EN

6 minute read 26 May 2021

Open-ended Fund Companies Regime in Hong Kong

By Cathy Chan

Senior Associate

Cathy Chan, a Senior Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Compliance.

6 minute read 26 May 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

Equipped with an established and mature asset management platform, Hong Kong has been a popular location for asset management activities. The open-ended fund company (“OFC”) regime was launched in 30 July 2018 after four years of market consultation and legislation to further enhance and diversify Hong Kong’s fund platform. This article provides an overview on the OFC regime in Hong Kong and outlines recent regulatory enhancement that aims to amplify the regulatory environment for OFC.

Features of OFC

Traditionally, an open-ended investment fund which proposed to domicile in Hong Kong was established in the form of a unit trust, instead of a company limited by shares. Following the introduction of the OFC regime in July 2018, fund managers can now establish an open-ended investment fund in the form of a limited liability company, which has key features similar to a conventional limited company. The key features include the followings:

  • having a corporate structure and legal personality;
  • being governed by a board of natural person directors; and
  • limiting the liability of its shareholder to the amount unpaid on their shares in the company.

In addition, as an investment vehicle, an OFC also has the following features that allow more flexibility than conventional companies:

  • variable capital structure with the flexibility to create and cancel shares for investors to subscribe and redeem the funds;
  • distribution of assets out of share capital subject to solvency and disclosure requirements;
  • allowing for the establishment in the form of umbrella fund; and
  • could be publicly (subject to prior authorisation of the Securities and Futures Commission (the “SFC”)) or privately offered.
Structure of an OFC

The activities of an OFC will reflect a traditional investment funds whereby the board will delegate investment management functions to a professional investment manager and the assets of the OFC will be held by an independent custodian.

OFC can also be established in an umbrella and sub-fund structure to divide the scheme property into separate parts and segregate the liability of sub-funds. The assets of a sub-fund belong exclusively to the sub-fund and must not be used to discharge the liabilities of, or the claims against, any other person, including the OFC itself and any other sub-fund under the OFC. Section 158 of the Securities and Futures (Open-ended Fund Companies) Rules (Cap. 571AQ) (the “OFC Rules”) provides for terms that will be implied in an umbrella OFC’s contracts and transactions:

  • a contracting party with the OFC agrees not to seek to have recourse to any assets belonging to other sub funds in the discharge of liability that was not incurred on behalf of that sub-fund;
  • if such party succeeded in having recourse to such assets, he is liable to the OFC to pay a sum that equals to the value of the benefit that the party obtained as a result; and
  • the asset seized will be held on trust by such party and he will be obliged to keep the assets /proceeds of sale of the assets separate and identifiable as trust property.
Requirements on key personnel

The legal framework of the OFC regime consists of three main pieces of legislation:

  • the Securities and Futures (Amendment) 2016 Ordinance;
  • OFC Rules; and
  • The Code on Open-Ended Fund Companies (“OFC Code”), being a non-statutory code published by the SFC in July 2018.

These rules and regulations have laid down requirements on the three main personnel of an OFC, namely the (1) directors; (2) custodian; and (3) investment manager. Appointment and replacement of these key personnel require prior approval of the SFC. Table below sets out the eligibility requirements of these key personnel.

  Directors Investment Manager Custodian

Eligibility

  • Two directors (natural persons over 18 years old)
  • Not an undischarged bankrupt
  • One independent director who is not a director or employee of the custodian
  • Have technical knowledge, ability to perform their duties and satisfactory expertise in relevant business
  • Must be registered or licensed for Type 9 (asset management) regulated activity
  • Must remain fit and proper, at and after registration of the OFC

Apart from custodians that satisfy the requirement under the Unit Trust Code, for private OFCs, as expanded in September 2020, the custodian can also be a corporation licenced for Type 1(Dealing in securities)  regulated activity which meets the following requirements:

  • its licence does not restrict holding client assets;
  • it must at all times maintain paid-up share capital of not less than HK$10 million and liquid capital of not less than HK$3 million;
  • the OFC must at all times be a client of such licensed corporation or registered institution in respect of its business in Type 1 (Dealing in securities) regulated activity;
  • have at least one responsible officer or executive officer responsible for the overall management and supervision of its custodial function; and
  • be independent of the investment manager.
Duties
  • Fiduciary duties and the duty to exercise reasonable care, skill and diligence
  • Must delegate investment manager functions to the investment manager by an investment management agreement
  • Carry out investment management functions of the OFC in accordance with the instrument of incorporation and investment management agreement 
  • Safe-keeping investment scheme property and segregation of trust account for scheme money
  • Delegation is permissible so long there is proper oversight and a written internal control policy for selection and ongoing monitoring sub-custodian and addressing conflict of interest
Overseas candidate

Overseas directors must appoint a process agent, who may be: (a) an individual whose usual residential address is in Hong Kong; (b) a company formed and registered under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 612) (“CO”) in Hong Kong; or (c) a firm of solicitors or certified public accountants in Hong Kong.

