EN

7 minute read 7 Jun 2021

A sign of things to come: Hong Kong competition enforcement developments and trends

Authors
Kareena Teh

Partner

Kareena Teh, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the dispute resolution sector. She also advises on governance and compliance matters.

Catherine Wong

Associate

Catherine Wong, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on dispute resolution and compliance and investigations.

7 minute read 7 Jun 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

The Competition Ordinance, Cap. 619 (the Ordinance) came into full force in December 2015, and prohibits three types of conduct, including anti-competitive conduct covered by the first conduct rule, abuse of substantial market power covered by the second conduct rule and mergers in the telecommunications sector covered by the merger rule (collectively, the Competition Rules). 

In the last five years, the Competition Commission (the Commission) has employed various tools in promoting competition, providing clarity to businesses, and taking action for breaches of the Competition Rules. There have been four enforcement decisions on the first conduct rule of precedential value, with further enforcement actions, including one on the second conduct rule pending. Further investigations and enforcement actions will also be forthcoming - the Commission has as at the end of January 2021 received over 4,700 complaints and enquiries relating to a wide variety of sectors, with around 30% of the complaints and enquiries being about alleged cartel conduct covered by the first conduct rule[1], and over 17% being about the second conduct rule.[2]

In this publication, we present an overview of the Commission’s recent enforcement activities, highlight key developments pertaining to the Commission’s enforcement approach and practical tips for businesses in the future.

Competition Enforcement "Firsts"

2020 has been a significant year for the competition regime in Hong Kong, with many “firsts” resulting from the Commission’s enforcement activities:

  • The Competition Tribunal (the Tribunal) handed down its first decision on pecuniary penalties.
  • The Tribunal handed down its first disqualification order against a director who had reasonable grounds to suspect that his company was taking part in anti-competitive conduct and did not take any steps to prevent it.
  • The Tribunal approved for the first time an application for an order by consent made by the Commission and some of the respondents.
  • The Commission accepted the first ever successful leniency application.

Notably, all these “firsts” relate to enforcement actions relating to the first conduct rule, and provide important precedents for dealing with anti-competition investigations and enforcement actions, and guidelines for navigating the Competition Rules.

We set out below a summary of these four decisions, highlighting the significance of each decision and key takeaways.

Competition Commission v W Hing Construction Company & others [2020] HKCT 1

Ten contractors contravened the first conduct rule by participating in a market sharing and price fixing arrangement while providing decoration work to individual tenants in a public housing estate. The contractors agreed to allocate floors in the estate among themselves and to only approach and accept work from tenants according to the agreed allocation. They also agreed to jointly produce flyers with pre-agreed prices for standardized decoration packages.

The Tribunal confirmed that the primary sanction for enforcement cases before the Tribunal is pecuniary penalty, and the Tribunal also has power to make a wide range of other orders specified in Schedule 3(1) to the Ordinance, as well as disqualification orders under Division 5. In this case, the Tribunal imposed a total fine of HK$3.97 million. In assessing pecuniary penalties on the contractors, the Tribunal adopted a 4-step approach, which involved (a) determining the base amount; (b) adjusting the base amount for aggravating, mitigating and other factors; (c) applying the statutory cap of 10% of the turnover of the undertaking involved in which the contravention occurred; and (d) applying cooperation reductions and consideration of plea of inability to pay.[3]

Insofar as costs is concerned, the Tribunal held that competition law proceedings fall within the civil scheme of proceedings and therefore the civil approach of allowing costs of the proceedings to follow the event should be applied, albeit where pecuniary penalties are sought the infringement has to be proved beyond reasonable doubt.

The Tribunal’s approach in deciding this case provides useful guidance for assessing and determining the amount of pecuniary penalty and costs for future cases brought by the Commission.

Competition Commission v Kam Kwong Engineering Company Ltd and others [2020] HKCT 3

Three companies were involved in making and giving effect to a market sharing agreement in relation to provision of renovation services at a housing estate, in contravention of the first conduct rule. They entered into an arrangement to allocate potential customers, exchanged information and coordinated the content and price of the standard decoration packages on offer.[4] Two individuals employed by these companies were allegedly involved in the three companies' contraventions.

