EN

2 minute read 8 Apr 2021

Hong Kong’s new regulatory regime for insurance-linked securities

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

2 minute read 8 Apr 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

Insurance-linked securities are up-and-coming alternative investment products which offer investors the potential for lucrative returns along with the benefit of portfolio diversification. Hong Kong is well positioned to become a leading insurance-linked securities trading hub in Asia, with its established capital market, sound legal system and privileged access to the Mainland China market.

Both the Mainland China and Hong Kong governments have demonstrated clear interest in supporting Hong Kong to develop a trading platform for insurance-linked securities and encouraging insurers to manage risks through such platform. In response to these policy initiatives, a new regulatory regime has been introduced to facilitate the trading of insurance-linked securities in Hong Kong. 

What are insurance-linked securities?

Insurance-linked securities are risk management tools which allow insurers and re-insurers to delegate the risk of an insurance payout to investors in the capital market who are willing to assume the risk for high returns through securitization.

The value of insurance-linked securities are correlated with the occurrence of insured loss events and are independent from the financial performance of the issuer and the general performance of the financial market. This, coupled with the low volatility of their values, makes insurance-linked securities an attractive tool for investors to diversify their investment portfolio and manage their investment risks.

From the issuer’s perspectives, insurance-linked securities offer an alternative way to diversify, thereby reducing their dependency on the traditional reinsurance market.

The most commonly traded insurance-linked securities are catastrophe bonds (commonly called as CAT bonds) where the underlying events insured against are catastrophes and natural disasters. Other types of insurance-linked securities include industry loss warranties, collateralized reinsurance instruments, and reinsurance sidecars.

How are CAT bonds typically structured?

The diagram below illustrates the typical roles of different parties in the structure of CAT bonds.

  1. The bond’s sponsor (usually an insurer or a re-insurer) forms a special purpose vehicle (“SPV”) and enters into a reinsurance contract with the SPV, under which the sponsor will transfer an insurance risk, and pay an insurance premium, to the SPV.
  2. The SPV issuer issues the CAT bonds to qualified investors in the capital market and enters into a subscription agreement with such investors to raise the bond principal to be used as collaterals for the reinsurance contract between the SPV and the sponsor.
  3. The SPV issuer holds the bond principal in a collateral trust account and uses it to make high quality, low risk investments.
  4. The SPV issuer makes periodic coupon payments to the qualified investors during the term of the CAT bonds with the insurance premium received from the sponsor and any investment returns from the bond principal.
  5. If an insured loss event occurs before the CAT bonds mature, the SPV issuer will cease to make coupon payments to the qualified investors. It will then reimburse the sponsor in accordance with the reinsurance agreement with funds from the collateral trust account, and transfer any remaining balance to the qualified investors.
  6. If no insured loss event occurs before the CAT bonds mature, the SPV issuer will repay the bond principal to the qualified investors when the term expires.
New regulatory regime for insurance-linked securities

The Insurance (Amendment) Ordinance 2020 and the Insurance (Special Purpose Business) Rules set out a new regulatory regime specifically designed for the trading of insurance-linked securities in Hong Kong. The new regime became effective on 29 March 2021. 

1.      Insurance (Amendment) Ordinance 2020

The Insurance (Amendment) Ordinance 2020 introduces a new class of insurance business, namely special purpose business (“SPB”), and a new type of authorized insurer, namely special purpose insurers (“SPI”).

SPB is defined as the business of effecting and carrying out insurance contracts that are fully funded through insurance securitization. This means that the proceeds from the sale of insurance-linked securities must sufficiently cover the issuer’s potential liabilities under the underlying insurance contracts. 

The Insurance (Amendment) Ordinance 2020 stipulates that an SPB may only be carried on by an SPI. To be authorized as an SPI, an entity must:

  • appoint at least two fit and proper directors;
  • appoint a fit and proper administrator as its controller;
  • carry on SPB as its sole insurance business; and
  • ccomply with any additional requirements prescribed by the Insurance Authority, including those stipulated in the Insurance (Special Purpose Business) Rules.

2.      Insurance (Special Purpose Business) Rules

Addressing concerns that certain investors may not have the risk appetite for investments in insurance-linked securities, the Insurance (Special Purpose Business) Rules debars unsuitable investors by restricting trading activities to certain eligible investors and imposing a minimum investment size of US$250,000.

Eligible investors include banks and authorized financial institutions, insurance companies, corporations providing investment services, governments, central banks and multilateral agencies, authorized exchange companies, and collective investment schemes (excluding retail funds, pooled investment funds invested into by Mandatory Provident Fund schemes and occupational retirement schemes).

A person who fails to comply with such trading limitations commits a criminal offence and may be subject to a fine of HK$200,000 and imprisonment of 2 years.

Interaction with the Securities and Futures Ordinance

Considering the nature of insurance-linked securities and the broad definition of “securities” under the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong, it is likely that insurance-linked securities will fall within the ambit of, and be subject to, such ordinance. Therefore, persons who deal with, advise on or trade in insurance-linked securities may be required to hold a license issued by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.

What’s next?

To expedite the growth of the insurance-linked securities market in Hong Kong, the Hong Kong government has proposed to launch a pilot grant scheme for insurance-linked securities issuers for a duration of two years. Under this scheme, issuers of insurance-linked securities will be entitled to claim a government grant of up to HK$12 million to cover the cost of issuing such securities. Details of the scheme will be announced by the Insurance Authority in due course.

Once an insurance-linked securities market is developed, Hong Kong can provide opportunities for Mainland China insurers and entities to transfer risks to qualified investors via such insurance-linked securities market. Hong Kong may also pave the way for becoming a leading reinsurance and risk management center in Asia.