Overseas management companies are not allowed to be an investment manager for OFCs.  Overseas custodian must appoint a process agent unless it is a registered non-Hong Kong company under Part 16 of the CO. 
Regulatory enhancement - Investment scope

Initially, substantial investments of a private OFC must consist of such assets the management of which constitutes Type 9 regulated activity. Private OFCs are subject to a 10% de minimis limit, which expressly provides that the total value of an OFC’s investment in other asset classes (other than those the management of which would constitutes a Type 9 regulated activity, cash, bank deposits, certificate deposit, foreign currencies and foreign exchange contracts) shall not exceed 10% of the gross asset value of that OFC. For an umbrella OFC, this limit applies to each sub-fund as well as to the umbrella OFC as a whole.

This limit has been lifted in September 2020 and the SFC has removed all investment restrictions on private OFCs under the OFC Code such that private OFCs are allowed to invest in all asset classes without having to confine substantial amount of its investment in regulated activity. This enhancement is driven by the intention of placing private OFCs on a level playing field with other overseas corporate fund structures. Without the investment restrictions, OFC can now be adopted for investments other than securities or futures, such as investments in private companies, real estate, credit or other assets not previously eligible.

New requirements will be introduced requiring (i) investment managers and custodians to have sufficient expertise and experience in managing and safekeeping the asset classes in which an OFC invests, (ii) enhanced risk disclosure in the offering documents, and (iii) maintenance of proper records.

In terms of enhanced risk disclosure, this includes ensuring offering documents contain clear disclosures on all material risks specific to the type and nature of assets in which the OFC invests, in particular where the OFC invests 10% or more of the gross asset value of the OFC in non-financial or other less common asset class(es).

Regulatory enhancement - Significant controller register

The SFC suggested to require private OFCs to keep a significant controller register similar to the requirement for companies under the CO so as to enhance the transparency of corporate beneficial ownership of OFCs in its public consultation on enhancing OFC regime in 2019. However, such proposal met with a lot of criticisms, for reason of impracticability of such requirement, having considered the open-ended nature of OFC. This is because investors in a private OFC are constantly changing due to the feature of frequent subscription and redemption of shares of the funds.

The SFC has therefore proposed and conducted further consultation in September 2020 to require the OFC to appoint a responsible person to perform AML/CFT functions as stipulated under Schedule 2 to the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615). This is similar to the requirements imposed on limited partnership funds in an effort to harmonise AML/CFT requirements across different investment vehicles.

Such responsible person must be (a) an authorised institution (i.e., a bank, a restricted license bank, or a deposit-taking company under the Banking Ordinance (Cap. 155)), (b) a licensed corporation (i.e. a corporation that is licensed to carry on regulated activities under the Securities Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571)), (c) an accounting professional or (d) a legal professional. The appointment of a responsible person should be made by the board of directors of an OFC, as the board is legally responsible for all of the OFC’s affairs.

Regulatory enhancement - Re-domiciliation

When the OFC regime was first introduced, there was no mechanism for re-domiciliation. Funds that were established in other jurisdictions may only transfer the assets and the investors to a new vehicle in Hong Kong through restructuring by way of, among others, asset transfer or share swap.

The re-domiciliation proposal has been introduced by the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (the “Bureau”) in February 2021. The core requirements under the proposal is that the migrating offshore fund must meet the same set of eligibility requirements of an OFC.

The application process requires a single submission of the application documents and application fee to the SFC to register a non-Hong Kong fund as an OFC and the SFC would process the application and notify the Companies Registry upon completion for issuance of the certificate of registration/re-domiciliation. In terms of the application, the application for re-domiciliation should include:

  • confirmation that the proposed re-domiciliation and de-registration of the offshore fund are not prohibited by its constitutive documents, contracts and laws of its place of establishment;
  • a certificate issued by the directors to confirm the solvency of the fund and each sub-fund, the absence of any petition of winding-up, liquidation, receivership or arrangement or compromise arrangement; and
  • notice of the proposed re-domiciliation served to creditors.

