EN

3 minute read 24 Dec 2021

ESG series – ESG-related disclosures required from listed companies: a comparison between Hong Kong and the United Kingdom

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

Contributors
3 minute read 24 Dec 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

With the COP26 Climate Change Conference dominating the headlines, there is rising attention to environment, social and governance (“ESG”) issues, in particular climate change. The financial sector has an important role in the transition to a more sustainable future, and disclosure provides the bedrock in the pursuit of a more sustainable economy. 

As a result, there has been growing demand for useful climate-related financial information to be made by listed companies. In this article, we will discuss the latest development in ESG reporting in Hong Kong and the UK. 

Financial Stability Board and its Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures

The Financial Stability Board (“FSB”) is an international body that monitors and makes recommendations about the global financial system. Its membership includes most international financial centres such as Mainland China, Hong Kong, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, the UK and the US, as well as international organizations like the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the International Organization of Securities Commissions and the International Accounting Standards Board.

FSB established the Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (“TCFD”) to develop recommendations for more effective climate-related disclosures that could promote more informed investment, credit, and insurance underwriting decisions. A stronger concern over the financial system’s exposures to climate-related risks will encourage companies to incorporate climate-related risks and opportunities into their risk management and strategic planning processes. As this occurs, investments will be channelled to sustainable and resilient solutions, opportunities, and business models.

TCFD’s 2017 recommendations

In 2017, the TCFD released its recommendations (“TCFD Recommendations”) on climate-related financial disclosures in four areas that represent core elements of how companies operate:

  1. Governance – the company’s governance around climate-related risks and opportunities
  2. Strategy – the actual and potential impacts of climate-related risks and opportunities on the company’s businesses, strategy, and financial planning where such information is material
  3. Risk Management – how the company identifies, assesses, and manages climate-related risks
  4. Metrics and Targets – the metrics and targets used to assess and manage relevant climate-related risks and opportunities where such information is material

Hong Kong’s ESG Reporting Guide under the Listing Rules

In Hong Kong, the ESG reporting obligations applicable to listed companies were updated to incorporate the elements of the TCFD Recommendations, and the latest requirements took effect for financial years beginning on or after 1 July 2020. Listed companies are required to make disclosures in annual ESG reports on ESG aspects, including but not limited to climate-related issues. The Hong Kong Stock Exchange has provided an ESG Reporting Guide[1] in the Listing Rules to assist corporations to map their disclosures.

It is essential to disclose (i) the board’s oversight of ESG issues, (ii) the management approach and strategy, including the process used to evaluate, prioritise and manage material ESG-related issues (including risks to the company’s business), and (iii) how the board reviews progress made against ESG-related goals and targets with an explanation of how they relate to the company’s businesses.

The other subject areas covered in the ESG Reporting Guide are “comply or explain” provisions. Each listed company is to make disclosure or explain why a disclosure is not made. While this approach allows flexibility to report on those aspects that are relevant to the company’s business, it helps ensure that the company will address each of the aspects while preparing the ESG report.  The reporting areas include emissions, use of resources, environment and natural resources, employment and labour practices such as health and safety, operating practices including supply chain management and anti-corruption, and community engagement. Notably, there is a specific aspect of climate change as well as some key performance indicators on how significant climate-related issues have impacted or may impact the company and the actions taken to manage such issues.

Non-compliance with the ESG Reporting Guide constitutes a breach of the Listing Rules, which may result in investigations or regulatory responses such as disciplinary actions or issuance of warning or caution letters by the Stock Exchange, depending on the facts and circumstances.

“Guidance on Climate Disclosures” published by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

The Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited published a “Guidance on Climate Disclosures” [2] on 5 November 2021 to provide practical guidance to assist listed companies in complying with the TCFD Recommendations and fulfilling the mandatory reporting requirements under the ESG Reporting Guide. The Guidance targets companies that are yet to develop substantive in-house expertise on climate-related issues and seeks to mitigate the challenges faced by most companies in relation to these issues.