The author would like to thank Ms. Cici Ng (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

Insurance-linked securities are up-and-coming alternative investment products which offer investors the potential for lucrative returns along with the benefit of portfolio diversification.

About this article

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

2 分钟 2021年4月8日

香港保险相连证券的新监管制度

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

2 分钟 2021年4月8日
Related topics 最新视野

保险相连证券是新兴的另类投资产品,可为投资者获得丰厚回报的潜力,并提供投资组合多样化的优点。香港凭籍其成熟的资本市场、健全的法律制度,以及具有进入内地市场的特殊优势,具备条件成为亚洲领先的保险相连证券交易中心。

地及香港政府均明确表示有意支持香港发展保险相连证券交易平台,并鼓励保险公司透过该平台管理风险。为响应该等政策,香港已建立新监管制度以促进保险相连证券于香港交易。

保险相连证券是什么?

保险相连证券是一种风险管理工具,其允许保险公司和再保险公司通过证券化的方式,将保险赔付的风险转托给资本市场上为获得高额回报而愿意承担风险的投资者。

保险相连证券的价值与投保事故发生挂钩,与发行人的财务业绩和金融市场的总体表现并无关联。这一点,加上保险相连证券的价值的低波动性,使其成为投资者分散投资组合及管理投资风险的一件具吸引力的工具。

从发行人的角度来看,保险相连证券提供一种分散风险的替代方式,从而减少其对传统再保险市场的依赖。

最常见的保险相连证券是巨灾债券,与其相关的投保事故为巨灾和自然灾害。其他类型的保险相连证券包括行业损失担保、抵押再保险工具和再保险分保。

巨灾债券的一般结构如何?

下图说明巨灾债券的结构中各方的典型作用。

  1. 债券保荐人(一般为保险人或再保险人)成立一家特殊目的机构(“SPV”),并与SPV签订再保险协议。根据协议,保荐人将把保险风险转移给SPV,并支付保费。
  2. SPV发行人向资本市场上的合资格投资者发行巨灾债券,并与该等投资者签订认购协议,以募集债券本金作为SPV与保荐人签订的再保险协议之抵押品。
  3. SPV发行人将债券本金存放于抵押信托账户中,用于进行高质量、低风险的投资。
  4. SPV发行人在巨灾债券存续期内,以保荐人支付的保险费及债券本金的投资收益,定期向合资格投资者支付票息。
  5. 如果投保事故于巨灾债券到期前发生,SPV 发行人将停止向合资格投资者支付票息。其将按照再保险协议的规定,以抵押信托账户的资金偿还保荐人,并将任何剩余的资金转至合资格投资者。
  6. 如果投保事故并没有在巨灾债券到期前发生,SPV发行人将在期限届满时向合资格投资者偿还债券本金。

保险相连证券的新监管制度

《2020年保险业(修订)条例》和《保险业(特殊目的业务)规则》载列专为香港保险相连证券交易而制定的新监管制度。新制度已于2021年3月29日生效。

1.      《2020年保险业(修订)条例》

《2020年保险业(修订)条例》引入新的保险业务类别(即“特定目的业务”),以及新的获授权保险人类型(即“特定目的保险人”)。

特定目的业务的定义为订立和执行透过保险证券化而属全期资可抵债的保险合约的业务。换言之,出售保险相连证券的收益必须足以支付发行人在相关保险合约下的潜在责任。

《2020年保险业(修订)条例》规定,特定目的业务只可由特定目的保险人经营。特定目的保险人必须符合下列条件:

  •  委任至少2名适合和适当的董事;
  •  委任一名适合和适当的管理人,作为控制人;
  •  经营特定目的业务,作为其唯一的保险业务;及
  • 符合任何保险业监管局订明的额外规定,包括《保险业(特殊目的业务)规则》中的规定。

2.      《保险业(特殊目的业务)规则》

为解决某些投资者可能没有投资保险相连证券的风险承受能力的问题,《保险业(特殊目的业务)规则》限制保险相连证券的交易只可以于合资格投资者之间进行,并规定25万美元的最低投资规模,以杜绝不合资格投资者。

合资格的投资者包括银行及认可财务机构、保险公司、提供投资服务的法团、政府、中央银行及多边机构、认可交易所及集体投资计划(零售基金、强制性公积金计划及职业退休计划投资的汇集投资基金除外)。

任何人士不遵守该等交易限制,即属犯罪,可被处罚款200,000港元及监禁2年。

与《证券及期货条例》的互动

考虑到保险相连证券的性质,以及香港《证券及期货条例》对 “证券 ”的广泛定义,保险相连证券很可能属于《证券及期货条例》的规管范围,并受其约束。因此,从事保险相连证券交易、就该等证券提供意见或买卖该等证券的人士可能需要持有香港证券及期货事务监察委员会发出的牌照。

下一步

为加快香港保险相连证券市场的发展,香港政府计划推出一项为期两年的保险相连证券资助先导计划。根据该计划,保险相连证券发行人可向政府申请最高1,200万港元的资助,以支付发行证券的成本。保险业监管局将进一步公布计划详情。

保险相连证券市场一旦发展起来,香港可以让内地的保险公司和企业通过保险相连证券市场将风险转移给合资格投资者,香港也能铺路成为亚洲领先的再保险和风险管理中心。

笔者在此感谢吴颖思见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

保险相连证券是新兴的另类投资产品,可为投资者获得丰厚回报的潜力,并提供投资组合多样化的优点。

关于本文

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野