The Commission and three of the five respondents reached a settlement and made a joint application to the Tribunal in accordance with Rule 39 of the Competition Tribunal Rules to dispose of the proceedings against those respondents.  The Tribunal held that the Carecraft procedure, whereby the Tribunal is confined to the facts set out in a statement of agreed facts, should be adopted when determining consensual applications, and found that there had been a contravention of the Competition Rules based on the agreed facts and had to decide on the appropriate sanctions to be ordered.  

The decision determining the liability of the other respondents as well as appropriate sanctions for them is still pending as of the date of this publication.

This case shows that the Commission is prepared to resolve investigations and enforcement actions expeditiously against respondents who are willing to admit liability, and companies are encouraged to actively communicate with the Commission throughout the investigation process and consider admission of liability at an early stage in return for leniency. 

Competition Commission v Fungs E&M Engineering Company Limited and others [2020] HKCT 9

This case also involves anti-competitive price fixing and customer allocation conduct in relation to renovation work at a housing estate. Utilizing the Carecraft procedure approved for use in competition law proceedings in the case of Kam Kwong Engineering Company, the Tribunal imposed pecuniary penalties of more than HK$200,000 on each of the contractors and individuals involved, applying the four-step approach adopted in W Hing Construction Company.

A director of one of the contractors was also disqualified for 22 months, reduced by 2 months because on his early admission of liability, for failing to take steps to prevent the anti-competitive conduct even though he had reasonable grounds to suspect that his company was taking part in such conduct. While the director did not know of or participate in the contravention, the Commission had already commenced investigating the company at the time when the alleged conduct took place.[5] The Tribunal found him to be unfit for the management of the company.

Directors and senior management of companies should take heed of this case as it illustrates the importance of staying vigilant and taking pro-active steps to ensure that their companies do not engage in anti-competitive conduct.

Competition Commission v Quantr Limited & Cheung Man Kit [2020] HKCT 10

The Commission issued its first infringement notices to Quantr Limited and Nintex Proprietary Limited for exchanging future price sensitive information in a bidding exercise and acting on this information, in breach of the first conduct rule. Proceedings were brought against Quantr Limited and its director who was involved in the contravention, and following agreement with the Commission, the proceedings were disposed of using the Carecraft procedure. They were ordered to pay a pecuniary penalty and costs of the proceedings. Following the approach in W Hing Construction Company, the Tribunal considered that the proposed penalty of HK$37,702.26 against Quantr Limited was appropriate. Owing to the special circumstance of the case where the director was the sole director and shareholder of Quantr Limited, the Tribunal agreed to stay its proceedings against him for a pecuniary penalty.[6]  

The cartel conduct in question was brought to the Commission’s attention by a co-bidder, who successfully applied for leniency for the first time, [7] and Nintex, which made commitments to comply with the requirements imposed by the Commission, was not prosecuted.  

This case illustrates the Commission’s commitment to granting immunity to businesses that voluntarily report cartel conduct, and cooperate in the bringing of proceedings against other parties to the cartel and leniency to businesses that cooperate with its investigations.

Enforcement of the second conduct rule has begun

In December 2020, the Commission filed its first case in the Tribunal involving contravention of the second conduct rule against a substantial medical gases supply company for abusing its substantial degree of market power in Hong Kong. It is alleged that the company ceased or limited supply of medical gases to the only other potential medical gas pipeline system maintenance service provider for public hospitals between 2015 and 2018 by various exclusionary acts such as unjustifiably denying supply and imposing unreasonable trading terms.[8] The case is still pending, but this marks a milestone for Hong Kong’s competition regime and demonstrates the Commission’s ongoing commitment to take enforcement action against all types of anti-competition conduct that harm competition in Hong Kong.

Enforcement trends

As can be seen from the above, the Commission has initiated enforcement action against companies across different sectors, ranging from information technology (IT), construction, publishing and medical.

