EN

10 minute read 25 May 2020
Woman looking at the skyscrapers

Boosting up the construction of natural gas reserves capability in China

By Lynia Lau

Partner

Lynia Lau, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the energy / resources, infrastructure and projects sectors.

10 minute read 25 May 2020
Related topics Our latest thinking

The National Development and Reform Commission of the PRC (the “NDRC”), together with four other governmental authorities, jointly issued the Implementation Opinions on Accelerating the Construction of Natural Gas Reserves (the “Opinion”) on 10 April 2020 to further enhance the infrastructure construction and storage capacity of natural gas and to promote the stable and sound development of the natural gas sector in China.

In recent years, China’s natural gas industry has developed rapidly, with continuous rapid growth in natural gas consumption, and gas storage facilities are of utmost importance in order to promote the dynamic balance of natural gas supply and demand and to enhance the capability of secure natural gas supply. However, whilst natural gas has gained increasing importance in China’s national energy system, its gas storage infrastructure construction lags behind. The gas storage capacity in China is significantly lower than the international average of 15% of the country’s total gas consumption. The lack of natural gas storage capacity has become a shortcoming in the safe and stable supply of natural gas in China and has greatly obstructed the development of the industry.

The NDRC and the National Energy Administration released Opinions on Speeding up the Construction of Gas Storage Facilities and Improving the Market Mechanism of Gas Storage Peak Shaving Auxiliary Services in April 2018,  stipulating that all gas supply entities must have sufficient gas storage by the end of 2020, with gas supply companies to have a storage capacity no lower than 10% of the contract sales of that year, local governments at or above the county level to have storage capacity able to meet at least three  days of gas demand, and urban gas enterprises to have a storage capacity of at least 5% of their gas consumption. However, the current progress of gas storage capacity construction is still slow in general. To address this issue, the Chinese government further issued the Opinion, focusing on solving bottleneck problems in the construction and operation of natural gas reserves, and putting forward measures and suggestions to promote the acceleration of gas storage facilities construction.

The Opinion elaborates the suggested directions of the construction of natural gas reserve as follow:

1.    To optimize the construction planning, to establish and improve system standardization

The Chinese government will release a yearly list of significant gas storage facility construction projects, and local governments will issue special plans for the construction of gas storage facilities at the provincial level so as to avoid decentralized construction and ensure the safe operations of the gas storage facilities in the future. The Opinion also encourages regions with large differences in consumption value throughout the year and regions with rapid growth in demand to raise their construction targets appropriately, so as to further improve the capacity of secured gas supply in these regions. The Opinion further suggests to accelerate the formulation and improvement of uniform industry standards for design, construction, acceptance, operation, and decommission, and to develop a standard system for gas storage facilities as soon as possible. Moreover, China aims to improve its information disclosure mechanism, in order to facilitate investors’ access to relevant information required when making investment decisions of the construction of gas storage facilities.

2.    To establish operation model and to improve the channels for return on investment

Internationally, underground gas storage facilities usually operate independently in a market-oriented manner and generate revenue by leasing storage capacity and buying and selling natural gas stored. This will allow for investment value in gas storage facilities and thereby attracting more market players to invest in the construction of gas storage facilities. The Opinion proposes to promote the independent operation model of gas storage facilities. This means that the underground gas storage facilities would be independently accounted for, and operated with professional management and in accordance with market operation. Enterprises can fully utilize the changes in the market situation through market-based methods such as leasing storage capacity and utilizing seasonal price differences to recover investment and to obtain profits. For urban gas enterprises built for self-use purposes, the investment and operating costs could be included in the total consideration of gas distribution, and reasonable profits can be obtained. The increased costs of procuring natural gas for the gas storage facilities and the costs of increased storage capacity can be reasonably recovered through sales prices.

3.    To deepen the reform of institutional mechanisms and to optimize the market operating environment

The Opinion highlights the need to accelerate the interconnection and the fair access of gas storage infrastructures. Gas storage facilities shall be connected to the main pipeline network, and pipeline transportation companies shall give priority to connect and to protect gas transportation. In this way, the problem that natural gas “cannot come in, cannot go out” of the gas storage facilities can be resolved, and the potential issue of low use efficiency after completion can be avoided. Gas storage facilities will be able to fully realize its due value. Concurrently, the Central Chinese government will promote the development of a trading system for gas storage products and guide relevant trading centers to speed up its research and development of trading products such as gas storage capacity, and ultimately aiming to implement the public trading of gas storage services and to utilize the true market price.

