EN

3 minute read 20 Dec 2021

ESG Series - SFC Circular on ESG Funds to become effective on 1 January 2022

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Ricky Ho

Associate

Direct: +852 2629 1713 | Mobile: +852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 20 Dec 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

On 29 June 2021, the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) issued a circular[1] to set out its expectations on SFC-authorized unit trusts and mutual funds which incorporate environmental, social and governance (“ESG”), climate change and/or sustainability factors (“ESG factors”) as their key investment focus (“ESG Funds”) with a view to improve their comparability, transparency, and visibility (the “Circular”).

From 1 January 2022, the Circular will become effective and supersede an earlier circular issued by the SFC in April 2019 (the “2019 Circular”). In this article, we will revisit the applicability of the Circular and the key enhanced disclosure and reporting requirements imposed under it.

Which type of funds does the Circular apply to?

The Circular applies to ESG funds, which are defined to be SFC-authorized funds which incorporate ESG factors as their key investment focus and which reflect such focus in their investment objectives and/or strategies.

Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities (also known as UCITS) will also fall within the scope of the Circular if they incorporate ESG factors as their key investment focus and which reflect such focus in their investment objectives and/or strategies. However, they will be deemed to have complied with the requirements imposed under the Circular if they meet the disclosure and reporting requirements applicable to Article 8 or Article 9 funds under the European regulation on sustainability-related disclosures in the financial services sectors.

The SFC maintains a publicly accessible central database of all ESG Funds, including UCITS ESG Funds, on its website[2] (the “Database”). Key features of all ESG Funds will be listed in the Database after the Circular becomes effective to increase transparency.

Name of fund

The name of a fund or a product shall not be misleading. For an ESG Fund, the reference to ESG or similar terms in its name should accurately and proportionately reflect the ESG features but not to overstate such features. A fund which is not an ESG Fund should not carry a name or market itself as an ESG Fund, except with the SFC’s permission which may be granted on a case-by-case basis.

What are the enhanced disclosure requirements?

Pursuant to Code 6.1 of the Code on Unit Trusts and Mutual Funds issued by the SFC in January 2019, an offering document should contain sufficient information to allow investors to make informed investment decisions. 

Following such principle, the Circular requires an ESG Fund to disclose in its offering document information regarding (i) its ESG focus, (ii) its ESG investment strategy, (iii) its expected or minimum proportion of ESG investment in terms of net asset value, (iv) any reference benchmark, and (v) related risks and limitations.

An ESG Fund is also required to describe the following information on the offering documents, its website or through other means:

  1. how its ESG focus is measured and monitored through its lifecycle; 
  2. methodology for measuring its ESG focus and its attainment of the same;
  3. due diligence carried out in respect of the ESG-related attributes of its assets;
  4. any engagement policies, including proxy voting policies; and
  5. sources and processing of ESG data or assumptions made where no such data is available.

Such information should be reviewed and updated from time to time in order to ensure accuracy.

Periodic assessment and reporting requirements 

The Circular requires an ESG Fund to conduct periodic assessment of the attainment of its ESG focus at least annually and disclose the result of such assessment to its investors through appropriate means, for example in its annual report. The disclosure should cover how it has attained its ESG focus during the assessment period, the basis of the assessment performed (including any estimations and limitations), and comparison between the current and at least the previous assessment period.

Fund managers’ duty to monitor ESG Funds on an ongoing basis 

The Circular requires the fund manager of an ESG Fund to monitor and evaluate investments made by the ESG Fund to ensure that its ESG focus is achieved and the Circular is complied with. If an ESG Fund ceases to pursue an ESG focus, the fund manager must inform investors and the SFC as soon as practicable.

Additional guidance for climate funds 

The Circular provides additional guidance for ESG Funds with a climate-related focus. The following economic activities are given as examples of a climate-related focus:

  1. contribute to climate change mitigation or adaptation;
  2. seek lower carbon footprint as compared to reference benchmark;
  3. contribute to reduction of greenhouse gas emission;
  4. achieve positive impact to mitigate or adapt to climate change; or
  5. facilitate transition to a low carbon economy.

The Circular also gives examples on climate-related indicators, disclosures of designated climate benchmarks, and methodologies of measuring climate indicators.

Consequence of failing to comply with the Circular

If an ESG Fund fails to meet the requirements imposed under the Circular, it will be removed from the Database.  More importantly, the SFC may take appropriate regulatory actions against it for compliance breaches, such as failure to meet the investment objective and/or strategy stated in its offering documents.

Next step

The Circular will take effect and supersede the 2019 Circular on 1 January 2022 (the “Effective Date”). Existing ESG Funds (i.e. those that are already listed on the Database) should review their current disclosures and make any necessary updates and revisions by the Effective Date. Applications for new ESG Funds should comply with the requirements under the Circular from the Effective Date, including the submission of a confirmation of compliance. 

Going forward, ESG will gain increasing attention.  It is likely that more applications for ESG Funds will be made in the future. However, fund managers should ensure its staff and management receive the necessary training for understanding the enhanced disclosure requirements set out in the Circular. The SFC may take any breach of the Circular by an ESG Fund seriously in order to combat greenwashing.