The first enforcement action under the Ordinance was brought against IT equipment suppliers, distributors and resellers for bid-rigging[9], and in January 2020 the Commission filed the Quantr case involving IT cartel conduct with the Tribunal. The Commission has also taken enforcement action against companies in the construction sector, evident in the cases of W Hing Construction Company, Kam Kwong Engineering Company and Fungs E&M Engineering Company mentioned above, and the sanctions imposed were not only limited to companies but also individuals involved in their management.

In early 2020, the Commission conducted an investigation in relation to suspected anti-competitive conduct by online travel agents relating to certain terms of the agreements with Hong Kong accommodation providers.[10] In February 2021, infringement notices were issued against six hotel groups and a tour counter operator for facilitating a price-fixing cartel.[11]  This was the first time the Commission pursued facilitators of cartel conduct, sending a warning to third parties facilitating anti-competitive conduct that they (and not only the cartelist) will also be held accountable and liable for breaching the Competition Rules.[12]

The Commission has also commenced proceedings in the Tribunal against three companies in the publishing sector, alleging that they have contravened the first conduct rule by engaging in cartel conduct in the sale of textbooks to primary and secondary school students in Hong Kong.[13] These arrangements were made prior to the implementation of the Ordinance, but continued after the Ordinance came into effect in December 2015. This case shows that the Commission will investigate and take action in relation to any agreements that breach the Competition Rules, as long as they continued after the Ordinance came into force.

As mentioned above, the Commission has commenced enforcement action under the second conduct rule in relation to anti-competitive conduct in the medical sector. It remains to be seen whether the Commission will further look out for businesses in the medical sector which may have contravened other Competition Rules.

Below is a table setting out the known investigations and enforcement actions to date:

 

Sector Years when cases concluded Number of cases before the Tribunal Contrvanetion
IT 2020[14] 2 First conduct rule
Construction 2020[15] 3 First conduct rule
Publishing Pending 1 First conduct rule
Medical Pending 1 Second conduct rule
Tourism and travel Pending[16] 2 First conduct rule

It will be apparent from the enforcement actions and investigations taken to date that they are multi-sectorial, with a number of cases in each sector. This is understandable as issues in one sector suggest that there are circumstances in that sector that may be encouraging and/or rewarding anti-competitive conduct, and heightened risks in those sectors. Business should be vigilant and proactively monitor activity in their sector and the Commission’s enforcement news, and take appropriate action to investigate, identify and remediate any anti-competitive conduct in their business practices.

Further, both corporates and individuals have been investigated and prosecuted for breaches of the Competition Rules, and the individuals investigated and sanctioned so far are not limited to those who have breached the rules (whether directly or through aiding or inducing others to do so), but also individuals in management of businesses that have breached the Competition Rules and have not taken sufficient steps to prevent the anti-competitive behavior. It is therefore important for businesses and their senior management to be well-aware of the types of conduct that may fall foul of the Competition Rules.

Cooperation with regulatory authorities or jurisdictions

Apart from investigations and enforcement actions, the Commission has also been increasing its collaboration with other regulatory authorities within and outside Hong Kong.

As early as July 2015, the Commission cooperated with the Communications Authority in formulating the Guidelines to the Competition Rules, as well as in the enforcement of the Merger Rule which proscribes mergers involving businesses in the telecommunication and broadcasting industry in accordance with a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).[17]

In April 2020, the Commission signed another MoU with the Securities and Futures Commission, under which the two authorities have agreed to notify and consult each other on issues that may have significant implications or issues for the other authority, share information regarding businesses in the securities and futures industry, and engage in other technical cooperation such as staff training and exploring collaboration opportunities.[18]

Further, in December 2020, the Commission signed a MoU with the Philippine Competition Commission, which allows discussions on competition issues of mutual interest and technical cooperation such as collaboration on research.[19] This is a breakthrough for the Hong Kong competition regime as it gradually expands its network of collaboration with competition authorities in foreign jurisdictions.