Once registered, the offshore fund will then have to de-register in its original place of establishment within 60 days of issuance of the certificate of registration, failure of which would lead to its registration being cancelled.

Upon re-domiciliation, the fund’s identity will be preserved and remains as the same legal entity. Re-domiciliation to Hong Kong does not intend to prejudice or affect the identity of the fund as previously incorporated or registered. This translates into numerous benefits:

  • any contract made or resolution passed will remain intact;
  • all rights, functions, liabilities or obligations, and property of the fund before its registration in Hong Kong, will be preserved;
  • previous legal proceedings by or against the fund will not be rendered defective; and
  • the re-domiciliation does not amount to a transfer of assets or a change in beneficial ownership, hence no stamp duty implications.

The Bureau targets to introduce the bill to effect the re-domiciliation proposal into the Legislative Counsel for first and second reading in the second quarter of 2021.

What's next

The OFC regime and the reforms aim to enhance the competitiveness of both the OFC regime and Hong Kong’s fund industry, making it an attractive alternative to comparable structures available in other developed jurisdictions.

Government dedication in boosting the use of OFCs can also be seen in the 2021-22 Budget Speech, in which additional measures were announced to include an intention to provide subsidies to cover 70% of the expenses paid to local professional service providers for OFCs set up in or re-domiciled to HK in the coming three years, subject to a cap of HK$1 million per OFC.

However, while these measures and regulatory enhancements are expected to significantly enhance the utility and competitiveness of the OFC regime, it is yet to be seen whether OFCs will become a trend in Hong Kong in light of the introduction of the limited partnership funds which is subject to less scrutiny with more freedom in governing the funds.

Nevertheless, given the introduction of economic substance law in Cayman Islands, Cayman funds are now subject to more stringent regulatory scrutiny and these reforms pose uncertainties as to the fund formation environment within Cayman Islands. The absence of clarity and market consensus around the economic and practical impact of these changes presents opportunity for Hong Kong to become the next alternative jurisdiction for investment funds and solidify its position as the asset management hub in the region and also to develop a robust domestic private fund industry. Hong Kong has always been a logical choice for fund managers given its strong community of investors and professional service providers, the proximity to Mainland China and the active initial public offering market for conducting fundraising, deal sourcing and investment management activities. It is expected to witness a growing trend of funds domiciled in Hong Kong in the future.

The author would like to thank Ms. Vanessa Wong (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

This article provides an overview on the OFC regime in Hong Kong and outlines recent regulatory enhancement that aims to amplify the regulatory environment for OFC.

About this article

By Cathy Chan

Senior Associate

Cathy Chan, a Senior Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Compliance.

Related topics Our latest thinking

EN

2021年5月26日

香港开放式基金型公司制度

香港拥有完善和成熟的资产管理平台,一直为资产管理活动的热门之地。经过四年的市场咨询和立法,开放式基金型公司制度于2018年7月30日引入,以进一步加强香港的基金平台和促使其多元化。本文概述开放式基金型公司制度,并探讨最近落实旨在加强开放式基金型公司监管环境的法规。

开放式基金型公司的特点

统上,拟在香港注册的开放式投资基金以单位信托的形式,而不是以股份有限公司的形式成立。在2018年7月引入开放式基金型公司制度后,基金经理现在可以以有限责任公司的形式设立开放式投资基金,其主要特征与传统的有限公司相似,包括以下几点:

  • 具有公司结构和法人资格;
  • 由自然人董事组成的董事会管理;以及
  • 将其股东的责任限制在他们在公司中的股份未支付的金额。

此外,作为一种投资工具,开放式基金型公司还具有以下特点,比传统公司更具灵活性:

  • 拥有可变的资本结构,灵活地发行和注销股份,以便投资者认购和赎回基金;
  • 在符合偿付能力和披露要求的情况下,从资本拨款作分派;
  • 允许以伞形基金的形式建立;以及
  • 可以公开(须事先获得证券及期货事务监察委员会("证监会")的授权)或私下发售。
开放式基金型公司的结构

开放式基金型公司的投资活动反映一般传统的投资基金,董事会将投资管理职能委托予专业投资经理,且资产由独立的托管人持有。

开放式基金型公司亦可采用伞型基金的结构,各自独立管理其持有的资产,并将其责任分隔,而子基金的资产只属于该子资金,不得用于履行任何其他不属于该子基金的债务或其提出的索赔,包括开放式基金本身和其项下的任何其他子基金。 《证券及期货(开放式基金型公司)规则》(香港条例第571AQ章)(“开放式基金型公司规则”)第158条规定在与有子基金的开放式基金型公司订立的合约中将隐含以下隐含条款:

