EN

4 minute read 12 May 2021

Virtual execution of documents in Hong Kong

By Ricky Ho

Associate

Ricky Ho, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and insolvency.

4 minute read 12 May 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

The COVID-19 pandemic has lasted for more than a year now and is still ongoing. It has changed the landscape of how documents are executed. Due to social distancing policies and travel restrictions, working from home has become the new norm and there is increasing reliance on technology. This means that printers and scanners may not be readily accessible, and meetings are mostly held virtually. Signing on papers becomes harder and parties would have to consider the alternative - virtual execution.

The leading case in this respect is the UK case of Mercury Tax Group Limited v HMRC [2008] EWHC 2721. The facts of the Mercury case itself were not related to virtual signing, but there was an issue about whether documents involved were properly signed. In the case, clients were sent signature pages of draft versions, and subsequently such signature pages were stapled to the final versions of the documents. There were significant differences between the draft and final versions and that the blanks that were filled in in the final versions were important terms, so the court did not think that the parties who have signed the draft version could also be taken to have authorized and agreed with the final versions. The court found in addition that for one of the documents involved (a trust deed), the document was not validly executed as a deed as signature and attestation should have been in the same physical document. This case led to discussions about under what circumstances virtual execution would be valid under the law.

There are various methods for virtually executing documents, including:

  • JPEG signature – inserting the saved JPEG image of the signature to the document. This is generally allowed for simple contracts, subject to exceptions under the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553) (“ETO”), or where wet-ink signatures are required. An individual using this signing method on behalf of a company should also have been formally authorized by the company to do so.
  • Email signing – printing out the whole document or at least the signature page, signing it, scanning it and returning that through email to the other party. This is generally allowed in Hong Kong, unless the document requires a wet-ink signature like one that has to be filed with the Land Registry.
  • E-signing platform – a system allowing signatories to open a link to the document sent by email and sign the document on the platform. Each signatory can take turns to sign the document and after all of them have done so, the platform will create a fully signed pdf version. This has yet to be widely adopted in Hong Kong, but if used it will not be applicable to any exclusions under the ETO and to deeds.
The ETO

The main provision governing virtual execution in Hong Kong is the ETO. An electronic signature is defined in s.2(1) of the ETO, and can be in the form of any letters, characters, numbers or other symbols in digital form. Although it may take any form, there must be an electronic signature attached to the document itself. For instance, in the recent case of CRB v Mark Richard Charlton Sutherland [2020] HKDC 624, the retainer agreement in question was considered not to be electronically signed by the court. This was because in the written retainer agreement attached to an email between the parties, the signature blocks were empty. The court did not accept that the signature block of the signatory in the email would constitute an electronic signature to the retainer under the ETO.

Digital signature on the other hand is one particular form of electronic signature, and is defined under s.2(1) of the ETO. A digital signature is more secure than an electronic signature, because the recipient can verify that the digital signature was indeed created and signed by the sender.

In terms of applicability, a digital signature is only mandatory if the transaction involves a government entity, and this is defined to mean a public officer or public body in s.2(1) of the ETO. If no such party is involved in the transaction, parties would be free to agree on whether to use electronic or digital signatures, provided that certain conditions under the ETO are met.

Requirements of a valid electronic and digital signature

A valid electronic signature has 3 elements:

  • First, it must be used for the purpose of identification and indicating the authentication or approval of the information in the electronic record.
  • Second, any method used for the e-signing should be reliable and appropriate for the purpose for which the information is communicated.
  • Third, there must be consent by the recipient to the use of such method of electronic signature.

On the other hand, a digital signature must be supported by a recognised certificate, issued by a certification authority to support the use of that digital signature. Currently there are 2 recognised certification authorities that would issue a recognised certificate – Hong Kong Post Certification Authority and Digi-Sign Certification Services Limited.

Exceptions from the use of electronic signatures

There are various types of documents excluded from the use of e-signatures set out under Schedule 1 of the ETO, including certain trust and testamentary documents, conveyancing documents relating to land, affidavits, judgments, statutory declarations, and powers of attorney. 

Further, Schedule 2 lists out proceedings that would be excluded from the application of e-signatures, such as those in the Court of First Instance and Court of Appeal. Although court documents currently cannot be electronically signed, electronic records can be admissible as evidence in a legal proceeding pursuant to s.9 of the ETO.

Limitations to the ETO

(1)  Common law rules of contract

According to s.17(3) of the ETO, the ETO is subject to common law rules of contract. The use of electronic signatures is just one way of demonstrating offer and acceptance, and an express intention of a particular method of acceptance can be conclusive. This means that if an agreement has expressly stated that only a handwritten signature is accepted, the permission under the ETO to use e-signatures cannot override the express intention to use a handwritten one.

(2)  Witnessing requirements

Where witnessing is required for the execution of documents, the law is not settled whether witnessing by way of video-conferencing constitutes valid execution and the ETO does not specifically provide for this. However the categories of documents currently excluded such as wills and conveyancing documents have particular formalities, one of which is the requirement of witnesses, so it may be implied that the law seems to not yet allow witnessing to be done other than physically.