We anticipate more such cross-sectoral and cross-border collaboration in the near future, which will likely result in even more intelligence on anti-competitive conduct, and more investigations and enforcement actions.

Practical takeaways for businesses

Businesses and their officers and senior management should be in no doubt that anti-competitive conduct will be investigated and enforced against. While the Commission issued a statement recognizing the need for additional cooperation between businesses in certain industries on a temporary basis due to the COVID-19 pandemic and provided guidance on four potentially relevant arrangements that would unlikely give rise to competition concerns,[20] it also emphasized that it would not tolerate any conduct seeking to take advantage of the public health crisis and would remain watchful to protect consumers from anti-competitive conduct.

As such, businesses should be mindful of the Competition Rules when conducting their business, stay vigilant and take proactive steps to ensure compliance. 

We set out below some practical steps that businesses can take to ensure compliance:

  • Update and/or revise internal policies and procedures endorsed by the board and senior management to include provisions proscribing anti-competitive conduct and guidelines for ensuring compliance with the Competition Rules, and raise awareness of management and staff regarding the types of behavior that should be avoided. Provide training on a regular basis.
  • Review business practices, ensure management and staff have a proper understanding of the Competition Rules and identify high-risk issues in the business, including a lack of awareness of the competition regime by management or staff, particularly if they have a common practice of collaborating and/or sharing information or plans with competitors.
  • Review contracts to identify any “red flag” provisions that should be assessed against the Competition Rules, such as standard terms that would affect prices.
  • Carry out internal compliance audit to identify potential competition law risks, and monitor compliance with internal guidelines which are updated and amended from time to time to correspond with the most up-to-date Competition Rules.
  • Keep paper trail of high-risk decisions and contracts after review. In the event that the Commission investigates, voluntary provision of these records may be helpful in demonstrating a culture focused on compliance and also constitute cooperation which is relevant to the outcome of any investigations and/or enforcement actions.
  • Take action if breach is identified. Investigate and remediate breaches, including taking appropriate disciplinary action against perpetrators, revise policies and procedures as necessary, and provide training to management and staff of issues identified.
  • Report anti-competitive conduct to the Commission. Timely reporting provides an opportunity to obtain the benefit of immunity under the Commission’s leniency policies in relation to cartel conduct. Alternatively, if an infringement notice has already been issued, making commitments to address the Commission’s concerns can be another way to benefit from immunity from subsequent proceedings. 

The views reflected in this article are the views of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the global EY organization or its member firms.

Summary

In this publication, we present an overview of the Commission’s recent enforcement activities, highlight key developments pertaining to the Commission’s enforcement approach and practical tips for businesses in the future.

About this article

Authors
Kareena Teh

Partner

Kareena Teh, a Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded lawyer in the dispute resolution sector. She also advises on governance and compliance matters.

Catherine Wong

Associate

Catherine Wong, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on dispute resolution and compliance and investigations.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

11 分钟 2021年6月15日

即将到来的事情的预示:香港竞争法的执法发展和趋势

作者 郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 3207 | 手机︰+852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

11 分钟 2021年6月15日
Related topics 最新视野

《竞争条例》(香港法例第619章)(条例)于2015年12月全面生效,禁止三类行为,包括第一行为守则所涵盖的反竞争行为、第二行为守则所涵盖的滥用市场权势,以及合并守则所涵盖的电讯业合并行为(统称为竞争守则)。

过去的五年中,竞争委员会采用了各种工具促进竞争、为企业提供清晰的指引,及对违反竞争守则的行为采取行动。关于第一行为守则已经有四项具有先例价值的裁决,并将有进一步的执法行动,包括正在进行的一项有关第二行为守则的执法行动。进一步的调查和执法行动也即将开始 - 截至2021年1月底,竞争委员会已经收到超过4700宗涉及各种行业的投诉及查询,其中约百分之三十的投诉及查询是关于第一行为守则所涵盖的涉嫌合谋行为[1],而超过百分之十七是关于第二行为守则。[2]

我们将在本文概述竞争委员会最近的执法活动、强调有关竞争委员会执法方式的主要发展,以及对企业未来的实用提示。

竞争执法的“第一次”

