EN

6 minute read 8 Jul 2021

Hong Kong Stock Exchange enhances the disciplinary regime under the Listing Rules

Authors
Cathy Chan

Senior Associate

Cathy Chan, a Senior Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Compliance.

Lynndy Jia

Legal Manager

Lynndy Jia, a Legal Manager of LC Lawyers LLP, focuses on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions.

6 minute read 8 Jul 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

On 20 May 2021, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Stock Exchange”) published its conclusions (the “Conclusion”) to its consultation paper on proposed changes to disciplinary powers and sanctions under the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Main Board Rules”) and the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on GEM (the “GEM Rules”, together with Main Board Rules as the “Listing Rules” ) which was published on 7 August 2020 (the “Consultation Paper”). 

The Stock Exchange will adopt all the proposals set out in the Consultation Paper, with one minor modification by adding a new note to the new Listing Rules. In summary, the main changes to the Listing Rules  include: 

Enhancements to Existing Disciplinary Sanctions and Adoption of a New Sanction

Main Board Rules 2A.09 and 2A.10 of the Listing Rules and GEM Rules 3.10 and 3.11 of the GEM Rules set out the current sanction regime of the Stock Exchange, which includes (i) reputational sanctions (e.g., private reprimand, public statement involving criticism, public censure and a public statement that the retention of office by the director is prejudicial to the interests of investors (“PII Statement”), (ii) rectification or remedial sanctions, (iii) denial of facilities of the market, (iv) suspension or cancellation of listing and (v) ancillary or operational sanctions such as imposing a ban on professional advisers or their employees from representing a specified party in relation to matters coming before the Listing Division or the Listing Committee.

The Stock Exchange retained all the existing sanctions with the following enhancements and adoption of a new sanction:

In the event an individual who is subject to a PII Statement continues to occupy the position specified in the statement after such date as determined or specified by the Listing Committee or the Listing Review Committee, follow-on actions will be triggered which include the denial of facilities of the market to that listed issuer for a specific period, in addition to suspension or cancellation of the listing of that listed issuer’s securities under the Listing Rules.

After a PII Statement with follow-on actions has been made against an individual, the listed issuer identified in the statement must include a reference to the PII Statement in all of its announcements and corporate communications, unless and until that individual is no longer a director or senior management member of the relevant listed issuer. The other listed issuers of which the individual is a director are required to announce the PII Statement as soon as practicable. Any other listed issuers which appoint the individual as a director are required to disclose in the appointment announcement that the director is subject to a PII Statement.

The follow-on actions and the publication requirement in respect of the PII Statement above also apply in respect of a case of Director Unsuitability Statement, however, only against the listed issuer named in the statement and will not automatically apply to other listed issuers of which the individual continues to hold office of a director. Instead, the Stock Exchange may take separate and independent action in relation to that listed issuer and the director.

Introduction of Secondary Liability

Under the Listing Rules, the Relevant PartiesNote(2) are subject to disciplinary sanctions. However, the Listing Rules do not impose any obligation on some of the existing Relevant Parties (i.e. senior management of listed issuers and their subsidiaries, and significant shareholders). In addition, the Listing Rules do not impose secondary liability for breach of Listing Rules, i.e. the responsibility of a person or entity which arises when the party directly liable fails to discharge an obligation. To impose disciplinary action against the Relevant Parties, the Stock Exchange has introduced secondary liability for breach of the Listing Rules where the Stock Exchange determines the person has caused by action or omission or knowingly participated in a contravention of the Listing Rules.

New parties included within “Relevant Parties”

The Stock Exchange has decided to include following new parties within the scope of “Relevant Parties” under both Main Board Rules and GEM Rules:

  1. employees of a professional adviser of a listed issuer or any of its subsidiaries;
  2. guarantors of structured products; and
  3. a party who provides an undertaking to or who enters into an agreement with the Stock Exchange, such as an offeror in a mandatory offer who may give an undertaking to the Stock Exchange to take appropriate steps to ensure that sufficient public float in the shares exists after the offer closes.

Pursuant to GEM Rule 3.11(i), guarantors for an issue of debt securities also falls under the definition of “Relevant Parties” under the GEM Rules, but not the Main Board Rules. To align the list of Relevant Parties under the Main Board Rules and GEM Rules, the Stock Exchange has included guarantors for an issue of debt securities as a Relevant Party under the Main Board Rules.

Removal of independent financial advisers as a standalone Relevant Party

Pursuant to Main Board Rule 2A.10(j), “independent financial advisers” of a listed issuer is an existing Relevant Party under the Main Board Listing Rules but not the GEM Rules. The Stock Exchange removed independent financial advisers as a separate Relevant Party for disciplinary action but made it clear that the term “professional advisers” includes independent financial advisers.