Practical considerations when deciding whether to use virtual execution

Virtual execution by way of using e-signatures is allowed in many situations, such as simple contracts or company resolutions or minutes, so long as this is done in accordance with the ETO. The following considerations should be made when deciding whether to execute documents by electronic signatures.

(1)       Is e-signing permitted to be used for the specific document?

This would include considering whether the document falls within the exceptions of the ETO and taking account of circumstances that may undermine the applicability of the signature, such as registration or filing requirements.

There should also be consideration as to whether there is a requirement to execute the document as a deed. Although the ETO does not particularly exclude deeds from the use of electronic signature, due to uncertainties as to the treatment of deeds and serious possible consequences of improper execution, i.e. not being able to sue on it, the common practice is to do it physically. It is best to print the entire document, sign with wet-ink signature and either exchange original copies or scanned fully executed copies by email with the counterparty. It is important to note that the entire document should be printed out and signed and returned to the counterparty when executing deeds, so as to prevent the Mercury Tax situation where there are multiple versions of deeds from happening again.

(2)     Is there a witnessing requirement for the execution of the document?

If witnessing is required, it is recommended to avoid doing so using electronic means because it is not uncertain whether virtual witnessing will be accepted as valid. Further caselaw or legislation will be required to clarify on this point. 

(3)  Are any foreign signatories involved?

If documents are required to be signed by signatories in foreign countries, foreign law on e-signing should be considered. This is especially important for a jurisdiction that affords less credibility to electronic documents.

(4)  Security issues

If parties want to e-sign through an e-signing platform, they should be careful when choosing an appropriate platform. This is because e-signing platforms are cloud-based and not all institutions have complete confidence in the security of cloud-based technology. Parties must ensure that the platforms are sufficiently secure and reliable for their purposes.

(5)       Is there a clause allowing documents to be executed in counterparts?

Virtual execution is only possible if parties may sign in counterparts and do not need to be physically present to sign at the same venue at the same time. Otherwise, even if the ETO allows for the use of electronic signatures, the document cannot be executed in electronic signatures unless in one entire agreement, which is the main restriction caused by the pandemic.

The author would like to thank Ms. Nicole Chan (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

Signing on papers becomes harder and parties would have to consider the alternative - virtual execution. 

About this article

By Ricky Ho

Associate

Ricky Ho, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and insolvency.

EN

4 分钟 2021年5月12日

在香港虚拟地签立文件

作者 何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

何振隆是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。何律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购、重组与破产清算。

4 分钟 2021年5月12日
Related topics 最新视野

2019冠状病毒病疫情已经持续一年多並仍在继续,改变了文件执行的方式。由于保持社交距离的政策和旅遊限制,在家工作已成为新常态,而大家对科技的依赖性也越来越强。这意味着打印机和扫描仪可能无法随时使用,而大多数会议则以虚拟方式举行。当在文件上签字变得更加困难时,各方不得不转向用虚拟方式签立文件。

方面的主要案例是英国的Mercury Tax Group Limited v HMRC [2008] EWHC 2721。案件本身与虚拟签署无关,但该案例包括文件是否被正确地签署的问题。在该案中,客户收到了草稿版本的签名页,随后这些签名页被装钉在最终版本的文件上。草稿和最终版本之间有很大的差异,而且在草稿中仍为空白的地方在最终版本时却是填上了重要的条款,所以法院不认为签署了草稿的各方也被视为授权并同意最终版本。此外,法院还认为其中一份文件(信托契约)不是有效执行的契约,因为签署和证明应该在同一份实体文件中。此案引发了虚拟的签立在何等条件下在法律上是否有效的讨论。

虚拟地签立文件的方法有很多种,包括:

  • JPEG签名 - 将已保存的签名的JPEG图像插入文件中。这通常被允许用于简单的合同,但《电子交易条例》(第553章)(“ETO”)规定的例外情况或需要“湿墨”签字的情况除外。代表公司使用这种签名方式的个人也应先得到公司的正式授权。
  • 电邮签名 - 打印出整个文件或至少签名页,签名后把其扫描并通过电邮返还予另一方。这在香港通常是允许的,除非该文件需要“湿墨”签名,如必须在土地注册处备案的文件。
  • 电子签署平台 - 一个允许签署人打开通过电邮发送的链接的文件并在平台上签署该文件的系统。每位签署人可以轮流签署文件,而在所有签署人都签署后,该平台将创建一个完全签署的PDF版本。这在香港暂未获得广泛应用,但如果使用的话将不适用于任何下文所述ETO的例外情况和契约。
ETO