2020年对香港的竞争制度而言是重要的一年。竞争委员会的执法活动中出现了很多 “第一次”:

  • 竞争事务审裁处(审裁处)首次就罚款作出了裁决。
  • 审裁处首次对有合理理由怀疑其公司参与反竞争行为但没有采取任何措施以阻止此等行为的董事发出了取消资格令。
  • 审裁处首次批准了由竞争委员会及某些被告基于同意而作出的命令的申请。
  • 竞争委员会接受了有史以来第一个成功的宽待申请。

值得注意的是,所有这些“第一次”都与有关第一行为守则的执法行动有关,并为处理反竞争调查和执法行动提供了重要的先例及为掌握竞争守则提供了指引。

以下我们列出四项裁决的摘要,并强调每项决定的重要性和关键点。

竞争事务委员会 对 永兴联合建筑有限公司及其他 [2020] HKCT 1

十名承建商在向一个公共屋邨的个别住户提供装修服务时,因参与瓜分市场及合谋定价而违反第一行为守则。承建商同意在屋邨内互相分配楼层,并只按约定的分配方式接触及接受住户的工作。他们还同意共同制作传单,以预先商定其标准化装修套餐的价格。

审裁处确认其对执法的主要制裁是罚款,并有权作出条例附表3(1)段所列明的一系列其他命令及根据条例第五分部作出取消资格令。在本案中,审裁处共处以397万港元的罚款。审裁处在评估承建商的罚款时采用了四步法,包括(a)确定基础金额;(b)因应加重惩罚、求情和其他因素进行调整;(c)应用条例规定有关违法业务实体的营业额的百分之十的法定上限;以及(d)采用反映与竞争委员会合作的减免并考虑无力支付的申辩。[3]

就费用而言,审裁处认为竞争法诉讼属于民事诉讼的范畴,因此应应用訟費須視乎訴訟結果而定的民事诉讼方法,但在寻求罚款时必须排除合理怀疑以证明违法行为。

审裁处对本案的裁决方式为评估及确定竞争委员会今后提起的案件的罚款及费用提供了有用的指引。

竞争事务委员会 对 金光工程有限公司及其他 [2020] HKCT 3

三家公司参与制定及实施有关在一个屋邨提供装修服务的市场瓜分协议,违反第一行为守则。他们达成分配潜在顾客的安排、交换资料并协调所提供的标准装修套餐的内容及价格。[4] 这些公司聘用的其中两人被指控参与这三家公司的违法行为。

竞争委员会和五个被告中的三个达成了协议,并根据《竞争事务审裁处规则》第39条向审裁处提出了联合申请终止对这些被告的诉讼。审裁处认为在裁定同意申请时应采用Carecraft程序,即审裁处只限于议定事实声明中所列的事实,并根据议定事实认定存在违反竞争守则的行为并决定下令给予适当制裁。

截至本文发布之日,确定其他被告的责任及适当制裁的裁决仍未作出。

本案表明,竞争委员会准备迅速解决针对愿意承认责任的答辩人的调查及执法行动,并鼓励公司在整个调查过程中积极与竞争委员会沟通及考虑在早期阶段承认责任以换取宽待。

竞争事务委员会 对 冯氏机电工程有限公司及其他 [2020] HKCT 9

本案同样涉及与一个屋苑的装修工程有关的反竞争合谋定价及顾客分配行为。審裁處使用金光工程有限公司一案中獲准在競爭法訴訟中使用的Carecraft程序,并应用永兴联合建筑有限公司一案中所採用的四步法對每個涉案的承建商和個人判處超過20萬港元的罰款。

其中一个承包商的董事有合理怀疑其公司正参与反竞争行为,但没有采取措施防止该等行为。由于他提前承认责任,所以审裁处将其取消资格令的时间缩短两个月至22个月。虽然该董事不知道或没有参与违法行为,但竞争委员会在被指控的行为发生时已经开始对该公司进行调查,[5] 法庭认为他不适合管理该公司。

