute resolution and compliance and investigations.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

10 分钟 2020年6月26日
871216090

应对新冠疫情: 重塑外包服务安排

作者
郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

郑宝玉律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的合伙人。郑律师在其主要业务领域争议解决被誉为高度认可律师。她也在治理、法规和合规领域提供专业法律意见。

汪嘉恩 Catherine Wong

律师

汪嘉恩是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。汪律师的主要业务领域包括争议解决、合规与调查。

10 分钟 2020年6月26日
Related topics 最新视野

过去十年,市场和公司的交易环境发生了很大变化。

管改革、技术发展、市场参与者之间互动性的加强以及电子交易和程序自动化水平的提高,都增加了市场的复杂性,使人们更加注重经营效率。这些发展激励公司将某些业务外包给服务提供商,其带来的好处包括:降低运营成本和管理费用,以及提高专注度和服务质量。2019年,全球外包服务市场规模达925亿美元。[1]

然而,新冠疫情的暴发也揭露了外包服务安排的一些缺点,特别是涉及到离岸外包服务提供商(“离岸外包服务提供商”)的安排。这些缺点大多是由于为抗击疫情的蔓延而实施的限制人员流动的法令造成的。以印度为例,2019年印度被列为离岸商业服务最具吸引力的国家[2],印度政府于2020年3月24日实施强制封锁,限制全国范围内的公务及个人旅行,这种封锁已经延长到2020年6月30日。[3]尽管印度政府宣布了针对在新冠疫情管控区以外的某些宽松措施,但在最初的封锁期间,只有提供“基本服务”的企业才被允许经营。一些州特别扩大了豁免行业的名单,将数据中心纳入其中。[4] 2020年4月15日,印度政府允许信息技术机构(无论是否提供“基本服务”)开展运营,但人数限制为平时容量的50%。[5]  一些离岸外包服务提供商在实施必要的远程工作安排时也遇到了困难,包括向服务提供商人员提供笔记本电脑、建立虚拟专用网络接入、确保无线网的可用性以及提供必要的安全软件应用。

这些困难导致许多离岸外包服务提供商难以甚至无法完全运营。人们还担心,离岸外包服务提供商使用的远程工作系统(大多数没有经过测试,也并非专门为疫情造成的中断而设计)能否安全地处理机密信息并保持其服务的完整性和可用性。因此,一些机构已开始将其外包业务撤回内部,并/或在短时间内寻找到受疫情影响较小的替代服务提供商。

由此产生的一些矛盾,包括:

  • 无法提供服务的离岸外包服务提供商,试图推迟履行合同义务和/或避免不履行合同而产生的责任;
  • 寻求选用受疫情影响较小、服务更可靠的替代服务提供商取代现有的离岸外包服务提供商的公司;以及
  • 受经济衰退影响的企业寻求削减成本,从而提前终止外包合同以降低成本。

尽管如此,外包服务预计将更加普及,越来越多的机构将转向外包,包括会计、财务、人力资源管理、法律、营销、薪酬和税务等核心或辅助性业务。就财务和税务而言,在安永的2020年税务和财务运营调查中,73%的受访者表示,他们更有可能在未来24个月内使用外包服务,以产生更多价值、降低风险和削减成本。[6]

在考虑外包和/或改变外包安排时,各机构应关注以下两个关键问题:

  1. 是否有针对外包活动的法律和/或法规;以及
  2. 第三方服务提供者是否具有必备的专门知识和经验以及其支持外包服务业务连续性的能力。

作为对需要关注的问题和风险的指南,我们在下面总结了香港的外包监管制度,并提出了一些积极管理这些问题和风险的建议。

香港外包活动的监管制度

香港并没有专门管理或规范外包活动的法律。不过,一些政府和监管机构已经公布了针对具体行业的外包活动法规和指引。以下是具体一些行业性法规或指引:[7]

  • 证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)并没有自行制订一套指引或原则,以规管证监会持牌法团的外包活动,但证监会已采纳国际证券事务监察委员会组织(“IOSCO”)公布的《市场中介机构金融服务外包原则》(“IOSCO原则”)。IOSCO原则旨在提供一个框架,以指导受规管实体在进行外包活动时应采取的步骤。

    最近,在2020年5月,IOSCO发布了一份媒体新闻稿,邀请就IOSCO原则的拟议更新提供反馈。[8]  发布这一咨询报告是因为新冠疫情的暴发凸显了公司及其服务提供商,在外部和不可预见的冲击影响下,确保运营业务的弹性及保持业务连续性的必要。修订后的原则包括一套基本规则和一套七项原则,每项原则都有执行指南作为补充,涵盖以下事项:
    • 在选择和监督服务提供商方面的尽职调查;
    • 与服务提供商的合同;
    • 信息安全、业务弹性、连续性及灾难恢复能力;
    • 保密问题;
    • 外包安排的集中性;
    • 接触资料、办公地点、人员和相关检查权;以及
    • 终止外包安排。
  • 保险业监管机构为保险公司发布了指引,包括《外包指引》(“保险指引”) [9]及《外包准则》[10],就获授权保险公司在外包活动中须注意的一系列重要事项提供指引。
  • 香港金融管理局(“金管局”)的《监管政策手册》中有一章针对外包的内容(SA-2),该章为非法定指引,列出了金管局对外包活动的监管方法,以及金管局期望认可机构在外包活动时应注意的要点;此外,还包括一章关于科技风险管理的一般原则(TM-G-1),列出了有关认可机构应考虑与技术相关的风险控制非法定指引。
  • 根据《银行业条例》(第155章)附表7,认可机构在考虑外包计划时,必须考虑其法律责任,以符合最低认可标准。这些责任包括有足够的会计系统和控制系统,以及在经营业务时要顾及存户和潜在存户的利益。认可机构应事先与金管局讨论其外包计划,以确保其内部监督系统或业务操守不会在外包活动中受到影响或削弱,并确保在实施外包计划前已解决了一些关键事项。