  • 与开放式基金型公司立约的一方同意不寻求依靠属于子基金的任何资产,以解除并非由该子基金招致的法律责任;
  • 如果该方成功依靠该等资产以解除法律责任,他有责任向开放式基金型公司支付一笔相当于该方因此而获得的利益价值的款项;以及
  • 被扣押的资产将由该方以信托方式持有,并有义务将资产/资产的销售所得款项分开,并以可识别为信托财产的形式保存。
对关键人员的要求

开放式基金型公司制度的法律框架包括以下三个法规:

  • 《2016年证券及期货(修订)条例》;
  •  开放式基金型公司规则;及
  • 《开放式基金型公司守则》(“守则”),为证监会于2018年7月发布的非法定守则。

该等规则和条例设有对开放式基金型公司的三个关键人员的要求,即(1)董事;(2)托管人;以及(3)投资经理。这些主要人员的任命和更换都需要得到证监会的事先批准。下表列出了这些关键人员的法定资格要求。

 

股东

投资经理

托管人

资格认证

  • 两位董事(均需为满18岁的自然人)
  • 不得为未解除破产的破产人
  • 不得为保管人的董事或雇员
  • 具备技术知识、履行职责的能力和在相关业务方面有足够的专业知识
  • 须为就第9类受规管活动(提供资产管理)获发牌或注册的中介人
  • 于注册时及之后必须是及仍然是适当人选

除了须符合《单位信托守则》内所载的资格规定外,私人开放式基金型公司在2020年9月改革扩大后,托管人亦可为满足以下要求的第1类受规管活动(证券交易)的持牌公司:

  • 其牌照不受不得持有客户资产的条件所规限;
  • 其无论何时均维持不少于1,000万港元的缴足股本和不少于300万港元的速动资金;
  • 该私人开放式基金型公司为(及无论何时均为)该持牌法团或注册机构的第1类受规管活动(证券交易)业务的客户
  • 拥有至少一名负责人员或主管人员负责其保管职能的整体管理及监督工作;及
  • 独立于投资经理。

责任

  • 受托责任及行使合理水平的谨慎、技巧及努力的责任
  • 须透过书面投资管理协议转授投资管理职能予投资经理

根据公司章程和投资管理协议,履行开放式基金型公司的投资管理职能

  • 妥善保管基金投资财产和分隔基金资金的信托账户
  • 在设有适当的监督和有关筛选及持续监督托管人以及解决利益冲突之内控政策的前提下,允许授权其托管职能

国外人选

国外的董事须委任一位法律程序文件代理人,该代理人须: (a)为居于香港的人士;(b) 根据《公司条例》(第612章)(“公司条例”)在香港成立和注册的公司;或(c)香港的律师事务所或注册会计师。

国外管理公司不能成为开放式基金型公司的投资经理。

除非托管人为根据公司条例第16部注册的非香港公司,否则国外托管人须委任一位法律程序文件代理人。

优化监管制度 – 投资范围

最初,开放式基金型公司的大量投资必须由其管理会构成第 9 类受规管活动(资产管理)的资产类别组成。开放式基金型公司须遵守10%的最低额豁免规限,不得将其10%以上的资产总值投资于其他资产类别(不包括其管理会构成第 9 类受规管活动(资产管理)的资产类别,现金、银行存款、存款证、外币及外汇交易合约)。就伞型基金而言,此限制适用于每个子基金以及整个开放式基金型公司。

证监会于2020年9月撤销此限制及守则下所有就私人开放式基金型公司的投资限制,以放宽私人开放式基金型公司能够投资于所有类别,而非限制大量投资于受规管活动中。此改革的目的是为了让开放式基金型公司与其他国外公司基金结构处于公平竞争的地位。在没有投资限制的情况下,开放式基金型公司可被采用,以进行证券或期货以外的投资,例如私人公司、房地产、信贷或其他以前不符合条件的资产。

新的要求亦将会被引入,要求(a)投资经理及托管人在管理和保管开放式基金型公司投资的资产类别方面有足够的专业知识和经验,(b)加强在基金发行文件中对风险披露的要求以及(iii)存有适当的记录。

在加强风险披露方面,这将包括确保基金发行文件中明确披露开放式基金型公司所投资的资产类别和性质的所有重大风险,特别是当该开放式基金型公司将其总资产价值的10%或以上投资于非金融或其他不太常见的资产类别时。