The author would like to thank Ms. Cici Ng (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

On 29 June 2021, the SFC issued a circular to set out its expectations ESG funds with a view to improve their comparability, transparency, and visibility.

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Ricky Ho

Associate

Direct: +852 2629 1713 | Mobile: +852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

EN

3 分钟 2021年12月20日

环境、社会及企业管治系列 — 证监会关于ESG基金的通函将于2022年1月1日生效

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2021年12月20日
Related topics 最新视野

证券及期货事务监察委员会("证监会")于2021年6月29日发布通函[1],设定对纳入环境、社会和治理("ESG")、气候变化和/或可持续性因素("ESG因素")作为主要投资重点的证监会认可单位信托基金和互惠基金("ESG基金")的预期,以提高其可比性、透明度和可见度("该通函")。

2022年1月1日起,该通函将生效并取代证监会先前于2019年4月发布的通函("2019年通函")。这篇文章将重新审视该通函的适用性,以及其主要规定的加强披露及报告要求。

该通函适用于哪些类型的基金?

该通函适用于ESG基金,即视ESG因素为其主要投资重点并在其投资目标和/或战略中反映该投资重点的证监会认可基金。

该通函已适用于视ESG因素为其主要投资重点并在其投资目标和/或战略中反映该投资重点的欧盟可转让证券集合投资计划(亦称为UCITS),但是如果其符合欧洲《金融服务部门可持续性相关披露条例》(Regulation on sustainability-related disclosure in the financial services sector)中适用于第8条或第9条基金的披露和报告要求,其将被视为已遵守该通函规定的要求。

证监会在其网站上建立了一个关于所有ESG基金(包括UCITS ESG基金)的公共中央数据库("该数据库")。该通函生效后,该数据库将列出所有ESG基金的主要特征,以提高透明度。

基金名称

基金或产品的名称不应具有误导性。就ESG基金而言,其名称中对ESG或类似术语的提及应准确和相称地反映ESG特征,但不得夸大该等特征。不属于ESG基金的基金不应使用ESG基金的名称或以ESG基金的名义进行营销,除非得到证监会根据具体情况给予的许可。

加强披露要求包含什么?

根据证监会于2019年1月发布的《单位信托及互惠基金守则》第6.1条,销售文件应载有足以使投资人士可以在掌握充分数据的情况下作出投资决定的数据。

根据上述原则,该通函要求ESG基金在其销售文件中披露以下信息:(i)ESG重点;(ii)ESG投资策略;(iii)就资产净值而言,预期或最低的ESG投资比例;(iv)任何参考基准;以及(v)相关风险和限制。

ESG基金亦需要在其销售文件中、网站上或通过其他方式描述以下信息:

  1. 如何在生命周期内衡量和监测其ESG重点;
  2. 衡量其ESG重点及实现情况的方法;
  3. 对其资产与ESG相关的属性进行的尽职调查;
  4. 任何参与政策,包括代理投票政策;及
  5. ESG数据的来源和处理或在没有此类数据的情况下做出的假设。

ESG基金应不时地审查和更新上列信息,以确保准确性。

定期评估和报告的要求

该通函要求ESG基金至少每年对其ESG重点的实现情况进行定期评估,并通过适当的方式(如在年度报告中)向其投资者披露评估结果。披露内容应包括在评估期间内实现其ESG重点的方式、评估基础(包括任何估计和限制),以及当前和至少前一个评估期间的比较。

基金经理对ESG基金进行持续监测的责任

该通函要求ESG基金的基金经理监测和评估该ESG基金作出的投资,以确保其ESG重点得到实现,而且其遵守该通函的规定。如果ESG基金停止追求ESG重点,基金经理必须在可行的情况下尽快通知投资者和证监会。

对气候基金的额外指引

该通函为视气候因素为投资重点的ESG基金提供额外指引。下列与气候重点有关的经济活动的例子:

  1. 有助于减缓或适应气候变化;
  2. 与参考基准相比,寻求较低的碳足迹;
  3. 有助于减少温室气体排放;
  4. 对减缓或适应气候变化产生积极影响;或
  5. 促进向低碳经济过渡。

该通函亦提供了气候相关指标、指定气候基准的披露,以及衡量气候指标的方法的例子。

未能遵守该通函的后果

如果ESG基金未能遵守该通函规定的要求,其将不再属于该数据库。更重要的是,证监会可能对其违规行为(例如未能达到其销售文件中所述的投资目标和/或战略)采取适当的监管行动。

下一步

该通函将于2022年1月1日生效,并将取代2019年通函("生效日期")。现有的ESG基金(即已被列入该数据库的基金)应审查其目前的披露,并在生效日期前作出任何必要的更新和修订。新ESG基金的申请应从生效日期起遵守该通函的要求,包括提交合规确认书。

展望未来,ESG将获得越来越多的关注。 未来可能会有更多的ESG基金的申请。但是,基金经理应确保其员工和管理层接受必要的培训,以了解通函中规定的加强披露要求。证监会可能会认真对待ESG基金的任何违规行为,以打击“漂绿”行为。

笔者在此感谢吴颖思见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

证监会于2021年6月发布通函,设定对纳入环境、社会和治理、气候变化和/或可持续性因素作为主要投资重点的证监会认可单位信托基金和互惠基金的预期。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野