香港法律亦没有就信息科技及云端服务的外包制定任何特定的法规。不过,个人资料私隐专员公署已就云端运算发出了指引,建议机构在考虑使用云端运算时应考虑的因素。指引主要提及《个人资料(私隐)条例》(第486章),并强调资料使用者必须全面评估使用云端运算的好处和风险,以及了解其对保障个人资料私隐的影响。[11]

此外,香港也没有规管电讯服务外包活动的一般法律或规例。但根据《电讯条例》(第 106 章),持牌的电讯服务提供商须确保外包活动符合适用的法例,包括个人资料和私隐法例。[12]

就公营部门而言,香港政府效率促进办公室已发出《外包服务一般指引》,列出由政府聘用的私营服务提供商在外包服务的每个阶段中应考虑的步骤,以便服务提供商更清楚地了解其服务的政府部门的程序和做法。[13]

总括而言,香港机构在寻找外包服务时,以及在与离岸外包服务提供商订立外包安排前,应确保已经审查并熟悉适用于其外包安排的规定。如果外包服务是在香港以外地方进行,这些审查应当包括外包服务所在地的法律和法规。

对企业的建议

除了确保遵守法律、行业特有的规定和外包活动准则外,积极主动地解决合规问题也很重要。应采取的一些关键步骤包括:

  • 选择正确的离岸外包服务提供商。重要的是,各机构在选择服务提供商时,须运用应有的审慎、技巧及尽职履行责任,包括在选择适当的服务提供商和监督其业绩持续方面进行适当的尽职调查。各机构应确保,服务提供商有能力和实力有效地提供外包服务,并具有有效的业务连续性应急计划。
  • 与各服务提供商签订具有法律约束力的书面合同。书面合同的详细程度须反映所需的监督、评估、检查和审计的程度,以及所涉及的外包服务的规模、复杂性及风险。合同条款是机构和离岸外包服务提供商之间关系的基础,可以减少不履行合同的风险并有助于解决任何分歧。
  • 确保书面合同中涵盖适用的合同条款和法律以列明当事人的权利和义务:
    • 应包含安全和数据保护条款和法规,包括遵守关键的安全策略的义务,如限制访问和处理客户数据的地点、人员和技术。安全漏洞和网络事件会对企业声誉造成破坏性影响。各机构应设法确保服务提供商拥有适当的信息技术安全、网络复原能力和灾难恢复能力。
    • 应在合同中明确写明,禁止服务提供商及其代理人或分判商故意或无意地未经授权向第三者披露资料。未经授权披露客户和/或机构的机密信息可能会产生许多负面后果,包括伤害客户、损害声誉、财务损失以及专有信息(包括商业秘密)的丢失或丢失风险。
    • 应明确规定外包安排的终止情况,以确保外包活动的适当和有序过渡。这类规定应明确指出终止的事件(例如,在破产、所有权发生变化、未遵守监管要求、业绩不佳、违反保密规定、易受外包商网络入侵的影响等情况下),并包括合适的退出策略(例如,在终止生效之前有一个最低限度的期限,以便能够有序地将外包服务过渡到内部和/或另一供应商,和/或外包商有义务为成功和完全的过渡提供协助和充分支持)。
    • 最后,应加入不可抗力条款和控制权变更/重大不利变更条款,以应对类似目前因新冠疫情而产生的情况。
  • 备存一份外包安排登记册,注明对营运至关重要的安排。 在出现中断的情况下,可以迅速确定问题并实施维持有效运作所需的替代安排。为了便于遵守合同和/或监督管理,各机构还应该采取适当的步骤,确保它们能够迅速且随时查阅与外包活动有关的信息、信息技术系统、办公地点及服务提供的人员。
  • 审查业务连续性政策,包括在出现中断情况下的任何恢复计划和解决计划,并评估现有和未来外包安排的风险和风险敞口。各机构应意识到外包安排所带来的风险,并应能够有效地管理这些风险。增加风险的一些因素包括在多个司法管辖区进行外包、重大或关键外包任务依赖单一的离岸外包服务提供商,以及依赖将重大或关键外包服务外包给多个实体的离岸外包服务提供商。
  • 与离岸外包服务提供商保持密切联系,灵活合作。 离岸外包服务提供商在新冠疫情下面临的一些困境可能是暂时的。特别是对海外的联络和/或呼叫中心,这一模式依赖大量的现场工作人员,所以当与远程工作模式有关的技术支持和服务的需求激增时,这一模式将会面临巨大的挑战。短期延长最后期限、修改阶段性目标或放弃权利和补救措施(无论是否有适当的价格调整),以及协助确保所聘用的离岸外包服务提供商具备足够的技术来处理外包业务,并可以提供必要的补救措施,避免终止服务,从而节省寻找替代安排和/或解决随后的争议所需的相关时间和费用。

结语

过去十年,市场和公司的交易环境发生了很大变化。监管改革、技术发展、市场参与者之间互动性的加强以及电子交易和程序自动化水平的提高,都增加了市场的复杂性,使人们更加注重经营效率。

关于本文

作者
郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

郑宝玉律师是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的合伙人。郑律师在其主要业务领域争议解决被誉为高度认可律师。她也在治理、法规和合规领域提供专业法律意见。

汪嘉恩 Catherine Wong

律师

汪嘉恩是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。汪律师的主要业务领域包括争议解决、合规与调查。

Related topics 最新视野