优化监管制度 – 重要控制人登记册

证监会于其2019年就优化开放式基金型公司制度改革的咨询中提议要求私人开放式基金型公司保存重要控制人登记册(与公司条例下适用于一般公司的规定类同),以便加强开放式基金型公司实益拥有权的透明度。然而,考虑到开放式基金型公司的开放性质,认购及赎回股份的交易会较频繁,投资者将会不断转变,该要求引起了反对的声浪,认为该要求并不可行。

因此证监会建议并在2020年9月进行了进一步的咨询,要求开放式基金型公司委任一名负责人来履行《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金募集条例》(第615章)附表二所订明的反洗钱/恐怖分子资金筹集职能。此要求类似于对有限合伙基金的要求,以求协调对不同投资工具就反洗钱及恐怖分子资金募集的要求。

该负责人须为(a)认可机构(即银行、有限制持牌银行或《银行条例》(第155章)规定的接受存款公司),(b) 持牌法团(根据《证券期货条例》(第571章)获准从事受规管活动的公司),(c) 会计专业人士或(d)法律专业人士。由于董事会将对开放式基金型公司的所有事务负有法律责任,负责人的委任须由开放式基金型公司董事会作出。

优化监管制度–基金迁册机制

在首次引入开放式基金型公司时,并没有设立有关离岸基金迁册的机制。在其他司法管辖区设立的基金一般只能通过资产转让或换股等方式进行重组,将资产和投资者转移到香港的新载体上。

财经事务及库务局(“当局”)于2021年2月提出基金迁册机制的建议。该建议的核心要求为迁移的离岸基金必须满足与开放式基金型公司相同的资格规定。

在申请过程中,只需向证监会提交一次申请文件和申请费,即可将非香港基金注册为开放式基金型公司。证监会将处理该申请,并在完成后通知公司注册处,以颁发注册/迁册证明书。就申请而言,迁册申请应包括:

  • 基金的组成文件或所订合约或所作的承诺并无禁止基金的拟迁册安排的确认;
  • 由基金董事发出,确认没有任何就基金及其每支子基金提出的清盘、接管或安排或妥协安排的呈请的证明书;及
  • 该基金已向其债权人送达拟迁册的通知书。

一旦完成注册,离岸基金须在获发迁册证明书后的60天内在其成立为法团的所在地撤销注册,否则其于香港的注册将被取消。

在迁册后,基金的身份将被保留,并保持为同一法律实体。迁册之举无意损害或影响基金之前成立或注册的身份。这带来了许多好处:

  • 在香港注册前订立的合同和通过的决议仍然有效;
  • 基金在迁册前所有的权力、功能、法律责任、义务及财产将会被保留;
  • 任何之前由基金所提出或针对基金所提出的法律程序将不会被影响;及
  • 迁册并不意味资产转移或实益所有权变更,因此不涉及印花税。

当局目标在2021年第二季度向立法会提交法案,以便进行一读和二读,从而实现该迁册建议。

下一步

开放式基金型公司制度和改革旨在增强开放式基金型公司体制和香港基金业的竞争力,使其成为其他发达的司法管辖区可比结构的一个具有吸引力的替代选择。

政府对推动开放式基金型公司的决心亦可在2021-22年的财政预算案中反映出来,其中宣布的额外措施包括提供补贴,资助未来三年在香港设立或迁册来港的开放式基金型公司付予本地专业服务提供商费用的70%,上限为每个开放式基金型公司100万港元。

然而,虽然这些措施和监管的加强预计会大大提升开放式基金型公司制度的效用和竞争力,但鉴于有限合伙基金的引入,在管理基金方面受到的审查较少,且有更多的自由度,开放式基金型公司是否会成为香港的一种趋势还有待观察。

尽管如此,由于开曼群岛引入了经济实体法,于开曼群岛设立的基金现在受到更严格的监管审查,并为开曼群岛的基金形成环境带来了不确定性。这些改革对经济和实际影响缺乏明确性和市场共识,为香港提供了成为下一个投资基金替代管辖区的机会,从而巩固其作为国际资产管理中心的地位,并能大力发展本地私人基金业。香港一直是基金经理的理想选择,因为既拥有强大的投资者和专业团队,邻近中国内地,也有活跃的首次公开募股市场,可以进行筹资、交易采购和投资管理活动。预计未来于香港注册的基金将呈增长趋势。

笔者在此感谢王芷棋见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

本文概述开放式基金型公司制度,并探讨最近落实旨在加强开放式基金型公司监管环境的法规。

关于本文

Related topics 最新视野