4.    To increase policy support

The Opinion put forward a number of supporting policies from the aspects of land, taxation, finance, investment, etc. to encourage investors to invest in gas storage facilities and quicken the filling up of the gap of gas storage capacity deficiency. The Chinese  government requires localities to guarantee the supply of land for gas storage facilities and to increase the overall land supply for construction; support local governments to provide special bond funds for eligible gas storage facilities, and to encourage financial institutions to provide multiple services to support gas storage companies to issue bond financing etc.; for the construction of gas storage facilities in important regions to guarantee gas supply for three days in the administrative area, investment subsidies will be granted from the central budget. Further, capable local governments are encouraged to introduce investment support policies.

5.    To implement major responsibilities and to promote the completion of targets

The Opinion proposes to strengthen the follow-up inspection of gas storage facility construction, and to require regular report on the progress of construction. Punishment and penalties in accordance with the law will be imposed on companies that failed to carry out their work, failed to fulfill their peak-shaving responsibilities, and caused large-scale suspension of gas supply for the citizens. When granting or changing gas operating licenses, local governments should include the performance of gas storage responsibilities and obligations in the special licensing agreement. For gas companies that do not meet the gas storage capacity and project plan is not implemented, the gas operating licenses shall be withdrawn or not granted according to law. It is expected that the NDRC will complete the formulation of an assessment system for gas storage capacity construction targets by the first half of 2020.

 

Based on our previous professional legal practice experiences in energy sector, the release of the Opinion could provide more opportunities for energy entities, including overseas resources. Given the current situation of energy market, that the price of oil and natural gas continues to remain lower than expectations, and the requirement of gas storage is pushing forward, a presumably certain amount of gas breach could be compensated by upstream natural gas resources. Whilst it could take some time for gas storage construction, relying on the commercial reserves of the receiving terminal could make up for the construction period, and it is also important to coordinate the interconnection of different receiving terminals and make full use of the storage capacity.

Reconstruction of the national natural gas pipeline network

The global natural gas reserves are abundant, and the consumption demand is increasing day by day. According to the news released by CNPC News Center, it is anticipated that by 2050, the global demand for natural gas will rise to 5.5 trillion cubic meters with an increase of about 64%.[1] At the same time, China is rapidly developing the natural gas market, with prospects for exploration and development, sustained growth in production and rapid increase in consumption.

According to Several Opinions of the State Council on Promoting the Coordinated and Stable Development of Natural Gas issued by State Council on 5 September 2018, the domestic output of natural gas could achieve 200 billion cubic meters or above by the end of 2020, which basically meets the development demand of the current domestic natural gas market. However, as the demand is rising continuously, and the import volume is increasing rapidly, the dependence of importing natural gas keeps climbing. The 13th Five-year Plan of China has aimed to form a gas supply capacity of about 400 billion square kilometers per year by 2020 to ensure the market demand, which means that the market demand will double the existing, and the construction of infrastructure such as natural gas pipeline network will follow synchronously. Taking reference from mature natural gas markets, such as the US and the UK, a mature market usually has well-established pipeline network construction, open trade, market allocation of resources and relatively complete functions of regulatory agencies. Comparatively, China’s natural gas market is still in the early stage of growth, and is rife with some key issues, such as inadequate marketization, hiatus of upstream and downstream, and highly concentrated management and control.

Since 2017, China has taken several measures to start the reform of oil and gas system, starting with the release of Opinions of Deepening the Reform of Oil and Gas System issued by the State Council, explicitly stating the reconstruct of natural gas pipeline operation. Accordingly, the hinge would be setting up an independent national natural gas pipeline network to accelerate the diversity of upstream gas resources and the competitiveness of downstream, and ultimately to reasonably control the natural gas price and demand. On 9 December 2019, National Petroleum and Natural Gas Pipe Network Group Co., Ltd (“PipeChina”) was officially set up. According to the speech presented by Zhang Yuqing, the deputy director of National Energy Administration, on 31 July 2019 during the Energy and Finance seminar in Shanghai, the establishment of PipeChina could be the new opportunity for the development of China’s natural gas market, providing a fairer platform for the industry correspondingly.[2] PipeChina could also give impetus to the friendly competition of upstream and downstream with an increase of variety in resources, and further form the market-oriented pricing rules. Subsequently, Zhejiang province recently announced that it will reconstruct the natural gas pipeline network and issued the Notice on Key Points of System Reform in Energy Field of Zhejiang Province on 10 February 2020, stating that they will restructure relevant natural gas companies in order to achieve the pipeline network independence, and separation of pipeline transportation and sales.