Additional circumstances where disciplinary sanctions can be imposed

New provisions have been introduced to explicitly (i) permit the Stock Exchange to impose sanctions on Relevant Parties in circumstances where they have failed to comply with a requirement imposed by the Listing Division or the Listing Committee; and (ii) provide in the Listing Rules the obligation to provide accurate, complete and up-to-date information when responding to the enquiries or investigations from the Stock Exchange. Disciplinary action may be taken by the Stock Exchange where these obligations are not properly discharged.

Conclusion

Through implementation of the new Listing Rules, the Stock Exchange will strengthen its powers to impose disciplinary sanctions on individuals responsible for misconduct and breaches of the Listing Rules, to protect the integrity of the markets and the investing public, as well as to promote strong corporate governance and deter misconduct. The amendments to the Listing Rules set out in the Conclusion have come into effect on 3 July 2021. 

Notes:

  1. A definition of “senior management” has been introduced by the Stock Exchange for disciplinary purpose, which include:
    • any person occupying the position of chief executive, supervisor, company secretary, chief operating officer or chief financial officer, by whatever name called;
    • any person who performs managerial functions under the directors’ immediate authority; or
    • any person referred to as senior management in the listed issuer’s corporate communication or any other publications on the Stock Exchange’s website or on the listed issuers’ website.
  2. Before the amendments set out in the Conclusion coming into effect, under the Main Board Rule 2A.10 and GEM Rule 3.11, the original definition of “Relevant Parties” include:
    • a listed issuer or any of its subsidiaries;
    • any director of a listed issuer or any of its subsidiaries (or any alternate of such director);
    • any member of senior management of a listed issuer or any of its subsidiaries;
    • any substantial shareholder of a listed issuer;
    • any significant shareholder (for GEM Rule only (GEM Rule 3.11(e)));
    • any professional adviser of a listed issuer or any of its subsidiaries;
    • any authorized representative of a listed issuer;
    • any supervisor of a PRC issuer;
    • any independent financial adviser of a listed issuer; and
    • the guarantor of an issuer in the case of a guaranteed issue of debt securities (for GEM Rule only (GEM Rule 3.11(i))).

Summary

Through implementation of the new Listing Rules, the Stock Exchange will strengthen its powers to impose disciplinary sanctions on individuals responsible for misconduct and breaches of the Listing Rules, to protect the integrity of the markets and the investing public, as well as to promote strong corporate governance and deter misconduct. The amendments to the Listing Rules set out in the Conclusion have come into effect on 3 July 2021. 

About this article

Authors
Cathy Chan

Senior Associate

Cathy Chan, a Senior Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Compliance.

Lynndy Jia

Legal Manager

Lynndy Jia, a Legal Manager of LC Lawyers LLP, focuses on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions.

Related topics Our latest thinking
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

EN

6 分钟 2021年7月8日

香港交易所加强上市规则下的纪律机制

作者
陈燕婷 Cathy Chan

资深律师

陈燕婷是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的资深律师。陈律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购、公司合规。

贾春晖 Lynndy Jia

法律经理

贾春晖是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的法律经理。贾春晖的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购。

6 分钟 2021年7月8日
Related topics 最新视野

2021年5月20日,香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)就其于2020年8月7日发表的有关针对《香港联合交易所有限公司证券上市规则》(“主板规则”)及香港联合交易所有限公司GEM证券上市规则(“GEM规则”,与主板规则统称“上市规则”)下有关纪律处分权力及制裁的建议修改的咨询文件(“咨询文件”)发表其结论(“结论”)。

交所将采纳咨询文件中的所有建议,而仅作出了一处细微修改,即针对新的上市规则增加了一个新的附注。上市规则的主要修改概述为以下几项:

 

加强现行纪律制裁及采纳一项新制裁

主板规则第 2A.09及2A.10 条和GEM规则第3.10及3.11条列明了联交所的现行制裁机制,包括(i)声誉性制裁(例如:私下指责、载有批评的公开声明、公开谴责以及公开声明表示该董事留任将有损投资者权益(“损害投资者权益声明”);(ii)修正或补救性制裁;(iii)禁止使用市场设施;(iv)停牌或取消上市地位;及(v)附带或操作层面上的制裁,例如禁止专业顾问或其雇员在上市科或上市委员会前就有关事宜代表某指定一方。

联交所保留所有现行制裁,并作出以下加强措施及采用一项新的制裁。

如果被发出损害投资者权益声明的人士在上市委员会或上市覆核委员会决定和指定的日期之后仍留任声明中所述职位,联交所将立即采取跟进行动,包括除可按上市规则现有规定将上市发行人的证券或其任何类别证券停牌或取消其上市地位外,指令在指定期间禁止该上市发行人使用市场设施。