在香港,管辖虚拟签立的主要条款是ETO。ETO第2(1)条对电子签署进行了定义,其形式可以是任何字母、字样、数字或其他符号。虽然电子签署可以采取任何形式,但必须附加到文件本身。例如,在最近的CRB v Mark Richard Charlton Sutherland [2020] HKDC 624一案中,法院认为有关的聘用协议并没有以虚拟形式被签立。这是因为在电子邮件内所附的书面聘用协议中,签名栏是空的。法院并不接受电邮中签署人的签名栏作为有效的电子签署。

另一方面,数码签署是电子签署的一种特殊形式,并在ETO第2(1)条中被定义。数码签署比电子签署更安全,因为收件人可以验证数码签署确实是由发件人创建和签署的。

在适用性方面,只有当交易涉及政府单位时,数码签署才是必须的,而政府单位在ETO第2(1)条中被定义为公职人员或公共机构。如果交易中没有涉及到这样的一方,只要符合ETO规定的某些条件,各方可以自由同意是否使用电子签署或数码签署。

有效的电子签署和数码签署的要求

有效的电子签署有三个元素:

  • 首先,其必须用以识别自己和显示自己认证或承认该电子记录内的资料。
  • 第二,就传达该资料的目的而言,所使用的方法应是可靠和适当的。
  • 第三,收件人应同意使用该电子签署的方法。

另一方面,数码签署必须有由认可核证机关所发出的认可证书证明该数码签署。目前,有两个可发出认可证书的认可核证机关 - 香港邮政核证机关和电子核证服务有限公司。

使用电子签署的例外情况

ETO附表一列出许多电子签署不适用的文件,包括某些遗嘱性质和信托的文件、与土地有关的转让文件、誓章、法院判决、法定声明和授权书。

此外,附表二列出电子签署不适用的法律程序,包括在原诉法庭和上诉法庭前进行的程序。虽然法庭文件在目前不可以使用电子签署,但电子记录根据第9条在法律程序中可被接纳为证据。

ETO的局限性

(1) 普通法下的合同规则

根据ETO第17(3)条,ETO受普通法下的合同规则限制。使用电子签名只是证明要约和接受的一种方式,对特定接受方式的明确意向可以是结论性的。这说明如果一份协议明确地规定只接受手写签名,ETO对使用电子签名的允许也不能推翻使用手写签名的明确意向。

(2) 见证的要求

在签立文件需要见证人的情况下,法律并没有解决通过视频会议的方式见证人是否构成有效的执行的问题,而ETO也没有对此作出具体说明。但是,目前被豁除的文件类别,如遗嘱和转让文件,都有特定的手续,其中之一就是要求有见证人,因此意味着法律似乎还不允许亲自见证以外的方式进行见证。

决定是否使用虚拟签立的实际考虑

只要符合ETO的规定,通过使用电子签署的方式进行虚拟签立在许多情况下都被允许,如简单的合同或公司决议或会议记录。在决定是否以电子签名方式执行文件时,应考虑以下几点。

(1) 电子签署是否允许用于该文件?

这将包括考虑该文件是否属于ETO的例外情况,并考虑到可能破坏签名适用性的情况,如登记或备案要求。

还应考虑是否有必要将文件作为契约执行。虽然ETO没有特别将契约排除在电子签署的使用范围外,但由于契约处理的不确定性和不适当执行可能带来的严重后果,即不能以契约作出起诉,通常的做法是各方将亲自执行契约。最好的做法是打印整份文件、用笔签名,然后与对方交换原件或通过电邮交换完全执行的扫描版本。需要注意的是,在执行契约时,应将整份文件打印出来并在签字后返还给对方,以防止Mercury Tax 中存在多个契约版本的情况再次发生。

(2) 该文件的执行是否有见证的要求?

如果需要见证,建议避免使用电子方式,因为并不确定虚拟见证是否会被接受为有效。在这一点上,还需要进一步的案例或立法来澄清。

(3) 该文件是否涉及任何外国签署人?

如果文件需要由外国的签署人签署,应考虑关于电子签名的适用外国法律。这对于一个对电子文件的可信度较低的司法管辖区来说尤其重要。

(4) 安全问题

如果当事人想通过电子签署平台进行电子签署,他们应该谨慎选择合适的平台。这是因为电子签署平台是基于云端技术,而不是所有机构都对云端技术的安全性有完全的信心。当事人必须确保这些平台对他们签立文件的目的而言是足够安全和可靠的。

(5)    该文件是否有允许文件以对等形式执行的条款?

虚拟签立只能在当事人可在多于一份协议文本上签署,而且不需要在同一时间在同一地点亲自签署的情况下实行。否则,即使ETO允许使用电子签名,文件也不能以非完整协议的电子签署方式执行,但这正是疫情造成的主要限制。

笔者在此感谢陈颖漩见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

当在文件上签字变得更加困难时,各方不得不转向用虚拟方式签立文件。

关于本文

作者 何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

何振隆是林朱律师事务所有限法律责任合伙的律师。何律师的主要业务领域包括香港上市及企业融资、兼并与收购、重组与破产清算。

Related topics 最新视野
[an error occurred while processing this directive]