Working with the national and provisional energy groups, we have found increasing activities in the procurements and investments in the liquified natural gas (“LNG”) and the LNG receiving terminals, gas storage and transmission facilities. It is expected that the LNG demand will increase even further because of low crude oil price during the first quarter of this year. With increasing participations of natural gas market entities, especially for the third-party entities, it is conducive to improve the supervision and to optimize the structure of natural gas market. However, on the other hand, except for various preponderances, challenges are still worth taking into considerations, and one of the key issues is whether the regulations could keep up with the burgeon of the market and implement to work effectively.

Mary Li & Dannie Liang

LC Lawyers LLP

Summary

The National Development and Reform Commission of the PRC, together with four other governmental authorities, jointly issued the Implementation Opinions on Accelerating the Construction of Natural Gas Reserves on 10 April 2020 to further enhance the infrastructure construction and storage capacity of natural gas and to promote the stable and sound development of the natural gas sector in China.

About this article

By Lynia Lau

Partner

Lynia Lau, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the energy / resources, infrastructure and projects sectors.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

8 分钟 2020年5月25日
Woman looking at the skyscrapers

加快推进中国天然气储备能力建设

2020年4月10日,中华人民共和国国家发展和改革委员会(“国家发改委”)同其他四部门联合印发了《关于加快推进天然气储备建设的实施意见》(以下简称《意见》),进一步推进天然气基础设施建设,提升储备能力,促进中国天然气行业稳定健康发展。

年来,中国天然气行业发展迅速,天然气消费量持续快速增长,储备设施对促进天然气供需动态平衡以及提高天然气安全供应能力至关重要。然而,尽管天然气在中国国家能源体系中的重要性与日俱增,但其天然气储备基础设施建设却相对滞后。中国的天然气储备能力仅占中国天然气总消耗量的15%,明显低于国际平均水平。天然气储备能力不足已成为中国天然气安全稳定供应的短板,极大阻碍了行业发展。

2018年4月,国家发改委和国家能源局联合发布了《关于加快储气设施建设和完善储气调峰辅助服务市场机制的意见》的通知,规定到2020年,所有供气主体必须具备足够的储备能力,其中供气企业的储备能力不得低于其年合同销售量的10%,县级以上地方政府至少形成不低于保障本行政区域日均3天需求量的储气能力,城镇燃气企业形成不低于其年用气量5%的储气能力。可是,目前储备能力建设进度总体上仍然缓慢。针对这一问题,中国政府进一步出台《意见》,重点解决天然气储备库建设和运行中的瓶颈问题,并提出了推动加快储备设施建设的措施和建议。

《意见》对天然气储备建设的建议方向作了如下阐述:

1.    优化规划建设布局,建立完善标准体系

中国政府将制定发布年度储气设施建设重大工程项目清单,各省(区、市)编制发布省级储气设施建设专项规划,避免分散化建设,确保未来储气设施安全运行。《意见》还引导峰谷差较大、需求增长快的地区适当提高建设目标,进一步确保这些地区的供气能力。《意见》进一步提出,要加快建立并完善统一、规范的储气设施设计、建设、验收、运行、退役等行业标准,尽快形成储气设施标准体系。此外,中国要完善信息公开机制,方便投资者在进行储气设施建设投资决策时获取相关信息。

2.    建立健全运营模式,完善投资回报渠道

在国际上,地下储气设施通常以市场化的方式独立运营,通过租赁储气库容量和买卖所储存的天然气来获取收益。这将使储气设施具有投资价值,从而吸引更多的市场主体投资建设储气设施。《意见》提出,推行储气设施独立运营模式,地下储气设施将实行独立核算、专业化管理、市场化运作。鼓励储气设施经营企业通过出租库容、利用季节性价差等市场化方式回收投资并获得收益。对于城镇燃气企业自建自用的配套储气设施,投资和运行成本可纳入城镇燃气配气成本统筹考虑,并给予合理收益。储气设施采购天然气的成本和增加储气量的成本,可以通过销售价格合理回收。

3.    深化体制机制改革,优化市场运行环境

《意见》强调,要加快基础设施互联互通和公平开放。对于储气设施连接干线管网和地方管网,管道运输企业应优先接入并保障运输。这种方式可以解决储气设施天然气 "进不来、出不去 "的问题,避免建成后可能出现的使用效率低下的问题,储气设施将能充分实现其应有的价值。同时,国家将推进储气产品交易体系建设,引导相关交易中心加快研究开发储气库容等交易产品,最终以实行储气服务公开交易,发现真实市场价格为目标。