在联交所针对个别人士作出附带跟进行动的损害投资者权益声明后,声明中所述的上市发行人的所有公告和公司通讯中均必须提及损害投资者权益声明,除非及直至该人士不再是该相关上市发行人的董事或高级管理阶层成员为止。如有关人士还担任其他上市发行人的董事,则该等上市发行人必须在切实可行的范围内尽快公布损害投资者权益声明。任何其他委任该人士为董事的上市发行人均须在委任公告中披露该董事被联交所发出损害投资者权益声明。

有关损害投资者权益声明的跟进行动及公布规定亦同样适用于董事不适合性声明,但只适用于声明中所述上市发行人,而不会自动适用于该人士继续担任董事的另一上市发行人。不过,联交所可能会就该上市发行人及该董事另外采取行动。

引入间接责任

根据上市规则,相关人士附注(2)有机会要受纪律制裁,但是,上市规则并没有对部分现有相关人士(即上市发行人及其附属公司的高级管理阶层以及高持股量股东)施加任何责任。此外,现行上市规则并未就违反其规定施加间接责任(即有直接责任的人士未有履行责任而导致个别人士或实体须承担的责任)。为向相关人士施加纪律制裁行动,联交所引入了违反上市规则的间接责任,即若联交所认为有关人士因其作为或不作为导致违反上市规则或在知情的情况下参与违反上市规则的行为,所有相关人士均须就违反上市规则承担间接责任。

“相关人士”所包括的新的各方

联交所决定将下列各方纳入主板规则及GEM规则下“相关人士”的范畴:

  1. 上市发行人或其任何附属公司的专业顾问的雇员;
  2. 结构性产品的担保人;及
  3. 向联交所作出承诺或与联交所订立协议的有关方,例如可能向联交所承诺会采取适当步骤确保要约结束后股份会有足够的公众持股量的强制性要约的要约人。

根据GEM规则第3.11(i)条,发行债务证券的担保人现时属于GEM 规则“相关人士”的范围,但在主板规则下则不是。为使主板规则及GEM规则下相关人士的名单划一,联交所将发行债务证券的担保人也纳入主板规则下相关人士的范畴。

取消独立财务顾问自成另外一类的相关人士

根据主板规则第2A.10(j)条,上市发行人的“独立财务顾问”现时在主板规则下为相关人士,但在GEM规则下则不是。就纪律行动而言,联交所取消了独立财务顾问自成另外一类相关人士的规定,但清晰列明了“专业顾问”一词已包括独立财务顾问。

可施加纪律制裁的其他情况

引入新的条文以明确(1)允许联交所就相关人士未能遵守由上市科或上市委员会施加的要求的情况下施加制裁;及(2)规定任何人士回应联交所的查询或调查时,均有责任提供准确、完备及最新的资料。若任何人士未妥善履行有关责任,联交所即可对其采取纪律行动。

结语

通过实施新的上市规则,联交所将加强其权力,对有不当行为及违反上市规则的个人实施纪律制裁,以保障公众以及联交所辖下市场及设施的持正操作,促进有效的企业管治及遏止不当行为。结论中列出的上市规则的修订已于2021年7月3日生效。 

附注:

  1. 交所为纪律目的引入关于“高级管理阶层”的定义,其包括:
    •  担任行政总裁、监事、公司秘书、营运总监或财务总监的任何人士 (不论以任何职称担任);
    • 在董事直接权限下执行管理职能的任何人士;或
    • 任何于联交所网站或上市发行人的网站登载的公司通讯或其他资料中被指为高级管理阶层成员。
  2. 于结论中载列之修改生效前,根据主板规则第2A.10条及GEM规则第3.11条,原“相关人士”定义包括:
    • 上市发行人或其任何附属公司;
    • 上市发行人或其任何附属公司的任何董事(或其替任人);
    • 上市发行人或其任何附属公司的任何高级管理阶层成员;
    • 上市发行人的任何主要股东;
    • 任何高持股量股东(仅适用于GEM规则(GEM规则第 3.11(e)条));
    • 上市发行人或其任何附属公司的任何专业顾问;
    • 上市发行人的任何授权代表;
    • 中国内地发行人的任何监事;
    • 上市发行人的任何独立财务顾问;及
    • (于有担保的债务证券发行时)发行人的担保人(仅适用于GEM规则(GEM规则第 3.11(i)条))。 

结语

通过实施新的上市规则,联交所将加强其权力,对有不当行为及违反上市规则的个人实施纪律制裁,以保障公众以及联交所辖下市场及设施的持正操作,促进有效的企业管治及遏止不当行为。结论中列出的上市规则的修订已于2021年7月3日生效。 

关于本文

作者
陈燕婷 Cathy Chan

资深律师

陈燕婷是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的资深律师。陈律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购、公司合规。

贾春晖 Lynndy Jia

法律经理

贾春晖是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的法律经理。贾春晖的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购。

Related topics 最新视野