Disclosure obligations by fund managers in Hong Kong

The Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”) issued a circular on 29 June 2021[3] to set out its expectations on SFC-authorized unit trusts and mutual funds which incorporate ESG, climate change and/or sustainability factors (“ESG factors”) as their key investment focus (“ESG Funds”) with a view to improve their comparability, transparency, and visibility. The circular will become effective from 1 January 2022 and re-define ESG Funds and their disclosure and reporting obligations. An ESG Fund must disclose in its offering document information regarding (i) its ESG focus, (ii) its ESG investment strategy, (iii) its expected or minimum proportion of ESG investment in terms of net asset value, (iv) any reference benchmark, and (v) related risks and limitations. The ESG Fund should also conduct periodic assessment of the attainment of its ESG focus at least annually and disclose the result of such assessment to its investors through appropriate means, for example in its annual report. The disclosure should cover how it has attained its ESG focus during the assessment period, the basis of the assessment performed (including any estimations and limitations), and comparison between the current and at least the previous assessment period.

As another initiative, the SFC announced in August 2021 that the Fund Manager Code of Conduct will be amended to require fund managers managing collective investment schemes (“CIS”) to (i) take climate-related risks into consideration in their investment and risk management processes and (ii) make appropriate disclosures. The requirements cover four key elements, namely governance, investment management, risk management and disclosure. Baseline requirements are to be complied with by all those managing CIS, while enhanced standards only apply to fund managers with CIS under management which equal or exceed HK$8 billion (approximately US$1 billion) in fund assets for any three months in the previous reporting year. [4]

The SFC stresses that it will keep abreast of the development of local and international regulations and standards in this area and will refine its requirements and provide further guidance when necessary.

The Companies (Strategic Report) (Climate-related Financial Disclosure) Regulations 2021 of the UK (the “Regulations”)

In the UK, currently only listed companies are required to make climate-related disclosure in their annual reports. The Financial Conduct Authority (“FCA”) made it compulsory for listed UK companies (companies with a premium listing, and companies with a standard listing for financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2022) to disclose on a “comply or explain” basis against the TCFD Recommendations.

On 29 October 2021, the UK announced that the Regulations has been laid before the Houses of Parliament. The proposals contained would amend the Companies Act 2006 and require many of the largest UK companies (including both listed companies and large private companies with more than 500 employees) to disclose climate-related financial information in the non-financial information statement portion of their strategic reports that will be publicly available and accessible to investors and the general public. If passed into law, the Regulations will be effective from 6 April 2022 and companies subject to them will need to comply with the new reporting requirements for accounting periods starting on or after this date.

Although the exact content required is not clear, the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy of the UK has stated that it intends to release more comprehensive guidance before the end of 2021 to assist companies in preparing to implement the Regulations. Further, some useful publications on making disclosures in accordance with the TCFD Recommendations which companies can draw reference to when preparing ahead for the regime have been published, including the London Stock Exchange’s guidance[5] for London-listed companies regarding climate reporting best practices and implementation of the TCFD Recommendations. In line with such recommendations, the following disclosures are likely to be required[6]:

  • Description of the board’s oversight of and the management’s role in assessing and managing climate-related risks and opportunities;
  • Description of the climate-related risks and opportunities that have been identified over the short, medium, and long term, and the impact of the mentioned risks and opportunities on the organisation’s businesses, strategy, and financial planning;
  • Description of the resilience of the organisation’s strategy, taking into consideration the different climate-related scenarios, including a 2°C or lower scenario;
  • Description of the organisation’s processes for identifying and assessing climate-related risks; and
  • Disclosure of the metrics used by the organisation to assess climate-related risks and opportunities in line with its strategy and risk management process.

The new requirements will ensure that the larger corporations consider the risks that they face as a result of climate change and encourage them to set out plans or goals on sustainability and emission reduction. This helps both investors and businesses to better understand the financial impacts of their exposure to climate change, and supports the greening of the UK economy. Through the Regulations, the UK is committed to become the first country in the world to make TCFD-aligned disclosures fully mandatory by 2025, with most requirements in place by 2023, going beyond the “comply or explain” approach.

