EN

3 minute read 23 Sep 2021
NFC - Near field communication

Discussion on licensing of stored value facility and rewards programs

By Ricky Ho

Associate

Ricky Ho, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and insolvency.

3 minute read 23 Sep 2021
Related topics Our latest thinking

Hit by the pandemic, malls have been rolling out different promotions and discounts to spur local consumption as the Hong Kong Government has gradually relaxed the social-distancing rules amid signs that the spread of COVID-19 is easing locally. 

One of the promotions with great success was spending campaign whereby every spending of a certain amount at any retail store or restaurant in the malls could be exchanged for coupon rewards for use in such malls. This however may raise speculation as to the need to obtain a licence from the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) under the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance (Chapter 584 of the Laws of Hong Kong) (the “SVF Ordinance”). This article discusses the licensing of stored value facilities and its applicability to rewards programs in Hong Kong. 

Stored value facilities under the SVF Ordinance

Under section 2A(1) of the SVF Ordinance, a facility is an SVF if:

a)       it may be used for storing the value of an amount of money that –

(i)      is paid into the facility from time to time; and

(ii)     may be stored on the facility under the rules of the facility; and

b)       it may be used for either or both of the following purposes –

(i)      as a means of making payments for goods or services under an undertaking (whether express or implied) given by an issuer;

(ii)     as a means of making payments to another person (other than payments mentioned in sub-paragraph (i) above) under an undertaking (whether express or implied) given by the issuer.

Pursuant to section 2A(2) of the SVF Ordinance, the undertaking referred in section 2A(1)(b)(i) means an undertaking that, if the facility is used as a means of making payments for goods or services, the issuer, or a person procured by the issuer to accept such payments, will accept the payments up to the amount of the stored value that is available for use under the rules of the facility.

A typical example of a stored value facilities is contactless smart card for making payment when taking public transport whereby an amount of money is stored into such card with the understanding that certain stores (with the option of such payment) will accept payments up to the amount of the value in the card.

It follows that a licence is required for issuing or facilitating the issue of such stored value facilities under section 8B of the SVF Ordinance. Failure of which constitutes an offence and may be subject to a fine of HK$1 million and imprisonment for a maximum of 5 years.

Relevant exemptions and their applicability to spending campaigns

Back in 2020 when spending campaign was first launched in several malls in Hong Kong, there has been report to HKMA that such program might be in contravention of section 8B of the SVF Ordinance and a licence should have been obtained. We set out below some grounds in which spending campaign may exempt from the licensing requirements. 

(1)     Stored value facilities used within certain premises under paragraph 5 of Schedule 8 to the SVF Ordinance

Stored value facilities issued under an agreement between issuer and another person that can only be used as a means of making payments only for goods or services within a premise occupied by that other person will be exempt from the licensing requirement. A typical example would be membership cards used in staff canteens or restaurants in an organization.

This exemption is subject to the limitation that the total amount of the float of the facility shall not exceed HK$1 million. In cases where the issuer issues more than one facility, the same limitation applies to the aggregate amount of the float of these facilities.

The spending campaigns launched by different malls in Hong Kong are largely similar in nature and cross-spending is usually not allowed. The cash coupons are also only acceptable for payment in certain shops and restaurants that have reached certain consensus with the issuer. One concern is that for most of the spending campaigns, their total issue amount exceeded HK$1 million which potentially render them unfit for such exemption. There might be legal risks for issuer that intends to rely on such outright exemption without making a formal application for exemption (as explained below) if the total amount of the float of its facilities is way beyond the limit.

(2)     Stored value facilities used for certain cash rewards under paragraph 1 of Schedule 8 to the SVF Ordinance

Stored value facilities storing a sum of money paid by the issuer or a person under an agreement with the issuer and used for making payments for goods or services provided by the issuer or such person under the terms and condition of the facility will also be exempt. A typical example would be loyalty program provided by shops which offers cash rewards for customer loyalty.

Such rewards schemes usually do not involve money paid by the user (i.e. no money is stored in advance) and are merely incentives to entice spending. The level of risk, especially of misappropriation of the float of the stored value facilities, is minimal in comparison with the risk posed by the typical stored value facilities. Therefore, it has always been the legislation intention to exclude such cash rewards schemes from the scope of regulation.

Spending campaigns fall within this exemption in the sense that the value of the facilities was not endowed by the user but the issuer (i.e. the malls themselves). No advance payment from the user is required for the coupons to have values for future spending. It is therefore likely that the issuer can enjoy outright exemption under this provision on the assumption that the relevant coupons will not be for sale under any circumstances and can only be exchanged.

(3)     HKMA’s discretion

HKMA has the discretion, under section 8ZZZD of the SVF Ordinance, to exempt a stored value facility from being required to obtain a licence if the risks posed by it to the user or potential user are immaterial. Such exemption may be subject to any conditions that HKMA considers appropriate (e.g. a limit on the size of the float).

Factors that HKMA may take into account when deciding the grant of exemption include (but not limited to), among others, whether the facility is to be used only within or within a close proximity to the issuer premises; the range of goods and services for which the facility may be used as a payment; whether the scheme has adequate risk management controls; and if the issuer is financially sound.

Unlike the grounds aforementioned being outright exemptions provided in Schedule 8 to the SVF Ordinance, an application for exemption must be made to HKMA. Indeed, HKMA has historically granted exemption to a cash coupon system provided by a mall in Hong Kong. In other words, in the event where any spending campaign falls outside the realm of any outright exemption under the SVF Ordinance, provided that the issuer can satisfy HKMA that it is financially sound with adequate risk management controls in place, it is likely that such spending campaign would be exempt from the licensing requirement.