公司的董事和高级管理人员应注意这个案例,因为它说明了保持警惕和采取积极措施以确保其公司不参与反竞争行为的重要性。

竞争事务委员会 对 Quantr Limited及张民杰 [2020] HKCT 10

竞争委员会首次向Quantr Limited及Nintex Proprietary Limited发出违章通知书,因为他们在一次招标活动中交换未来定价策略并利用有关资料行事,违反第一行为守则。竞争委员会对Quantr Limited及其参与违反行为的董事提起诉讼,并在达成协议后采用Carecraft程序终结诉讼。他们被下令支付罚款及诉讼费用。按照永兴联合建筑有限公司一案的做法,审裁处认为向Quantr Limited提出的37,702.26港元的罚款是合适的。由于本案情况特殊,该董事是Quantr Limited的唯一董事和股东,所以审裁处同意暂停对其进行罚款的程序。[6]  

有关的合谋行为由其中一个投标人要求竞争委员会关注。该投标人首次成功申请了宽待,[7]而Nintex则在承诺遵守竞争委员会提出的要求后没有被起诉。

本案表明竞争委员会致力于豁免自愿报告合谋行为,及在竞争委员会向参与合谋行为的其他方提出诉讼时曾与其合作的企业,以及配合其调查的企业给予宽待。

第二行为守则的执法已经开始

2020年12月,竞争委员会向审裁处提交了第一宗涉及违反第二行为守则的案件,指控一家大型医疗气体供应公司在香港滥用其市场优势。据称,该公司在2015年至2018年期间,通过无理拒绝供应及施加不合理的交易条款等各种排除竞争的行为,停止或限制对唯一为公立医院提供医疗气体管道系统保养服务的潜在供应商供应医疗气体。[8] 该案仍在审理中,但这标志着香港竞争制度的一个里程碑,并表明竞争委员会一直致力于对损害香港竞争的各类反竞争行为采取执法行动。

执法趋势

从以上可见,竞争委员会已经对不同行业的公司开始了执法行动,包括资讯科技、建筑、出版及医疗。

根据条例所采取的第一次执法行动是针对资讯科技设备供应商、分销商和转售商的围标行为,[9]而在2020年1月,竞争委员会向审裁处提交了涉及资讯科技合谋行为的Quantr一案。竞争委员会还对建筑行业的公司采取了执法行动,如上文提到的永兴联合建筑有限公司金光工程有限公司冯氏机电工程有限公司案件。其所施加的制裁不仅限于公司,还包括参与其管理的个人。

2020年初,竞争委员会就网上旅行社与香港住宿提供者的协议中某些涉嫌反竞争的条款进行了调查。[10]2021年2月,对六家酒店集团及一家旅游营办商发出违章通知书,指控他们协助促成合谋定价。[11]竞争委员会首次成为追究合谋行为的促成者,向促成反竞争行为的第三方作出警告,以告知他们(而不仅是合谋协议成员)也将被追究违反竞争守则的责任和义务。[12]

竞争委员会也向审裁处提出对出版业的三家公司展开法律程序,指它们在向香港中小学生销售教科书时参与违反第一行为守则的行为。[13] 此等安排是在条例实施前作出的,但在条例于2015年12月生效后继续进行。此案显示,只要违反竞争守则的协议在条例生效后继续存在,竞争委员会就会对此等协议进行调查和采取行动。

如上述,竞争委员会已经根据第二行为守则对医疗行业的反竞争行为开始了执法行动。竞争委员会是否会进一步关注医疗行业中可能违反其他竞争规则的企业,将有待观察。

以下表格列出目前为止已知的调查及执法行动:

 

行业 案件终结的年份 法庭审理的案件数量 违法行为
资讯科技 2020[14] 2 第一行为守则
建筑 2020[15] 3 第一行为守则
出版 待定 1 第一行为守则
医疗 待定 1 第二行为守则
旅游 待定[16] 2 第一行为守则