A comparison in ESG disclosure approaches between Hong Kong and UK

The UK has various existing regulations in place covering ESG aspects that companies must comply with, including the UK Corporate Governance Code, the Climate Change Act, the Modern Slavery Act, the Companies (Directors’ Report) and Limited Liability Partnerships (Energy and Carbon Report) Regulations 2018, etc. In addition, the FCA published a consultation regarding ESG disclosures by asset managers on 3 November 2021[7] that will be open until 7 January 2022, seeking feedback on potential approaches on sustainability disclosure requirements for asset managers and FCA-regulated asset owners.

In respect of ESG disclosures, Hong Kong so far has been focusing on listed companies and certain funds and fund managers. This is probably due to the high proportion of small-medium-sized businesses and their wish to maintain privacy of their performance in financial and other aspects, e.g. private limited companies incorporated in Hong Kong are generally not required to make their audited financial statements available to the public. However, there is an increasing call for the large private companies to tell the public more about their ESG strategies and efforts, especially those in the energy generating or high energy consumption industries.

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group co-chaired by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and the SFC announced in December 2020[8] that it was taking steps to require financial institutions (including banks, asset managers, insurance companies and pension trustees) to enhance climate-related disclosures in line with TCFD Recommendations no later than 2025.

Takeaways

ESG’s importance is increasingly evident as regulators of different jurisdictions and international organizations start rolling out new ESG disclosure requirements for corporates and financial institutions.  We expect that ESG regulations will continue to grow in scope in the coming years. On the other hand, more guidance or even standards will be issued to help overcome issues of disclosure consistency, data relevance and quality and greenwashing attempts.

ESG should be a clear standing item on the board agenda, and companies should be aware of the increasing disclosure standards, heightened regulatory scrutiny and, more importantly, the appeal for making investments in green projects and emission reduction initiatives.

 

Summary

With the COP26 Climate Change Conference dominating the headlines, there is rising attention to ESG issues, in particular climate change. 

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

Contributors

EN

3 分钟 2021年12月24日

环境、社会及企业管治系列 – 上市公司须作出之环境、社会及企业管治相关的披露:香港及英国的比较

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2021年12月24日
Related topics 最新视野

随着COP26气候变化高峰会成为头条新闻,人们对环境、社会和企业管治("ESG")问题,尤其是气候变化问题的关注度不断上升。金融业在向更可持续的未来过渡过程中发挥着重要作用,而披露是追求更可持续的经济的基石。

此,对上市公司提供有用的气候相关之财务信息的需求越来越大。我们将在本文讨论香港及英国在ESG报告方面的最新发展。

金融稳定委员会及其气候相关财务披露工作小组

金融稳定委员会(“FSB”)是一个负责监测全球金融体系并提出建议的国际机构。其成员包括大多数国际金融中心,如中国内地、香港、巴西、加拿大、法国、德国、印度、日本、韩国、俄罗斯、新加坡、南非、英国和美国,以及国际货币基金组织、世界银行、国际证券事务监察委员会组织和国际会计准则委员会等国际组织。

金融稳定委员会成立了气候相关财务披露工作小组(“TCFD”),以提出更有效的财务披露建议,以助人们就投资、信贷及保险承保作出“知情”决策。金融体系对气候相关风险的更大关注将鼓励企业将气候相关的风险及机遇纳入其风险管理及战略规划过程。随后,投资将被吸引到可持续及有弹性的解决方案和相关商业模式,以及用以掌握相关机遇。

TCFD于2017年的建议

2017年,TCFD发布其就公司营运的四个核心元素之气候相关财务信息披露的建议(“TCFD 建议”):

  1. 管治-公司对气候相关风险及机遇的管治情况
  2. 策略-气候相关风险及机遇对公司业务、策略及财务规划的实际及潜在影响(若属重要资料)
  3. 风险管理-公司如何识别、评估及管理气候相关风险
  4. 指标及目标-用于评估及管理气候相关风险及机遇的指标与目标(若属重要资料)。

香港《上市规则》的《环境、社会及管治报告指引》(“ESG报告指引”)

