EN

2 minute read 7 Dec 2021

ESG Series - COP26 and the emergence of China and US climate cooperation

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

2 minute read 7 Dec 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

On 13 November 2021, COP26 ended with mixed reviews as world leaders signed off on a new climate change agreement after two weeks of intense negotiations. 

In this article, we will briefly discuss the key outcomes from COP26 and more importantly, the emergence of China and US cooperation to save our planet.

1.      More action is needed to keep temperatures from rising further.

It is critical to limit the rise in global temperatures to just 1.5 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels. Experts have warned that, the risk of climate disasters including heat waves, water shortages and ecosystem collapse would surge after this point and the Earth is currently sitting at 1.1 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels.

In COP26, more than 100 countries agreed to reduce their methane emissions (a form of potent greenhouse gas) by 30% relative to their output in 2020. Meanwhile, nations (including Brazil, China, Russia and the United States) holding more than 85 percent of the world’s forests pledged to halt deforestation and land degradation by 2030. India, being one of the biggest consumers of coal, pledged to reach net-zero emissions by 2070.

Despite these efforts, many nations were unable to agree on the emission reduction pace to save the world from the hazards and damages generated from climate-driven storms, heat waves and droughts. The commitments made at COP26 did not resolve questions like how countries must share the responsibility of curbing emissions, or how much and quickly each nation should cut its emissions over the next decade.  In a nutshell, no clear pathway was identified to stop the planet from going over the 1.5 degree Celsius threshold.

2.      Fossil fuels phased down but not phased out due to the importance of coal.

Fossil fuels is considered a leading cause of greenhouse gas emission and coal is regarded as an unclean type of fossil fuel that contributes to almost one-third of global warming. To address this issue, language in initial commitments at COP26 were to “phase out” coal and subsidies for fossil fuels. However, the language in the final agreement were revised to “phase down” rather than “phase out” the use of coal.

Although, such change was met with disappointment, it also stressed the importance of coal for electricity generation, steel making and other industrial uses. Coal is also used by households in quite some countries for heating and cooking and this source of energy is especially important and necessary during the long cold winter months. Thus, coal may remain a significant energy source, at least in the short-run, for countries with large populations or engaging in heavy industries.

Before the coal-relying countries allocate funds to develop clean energy alternatives, coal as an economical and abundant source is not likely to be replaced altogether. To reduce reliance on coal, it is more practicable for nations to work together on technologies and investments in alternative energies which are safe and affordable.

3.      The gap and responsibilities between rich and poor nations.

COP26 illustrated a clear divide between rich and poor nations in terms of the responsibility and funding required in tackling climate change. During the 2009 United Nations Climate Change Conference, wealthy countries pledged to give poorer nations US$100 billion per year by 2020 to support climate adaptation efforts. But this target was never met. At COP26, donors promised to meet their original US$100 billion promise by 2023.

For small island countries like Tuvalu in the South Pacific, they are often on the front lines and paying for the price of climate change. Reversing climate change and obtaining funding is a matter of life and survival for the people in Tuvalu as its land continues to reduce due to rising sea levels.

Many such countries hoped to secure funds for “loss and damage” arising from climate change at COP26. Nevertheless, the final agreement did not include funding to compensate developing countries for the losses they are already incurring and will continue to incur from the climate change.

4.      China and US climate cooperation.

Since last year, China has announced its goals of carbon peak and carbon neutrality, and then its decision of not building new coal-fired power projects abroad.

In an announcement at COP26, China and the US have agreed to boost climate cooperation over the next decade by recalling their firm commitment to work together to achieve the 1.5 degrees Celsius temperature goal set out in the 2015 Paris Agreement. This comes along with both countries transitioning to green and low carbon economies.

Shortly after reconfirming their commitment to tackle climate change in COP26, Chinese President Xi Jinping had a first ever virtual meeting with US President Joe Biden on 16 November 2021 in which both sides had an extensive yet constructive exchange of views on China-US relations including their cooperation to tackle climate change. 

Key Takeaway

Reducing climate change heavily depends on the collective efforts of our world leaders to perform their commitments and balance the needs of their people, especially when there are no formal mechanisms in place to ensure goals and targets will be met. Overall, COP26 is heading towards the right direction but there is still a whole lot more work that needs to be done.

For the commercial sectors, enterprises may have to watch out for changes in local government policies and regulations and adjust their operations on a timely basis.  On the brighter side, this may give rise to new business opportunities (e.g. “green” investments and financing) which brings about benefits to the world.

Summary

In this article, we will briefly discuss the key outcomes from COP26 and more importantly, the emergence of China and US cooperation to save our planet.