从目前采取的执法行动及调查可见,这些行动和调查是跨行业的,每个行业都有一些案件。这可以被理解,因为一个行业出现问题表明该行业存在着可能鼓励及/或奖励反竞争行为的情况,而这些行业的风险亦会提高。企业应该保持警惕、积极主动地监测其行业的活动及竞争委员会通讯,并采取适当行动以调查、识别及补救其企业行为中的任何反竞争行为。

此外,企业及个人都曾因违反竞争守则而被调查及起诉,而目前被调查及制裁的个人不仅限于那些违反守则的人(不论直接违反或通过协助或诱使他人违反),还包括那些违反竞争守则的企业中没有采取足够措施以防止反竞争行为的管理层。因此,企业及其高级管理人员必须清楚认识可能违反竞争守则的行为类型。

与监管机构或司法管辖区的合作

除了调查和执法行动外,委员会也一直在加强与香港境内及境外的其他监管机构的合作。

早在2015年7月,竞争委员会就与通信管理局合作制定竞争守则的指引,并根据谅解备忘录(备忘录)执行禁止涉及电讯业合并行为的合并守则。[17]

2020年4月,竞争委员会与证券及期货事务监察委员会签署另一份备忘录。根据该备忘录,两个机构同意就可能对另一方产生重大影响及/或问题的事宜相互通知及咨询、分享有关证券期货业的资料,并参与其他技术合作,如人员培训及探讨合作机会。[18]

此外,在2020年12月,委员会与菲律宾竞争委员会签署一份备忘录,允许讨论共同关切的竞争事宜和技术性合作,如研究的协作。[19]这是香港竞争制度的一个突破,因为它逐渐扩大了与外国司法管辖区的竞争机构的合作网络。

我们预计在不久的将来会有更多这样的跨部门及跨境的合作,这可能会带来更多关于反竞争行为的情报及更多的调查和执法行动。

对企业的实用提示

企业、其员工及高级管理人员不应怀疑反竞争行为是否将受到调查和执法打击。虽然委员会发表公告承认某些行业的企业在新型冠状病毒疫情期间需要短暂地加强合作,并就四个不太可能引起竞争问题的潜在相关安排提供指引,[20]但它也强调不会容忍任何试图利用疫情危机的行为,而且将继续关注保护消费者免受反竞争行为的影响。

因此,企业在经营业务时应注意竞争守则、保持警惕并采取积极措施以确保合规。

我们在下面列出企业可以采取以确保合规的一些实际步骤:

  • 更新及/或修订经董事会和高级管理层认可的内部政策和程序,包括禁止反竞争行为的规定及确保遵守竞争守则的指引,并提高管理层及员工对应避免的行为类型的认识,及定期提供培训。
  • 审查企业行为,确保管理层及员工对竞争守则有正确的理解,并识别企业中的高风险问题,包括管理层或员工对竞争制度缺乏认识,尤其是如果他们有与竞争对手合作及/或分享资料或计划的普遍做法。
  • 审查合同,以识别任何应根据竞争守则进行评估的“红旗”条款,例如会影响价格的标准条款。
  • 进行内部合规性审计,以识别潜在的竞争法风险,并监督对不时更新及修正以符合最新的竞争守则的内部指引的遵守情况。
  • 在审查后保留高风险决定及合同的书面记录。如竞争委员会进行调查,自愿提供这些记录可能有助于展示企业注重合规的文化,也构成与任何调查及/或执法行动相关的合作。
  • 在发现违规行为时采取行动。调查及补救违法行为,包括对肇事者采取适当的纪律处分、在必要时修改政策及程序,并向管理层和员工提供关于所发现问题的培训。
  • 向委员会报告反竞争行为。及时报告提供一个获得竞争委员会的合谋行为宽待政策下的豁免权的机会。此外,如果违章通知书已经发出,作出承诺以解决委员会的顾虑也是另一种在后续程序中获得豁免的方式。

结语

我们将在本文概述竞争委员会最近的执法活动、强调有关竞争委员会执法方式的主要发展,以及对企业未来的实用提示。

关于本文

作者 郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 3207 | 手机︰+852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野