在香港,适用于上市公司的ESG报告义务已经更新,以纳入TCFD建议的内容,而最新的要求于2020年7月1日或之后开始的财政年度生效。上市公司须在ESG年度报告中披露ESG方面的信息,包括但不限于与气候有关的范畴。香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)在《上市规则》中提供了ESG报告指南[1],以协助企业规划其披露内容。

企业必须披露(i)董事会对ESG事宜的监管、(ii)管理方针及策略,包括评估、优次排列及管理重要的ESG相关事宜(包括对公司业务的风险)的过程,及(iii)董事会如何按ESG相关目标检讨进度,并解释与公司业务的关连。

其他于ESG报告指引中涵盖的范畴为“不遵守就解释”条文。每家上市公司须披露或解释不披露的原因。此方法允许灵活地报告与企业业务相关的范畴,亦有助于确保企业于编写ESG报告时正视每一个范畴。报告范畴包括排放物、资源使用、环境及天然资源、雇佣及劳动实践常规, 例如健康与安全、营运惯例,例如供应链管理及反贪污,及社区参与。值得注意的是指引包括专门与气候变化相关的范畴,并要求披露关键绩效指标以说明与气候有关的重大问题如何影响或可能影响公司,及为管理该等问题所采取的行动。

不遵守ESG报告指引构成对《上市规则》的违反,可能会导致调查或监管有所反应,例如纪律处分或由联交所发出警告或告诫信(根据实际情况而定)。

香港交易及结算所有限公司发布的《气候信息披露指引》

2021年11月5日,香港交易及结算所有限公司发布了一项《气候信息披露指引》[2],以促进上市公司遵守TCFD的建议提供实用指引及履行ESG报告指引内的强制披露规定。该指引针对尚未就气候相关议题建立实质内部专门知识的公司,并旨在减轻大多数企业在ESG课题上所面临的挑战。

香港基金管理公司的披露规定

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)于2021年6月29日发出一则公函[3],阐明其对纳入ESG、气候变化及/或可持续发展因素("ESG因素")为主要投资重点的、证监会认可的单位信托及互惠基金("ESG基金")的期望,以提高其可比性、透明度及知名度。该公函将于2022年1月1日生效,并重新定义了ESG基金及其披露和报告义务。ESG基金必须在其发售文件中披露以下信息:(i)其ESG重点、(ii)其ESG投资策略、(iii)其ESG投资的资产净值中的预期或最低比例、(iv)参考基准,以及(v)相关风险及限制。ESG基金还应至少每年对其ESG重点的实现情况进行定期评估,并通过适当的方式向其投资者披露此等评估的结果,例如在其年度报告内。披露内容应涵盖于评估期间如何实现其ESG重点、所进行的评估之基础(包括估计及限制),以及当前及至少前一个评估期的比较。

另一项倡议是证监会于2021年8月发表将透过修订《基金经理操守准则》,规定管理集体投资计划的基金经理(“基金经理”)须(i)在其投资及风险管理流程中考虑气候相关风险,并(ii)作出适当的披露。有关规定涵盖四个要素:管治、投资管理、风险管理及披露。所有基金经理须遵守“基本规定”,而上一个汇报年度内任何三个月所管理的集体投资计划的资产价值相等于或超过80亿港元(大约10亿美元)的基金经理更须遵守“进阶标准”。 [4]

证监会强调其将紧随此领域的本地及国际法规及标准,并将于必要时完善其规定及提供进一步指引。

英国的The Companies((Strategic Report)(Climate-related Financial Disclosure) Regulations 2021(《公司(策略报告)(气候相关披露)条例2021》*)(“条例”)

在英国,现今只有上市公司须就气候相关资料于其年度报告做出披露,Financial Conduct Authority(金融行为监管局*)(“FCA”)规定英国的上市公司(具有优质上市资格的公司、及于2022年1月1日或之后开始的财政年度具有标准上市资格的公司)必须在“不遵守就解释”的基础上按照TCFD建议作出披露。

