EN

2 minute read 16 Mar 2021

Pioneer users of Legal Managed Services

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

Jacky Chan

Associate

Jacky Chan, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on mergers and acquisitions, employment and talent management, restructuring and insolvency.

2 minute read 16 Mar 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

Recently, more corporations are looking to utilize technologies and novel service delivery models in their law departments. They continuously transform their in-house legal functions when the environment that they operate in is constantly evolving. Moreover, general counsel is given the mission from top management to control legal costs while having to deal with the rapidly changing laws and regulations. 

Legal managed services (LMS) providers may offer a solution to the challenges law departments face today. LMS integrate customized legal technologies, process management and trained staff. 

Over the past decade, the legal industry has been filled with anecdotal stories of corporations using non‑law‑firm providers, often utilizing technology‑enabled LMS models, to increase efficiency and lower cost. Up to now, however, there has been limited data available to analyze this trend. Therefore, the extent to which these services are being used and the benefits that law departments have realized as a result of adoption have not been widely investigated.

In 2020, EY published the report on a research titled "Realizing the benefits of legal managed services" (Research)[1]. Our firm, LC Lawyers LLP, as a member of the EY global network, is reporting the Research in this article.

The Research was based on a survey of 1,058 senior legal practitioners from businesses in 25 countries. It showed that the forces driving law departments to use LMS varied significantly. But the key drivers leading law departments to pursue LMS included (1) cost‑savings targets, (2) desire to optimize internal processes due to rising volumes of work, (3) access to better quality information at comparable costs and with better productivity of internal and external resources, and (4) the arrival of new LMS products and services allowing for new technology‑enabled delivery models.

Not only were there significant short‑term benefits in using LMS that extended beyond cost savings, but also ongoing positive impacts around technologies, human resources and the ability to continue innovating in the future. The Research showed that those law departments that used LMS were (1) cost-efficient in today’s service delivery, (2) able to respond to geopolitical and regulatory changes, (3) confident in building the right set of capabilities within their departments, and (4) in a better position to attract and retain talent.

The Research also identified which law departments are using external LMS providers more than others. Using advanced statistics, the Research clustered participants into three groups based on their reported adoption of LMS across six law services, namely, contract management, legal management and compliance, employment law, due diligence, document retention and records management. The three distinct groups were:

Pioneers

This group made up for 37% of the participants and primarily consisted of law departments of large and medium‑sized organizations. These departments were on a journey to transform their legal functions. Many had already undertaken cost‑reduction exercises, explored efficiencies, utilized legal technologies and insourced certain types of legal work. As part of their journey, this group had realized the benefits that new service delivery models provided and were looking for increasingly sophisticated solutions to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their departments. They had already migrated many law services to non‑law‑firm providers and were actively looking to expand their use of LMS.

Explorers

This group made up for 35% of the participants and most came from large and medium‑sized organizations. These departments were aware of new models of service delivery that existed as well as the benefits from using them. The majority had tried outsourcing discrete tasks to external providers but had not done so on a widespread basis. These firms were actively considering expanding their use of LMS but were unsure of how to proceed due to their lack of experience. Unlike the Pioneers, the Explorers are just starting their transformational journey in re-designing their relationships with their law firm partners to reduce cost and increase efficiency. However, as Pioneers continue to innovate and work with managed services providers to come up with new ways to improve the LMS model, it is expected that the LMS model will continue to improve and become easier to implement, thus giving a clearer roadmap to Explorers that are expanding their transformation exercises.

Observers

This group accounted for 28% of the participants and was largely made up of law departments of smaller organizations with businesses below US$500 million in annual revenue. Many of these departments were not considering using LMS currently even if they were aware of the benefits. This is because smaller law departments generally have difficulties innovating and leveraging on new models. They require prepackaged solutions that are ready for use on day one and these types of ‘ready‑for‑use’ solutions were not available until recently.

Conclusions

Overall, the Research demonstrated that progressive law departments utilizing LMS, defined as Pioneers, benefited in ways that others missed out on. Not only are they more efficient today, but they are also more confident about future efficiency. They have built the right capabilities within their departments during these difficult times.

Further, these Pioneers are in a better position to attract, retain and deploy talent. They have been optimizing their operational models and making necessary changes to internal resourcing. They are often the early adopters in shifting toward LMS. Their journey has been marked by innovation and collaboration.

Going forward, Pioneers will keep innovating and working with LMS providers to come up with new ways to push this model. Meanwhile, the collaboration between LMS providers and the Pioneers have also paved the way for Explorers and Observers who are looking to take their next step on their journey.

Summary

Recently, more corporations are looking to utilize technologies and novel service delivery models in their law departments. 