4.    加大政策支持力度

《意见》从土地、财税、金融、投资等方面提出了多项支持政策,鼓励投资者投资储气设施建设,加快填补储气能力不足的短板。中国政府要求各地保障储气设施用地供应,增加建设用地供应总量;支持地方政府专项债券资金用于符合条件的储气设施建设,鼓励金融机构提供多种服务,支持储气企业发行债券融资等;对重点地区保障行政区域内平均3天用气需求量的应急储气设施建设,给予中央预算内投资补助。此外,鼓励有条件的地区出台投资支持政策。

5.    落实主体责任,推动目标任务完成

《意见》提出,要加强储气能力建设跟踪检查,定期通报工作进展。对工作推进不力、不履行调峰责任,造成较大范围停供民生用气等严重情节的企业,将依法予以处罚。地方政府在授予或变更燃气经营许可证时,应将履行储气责任和义务情况列入特许经营协议。对储气能力不达标且项目规划不落地的燃气企业,要依法收回或不得授予特许经营权。预计到2020年上半年,国家发改委将完成储气能力建设目标考核体系的制定工作。

 

根据我们以往在能源领域的专业法律实践经验,《意见》的发布可能为包括海外资源在内的能源企业提供更多的机会。考虑到目前能源市场的情况,油气价格持续低于预期,储气需求正在推进,预计上游天然气资源可以弥补一定数量的天然气缺口。虽然储气库的建设可能需要一定的时间,但依托接收站的商业储量可以弥补建设期的需求,同时协调不同接收站的互联互通,充分利用储气库容量也十分重要。

重建国家天然气管网

全球天然气储量丰富,消费需求与日俱增。据中国石油新闻中心发布的消息,预计到2050年,全球天然气的需求将升至5.5万亿立方米,增幅约64%。[1] 同时,中国天然气产业进入快速发展期,勘探开发前景良好,产量持续增长、消费快速增加,天然气市场发展迅速。

根据国务院2018年9月5日发布的《关于促进天然气协调稳定发展的若干意见》,中国到2020年底前国内天然气产量力争达到2,000亿立方米以上,基本可以满足目前国内天然气市场的发展需求。可是,随着需求的不断提升,进口量的快速增长,进口天然气的依存度不断攀升。中国 "十三五 "规划目标是到2020年形成每年约4,000亿立方米的供气能力,以保证市场的需求,这意味着市场需求将是现有的两倍,天然气管网等基础设施建设也将同步跟进。参照美国、英国等成熟的天然气市场,成熟的市场通常具有完善的管网建设、开放的交易、市场配置资源、监管机构功能相对完善等特点。相对而言,中国天然气市场仍处于成长初期,存在一些关键问题,如市场化程度不够高、上下游衔接滞后、管控高度集中等。

2017年以来,中国采取多项措施启动油气体制改革,首先是国务院发布《关于深化石油天然气体制改革的若干意见》,明确提出重构天然气管道运行。据此,建立独立的国家天然气管网,加快上游天然气资源的多样性和下游的竞争力,并最终合理控制天然气价格和需求。2019年12月9日,国家石油天然气管网集团有限公司(以下简称 "管网公司")正式成立。根据国家能源局副局长张玉清于2019年7月31日在上海举行的“能源+金融”讲坛上的讲话,管网公司的成立,对于中国天然气市场的发展而言是一个机遇,为行业相应地提供一个更加公平的平台。[2]  同时,管网公司还可以推动上下游的友好竞争,增加资源品种,进一步形成市场化的定价规则。随后,浙江省近日宣布重构天然气管网,并于2020年2月10日下发《浙江省能源领域体制改革工作要点》的通知,表示将对相关天然气企业进行重组,实现管网独立、管运分离、管销分离。

在与国家和省级能源集团合作中,我们发现液化天然气(“LNG”)和LNG接收站、储气和输气设施的采购和投资活动不断增加。由于今年一季度原油价格低迷,预计LNG需求将进一步增加。此外,天然气市场主体尤其是第三方主体参与度的提高,也有利于完善监管并优化天然气市场结构。然而,另一方面,除了各种优势外,仍需关注随之而来的多重挑战,其中的关键问题之一就是监管工作能否跟上市场的蓬勃发展,并落实到实际工作中。

李名蕙 梁丹妮

林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙

结语

2020年4月10日,中华人民共和国国家发展和改革委员会同其他四部门联合印发了《关于加快推进天然气储备建设的实施意见》,进一步推进天然气基础设施建设,提升储备能力,促进中国天然气行业稳定健康发展。

关于本文

Related topics 最新视野