2021年10月29日,英国宣布该条例已经提交国会上下议院。所载的建议将修订Companies Act 2006(《2006年公司法》*),并要求许多英国最大的公司(包括上市公司及拥有多于500名员工的大型私人公司)在其公开并供投资者和公众查阅的战略报告的非财务信息声明部分披露与气候有关的财务信息。如果通过成为法律,该条例将于2022年4月6日生效,而受该条例约束的公司将需要在该日期或之后开始的会计年度遵守新的报告要求。

虽然所需的确切内容还不清晰,但英国的Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy(商业、能源和产业战略部*)已表示,其打算于2021年底前发布更全面的指引,以协助企业准备实施该条例。此外,一些关于根据TCFD建议进行披露的有用文件已经出版,而企业在为该制度做准备时可以参考,包括伦敦证券交易所为在伦敦上市的公司提供关于气候报告最佳做法及实施TCFD建议的指引[5]。根据这些建议,企业可能需要进行以下披露[6]:

  • 描述董事会对气候相关风险及机遇的监督,以及管理层在评估和管理方面的工作;
  • 描述已经确定的短期、中期及长期的气候相关风险及机遇,以及上述风险及机遇对组织的业务、战略及财务规划的影响;
  • 描述组织战略的复原力,考虑到不同的气候相关情况,包括2℃或更低的情况;
  • 描述组织识别及评估气候相关风险的程序;及
  • 披露该组织根据其战略及风险管理流程,用于评估气候相关风险及机遇的指标。

新规定将确保大型企业必须考虑其因气候变化而面临的风险,并鼓励其制定关于可持续性及减排的计划或目标。这有助于投资者及企业更好地了解其面临的气候变化的财务影响,并支持英国经济的绿色化。通过该条例,英国致力于成为世界上第一个于2025年前将与TCFD一致的披露完全强制化的国家,大部分要求于2023年前到位,超越了 "不遵守就解释 "的方法。

香港及英国的ESG披露方针的比较

英国有数项涵盖ESG范畴而企业须遵守的现行法规,包括UK Corporate Governance Code(《英国企业管治守则》*)、Climate Change Act(《气候变化法》*)、Modern Slavery Act(《现代奴役法》*)、Companies (Directors’ Report) and Limited Liability Partnerships (Energy and Carbon Report) Regulations 2018(《公司(董事报告)及有限责任合伙企业(能源及碳报告)条例2018》*)等。此外,FCA在2021年11月3日[7]发布了资产管理公司有关ESG报告的公众咨询,咨询期到2022年1月7日为止,就资产管理公司及受FCA监管的资产所有者的可持续性披露要求的方法征求反馈意见。

在ESG披露方面,香港现时着重于上市公司及某些基金及基金管理公司。这可能由于中小型企业的比例较高,以及企业希望保持其在财务和其他方面的隐私,例如在香港注册的私人有限公司一般不需要向公众提供其审计的财务报表。然而,越来越多人士要求大型私营公司向公众更全面地介绍其ESG战略和努力,尤其是能源生产或高耗能行业的公司。

由香港金融管理局和证监会共同领导的“绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组”于2020年12月[8] 宣布采取措施要求金融机构(包括银行、资产管理公司、保险公司及退休金受托人)最迟于2025年按照TCFD建议加强气候相关资料的披露。

要点

随着不同司法管辖区的监管机构及国际组织开始对企业及金融机构推出新的ESG披露要求,ESG的重要性日益明显。我们预计ESG法规在未来几年将继续扩大范围。另一方面,更多的指引甚至标准亦出台,以帮助解决披露的一致性、数据的相关性及质量,以及“洗绿”企图等问题。

ESG应该是董事会议程上一个明确的常设项目,企业应意识到需不断提高披露标准、加强监管审查,及更重要的是意识到绿色项目及减排倡议投资的吸引力。

(注有“*”的中文名称只是作者为方便读者阅读的翻译,正确名称以相关英文正名为准。)

笔者在此感谢陈颖漩见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

随着COP26气候变化高峰会成为头条新闻,人们对环境、社会和企业管治问题,尤其是气候变化问题的关注度不断上升。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野