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Rossana Chu, Managing Partner of LC Lawyers LLP, is a highly regarded leading lawyer in the mergers & acquisitions and capital markets sectors. She also advises on restructuring and compliance matters

Jacky Chan

Associate

Jacky Chan, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on mergers and acquisitions, employment and talent management, restructuring and insolvency.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

2 分钟 2021年3月22日

法律管理服务的先驱用户

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

2 分钟 2021年3月22日
Related topics 最新视野

近来,越来越多企业正在寻求将技术和新服务提供模式运用于其法律部门。所处的环境在不断变化的同时,企业也持续地转变其内部法律的职能。此外,内部法律顾问往往受最高管理层之命控制法律成本之余,还须应对迅速变化的法律法规。  

律管理服务(Legal Managed Services)提供商可以为法律部门今天面临的挑战提供解决方案。法律管理服务其实是整合定制化的法律技术、流程管理和训练有素的人才。

在过去的十年里,法律行业一直有传闻,企业选用非律师事务所提供商,该等提供商通常运用技术驱动的法律管理服务模式来提高效率和降低成本。然而,至今分析这一趋势的数据还十分有限,因此,对这些服务的应用程度以及法律部门因运用这些服务所获的好处还没有得到广泛的调查。

在2020年,安永发表了题为 “实现法律管理服务的好处”的研究报告[1]。本所(林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙)作为安永全球网络的成员机构,将在本文介绍对该研究的结论。

安永的研究涵盖向25个国家的1,058名企业高级法律从业人员的访问。结果表明,促使法律部门使用法律管理服务的驱动力差异显著。其实,促使法律部门应用法律管理服务的主要驱动力包括:(1)节约成本的目标;(2)由于工作量的增加而希望优化内部流程;(3)以相约成本获得更高素质的信息,并提高内部和外部资源的生产力;以及(4)新颖的法律管理服务及产品可实现崭新的技术提供模式。

应用法律管理服务系统不仅有显著节约成本的短期效益,而且还在技术、人力资源和未来持续创新能力方面带来了持续的积极作用。该研究显示,法律部门应用的法律管理服务:(1)在当今的服务提供中具有成本效益;(2)能够应对地缘政治和监管变化;(3)有信心在其部门内建立适当的职能;及(4)能够更好地吸引和保留人才。

该研究还确定了哪些法律部门比其他部门更多使用外部法律管理服务提供商。该研究利用先进的统计方法,根据参与者在合同管理、法律管理及合规、雇佣法、尽职调查、文件保存和记录管理六个法律服务领域采用法律管理服务的情况,将参与访问者分为三个组别。这三个不同的组别是:

先驱者

这个组别占参与者的37%,主要由大中型企业的法律部门构成。这些部门正处于转变其法律职能的过程中。许多部门已经开展了降低成本、提高效率、使用法律科技、并选择内包某些类型的法律工作。在转变的过程中,这个组别已经意识到新的服务提供模式所带来的好处,并正在寻找更完善及精密的解决方案,以提高其部门的效率和效益。他们已经将许多法律服务转移到非律师事务所提供商,并积极寻求扩大对法律管理服务的应用。

探索者

这一组别占参与者的35%,主要来自大中型企业。这些部门了解现有的新服务提供模式以及使用这些模式的好处。该组别大多都尝试过将分散的任务外包给外部供应商,但还没有广泛地这样做。这些企业正在积极考虑扩大法律管理服务的运用范围,但由于缺乏经验,不知该如何进行。与先驱者不同的是,探索者才刚刚开始转型的过程,他们正重新检讨与律所合作伙伴的关系以降低成本及提高效率。不过,随着先驱者不断创新并与管理服务提供商合作,预计法律管理服务的模式将得以不断完善,使其更易应用,从而为正在大规模转型的探索者提供更清晰的路线图。

观察者

这一组别占参与者的28%,主要由年营收低于5亿美元的较小型企业的法律部门构成。其中很多法律部门即使知道法律管理服务的好处,目前也没有考虑应用。这是因为规模较小的法律部门通常在创新和利用新模式方面存在困难。他们需要在交钥匙式马上就可以使用的预先打包好的解决方案,而这种的即用型解决方案直到最近才出现。

总结

总体而言,该研究表明,积极转变的法律部门利用法律管理服务,被定义为先驱者,他们在其他人错过这一机遇的时候受益。先驱者不仅在今天更有效率,而且对未来的效率也更有信心。在这些困难时期,先驱者在自己的部门内部也能培养适当的才能。

此外,这些先驱者在吸引、留住和部署人才方面的能力更强。先驱者一直在优化其运营模式,并对内部资源配置进行必要的改革。他们往往是向法律管理服务转变的早期应用者。他们的转变历程以创新和合作为标志。

未来,先驱者将不断创新,与法律管理服务提供商合作,提出推动这一模式的新方法。同时,提供商与先驱者之间的合作也为那些希望在转变中迈出下一步的探索者和观察者铺平了道路。

结语

近来,越来越多企业正在寻求将技术和新服务提供模式运用于其法律部门。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野