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

EN

2 分钟 2021年12月7日

环境、社会及企业管治系列—COP26及中美气候合作的兴起

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

2 分钟 2021年12月7日
Related topics 最新视野

2021年11月13日,COP26在褒贬不一的情况下结束,各国领袖经过两个星期的紧张谈判后签订了一项新的气候变化协议。

本文,我们将简要讨论COP26的主要成果,及更重要的是中美就拯救地球环境而展开的合作。

1.  需要采取更多的行动,以防止温度进一步上升

限制全球温度比工业化前的水平仅上升摄氏1.5度非常重要,专家曾经警告过如果温度上升超过这个幅度,气候灾害的风险(包括高温、水资源短缺及生态系统崩溃)将激增,而目前地球温度已经比工业化前的水平高于摄氏1.1度。

在COP26,超过100个国家同意减少甲烷(一种强效的温室气体)排放量30%(与2020年相比)。同时,拥有世界85%森林的国家(包括巴西、中国、俄罗斯及美国)承诺于2030年停止砍伐森林及土地退化。作为碳煤最大的使用者之一,印度承诺于2070年达到净零排放。

尽管有以上努力,很多国家未能就减少排放以拯救地球免受气候导致的风暴、高温及干旱带来的危害及损失的步伐达成一致。各国如何分担遏制排放的责任、或每个国家应在未来十年该减排的幅度及速度等问题在COP26并没有解决。简单而言,目前尚没有确定清晰的途径以阻止地球升温超过摄氏1.5度的门栏。

2.  化石燃料被逐步减少,但因为碳煤的重要性却不会被淘汰

化石燃料被视为温室气体排放的主要原因,而碳煤被认为是一种不干净并造成差不多三分之一的全球暖化的化石燃料。为处理这个问题,COP26最初的承诺草稿是 “淘汰”碳煤及化石燃料的资助。但是,最后协议的文字被修订为“减少”而不是“淘汰”碳煤的使用。

虽然此修订令人失望,但其强调了碳煤对发电、炼钢及其他工业用途的重要性。碳煤也在某些国家的家庭被用作取暖及烹饪,而此能源在漫长的寒冬季节尤其重要及必须。所以,至少在短期内,碳煤仍然对于人口众多或从事重工业的国家而言仍然会是重要的能源来源。

在依赖碳煤的国家拨出资金发展清洁能源代替品前,碳煤作为一种经济并充裕的能源不可能被完全取代。为减少对碳煤的依赖,比较实际的方法是国际社会合作发展安全及价格合理之替代能源的技术及投资。

3.  富国与贫国之间的差距及责任

COP26说明了富国及贫国在应对气候变化的责任及所需资金方面存在明显的差距。在2009年的联合国气候变化大会,较富裕的国家承诺于2020年前每年给与较贫穷的国家1,000亿美元以支持气候适应工作,但是这目标从未实现。在COP26,捐助国答应于2023年实现其原本的1,000亿美元的承诺。

对于像在南太平洋的图瓦卢这些小岛国家而言,其经常处于前线并为气候变化付出代价。由于不断上升的水位导致其土地持续减少,扭转气候变化并获得资金对图瓦卢的人民而言是一个关乎存亡的问题。

很多此等小岛国家希望在COP26上为气候变化所蒙受的“损失及损害”获得赔偿,但是,最后的协议并没有包括补偿发展中国家就其已经及将继续因气候变化而遭受的损失。

4.  中美气候合作

自从去年,中国先宣布其碳峰最高量及碳中和的目标,然后发表不再于国外建设新燃煤发电项目的决定。

在COP26的一项宣布中,中国及美国同意在未来10年推动气候合作,并回顾于2015年的《巴黎协定》中所载的共同努力以实现摄氏1.5度的温度目标的坚定承诺。这反映两国正过渡至绿色及低碳经济。

在于COP26上再次确认应对气候变化的承诺后不久,中国国家主席习近平与美国总统拜登于2021年11月16日进行了首次虚拟会议,双方就中美关系包括就应对气候变化的合作交换了广泛并有建设性的意见。 

要点

减少气候变化在很大程度上取决于世界领袖就履行承诺及平衡其人民的需求的集体努力,特别是在没有正式的机制确保目标及指标将被实现的情况下。总括而言,COP26正朝着正确的方向发展,但仍有很多需进行的工作。

对于商界而言,企业可能需要注意当地政府政策及法规的变化,并及时调整其营运。从好的方面看,这可能产生新的商业机会(例如“绿色”投资及融资),也将为世界带来裨益。

结语

在本文,我们将简要讨论COP26的主要成果,及更重要的是中美就拯救地球环境而展开的合作。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野