Key takeaway

Issuers of spending coupons for use in their malls are reminded to ensure that their schemes remain qualified for the exemption aforementioned, failure of which may not only lead to the exercise of HKMA’s discretion to request the issuer to make an application for a stored value facility licence but also potential criminal liability for contravening the licensing requirements under the SVF Ordinance. 

The author would like to thank Ms. Vanessa Wong (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

Issuers of spending coupons for use in their malls are reminded to ensure that their schemes remain qualified for the exemption.

About this article

By Ricky Ho

Associate

Ricky Ho, an Associate of LC Lawyers LLP, advises on Hong Kong IPO and corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and insolvency.

EN

3 分钟 2021年9月23日
NFC - Near field communication

浅谈储值支付工具发牌制度及奖励计划

作者 何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2021年9月23日
Related topics 最新视野

由于有迹象表明2019冠状病毒在香港的传播有所缓解,香港政府逐渐放宽了社会隔离规则。而受到疫情的影响,许多商场都推出了不同的促销和折扣活动,以刺激本地消费。

中一个非常成功的促销活动便是消费回赠计划,即在商场的任何零售店或餐馆消费达到一定金额,便可换取能在该商场使用的现金优惠券。然而,这等优惠可能会引起是否需要根据《支付系统及储值支付工具条例》(香港法例第584章)(“储值支付工具条例”)向香港金融管理局(“金管局”)申请获得牌照的疑虑。本文探讨储值支付工具的发牌制度及其在香港的奖励计划的适用性。

储值支付工具条例下的储值支付工具

根据储值支付工具条例第2A(1)条,某工具属储值支付工具若:

a)       该工具可用作储存款额的价值,而该款额指符合以下说明的款额–

(i)      不时存入该工具的;及

(ii)     是可根据该工具的规则储存于该工具的;及

b)       该工具可作以下两项或其中一项用途 –

(i)      根据发行人作出的承诺(不论是明订或隐含的),用作就货品或服务付款的方法;

(ii)     根据发行人作出的承诺(不论是明订或隐含的),用作向另一人付款(第(i)节所述的付款除外)的方法。

根据储值支付工具条例第2A(2)条,第2A(1)(b)(i)条所指的承诺是指,如有关工具用作就货品或服务付款的方法,发行人或由发行人促致接受该等付款的人,将会接受该等付款,但款额不超过根据该工具的规则可供使用的储值款额。

储值支付工具的一个典型例子便是乘坐公共交通时用于支付的非接触式智能卡,根据该卡的规定,某些商店(若有这种支付方式的选择)将接受不超过卡中价值数额的支付。

然而,根据储值支付工具条例第8B条的规定,发行或促进发行此等储值支付工具需要获得牌照,否则构成犯罪,可能会被处港币100万元罚款和最高5年的监禁。

相关豁免及其对奖励计划的适用性

早在2020年,当香港的几个商场首次推出消费回赠计划时,金管局收到报告有关这种活动可能违反储值支付工具条例第8B条,且应获得牌照。我们于下文列举一些消费回赠计划能够免于牌照要求的理由。

(1)     根据储值支付工具条例附表8第5段,在某些处所内使用的储值支付工具

根据有关发行人与另一人之间订立的协议发行的 ,且只可用作支付在该另一人所占用的处所内的货品或服务之储值支付工具则可获豁免。一个典型的例子是在特定的组织内的商店或员工餐厅使用的会员卡。

这项豁免的限制是,该工具的储值金额的款额,不能超过港币1百万元。若有关发行人发行多于一个储值支付工具,则该等工具的储值金额的总款额不能超过港币1百万元。

香港不同商场推出的消费回赠计划在性质上基本相似,且一般不允许交叉消费。现金优惠券也只允许在与发行人达成某种共识的某些商店和餐馆使用。一个值得关注的问题是,大多数消费回赠计划的总发行金额均超过了港币1百万元,这有可能导致它们不符合此豁免的条件。如果发行人打算在没有正式申请豁免的情况下依靠这种直接豁免(如下文所解释),在其储值金额的总款额远远超过限额的情况下,可能会有法律风险。

(2)     根据储值支付工具条例附表8第1段,用作某些现金回赠计划的储值支付工具 。

用于储存由发行人或与发行人有订立协议的另一人,且用作根据该工具的条款及条件支付由该另一人或发行人提供的货品或服务之储值支付工具亦会获得牌照豁免。一个典型的例子则是商铺为吸引客户惠顾而提供现金回赠的会员计划。

这种奖励计划通常不涉及消费者支付的金钱(即没有预先储存金钱),只是吸引消费的激励措施。与典型的储值支付工具所带来的风险相比,其风险水平,特别是挪用储值支付工具的款项的风险是极低的。因此,立法意图是将此类现金回赠计划一直排除在监管范围之外。

消费回赠计划属于这一豁免范围,因为这些现金优惠券的价值不是由消费者赋予的,而是由发行人(即商场本身)赋予的。不需要消费者提前支付,现金优惠券就有用于未来消费的价值。因此,假设相关的现金优惠券在任何情况下都不会被出售,且只能被交换,那么发行人很可能在这一条款下享有直接豁免。

(3)     金管局的酌情权

储值支付工具条例第8ZZZD条规定,若某储值支付工具对该工具的使用者、潜在使用者 或香港的支付系统或金融体系构成的风险属微不足道,金管局有酌情权豁免其需获得牌照的要求。此豁免可能受制于金管局认为适当的任何条件(例如对储值金额设有限额)。

金管局在决定是否给予豁免时可能考虑的因素包括(但不限于):该储值支付工具是否只在发行人所占用的处所内或附近使用;该储值支付工具可用作支付的商品和服务的范围;发行人是否有足够的风险管理控制;以及发行人是否财政稳健。

与上述根据储值支付工具条例附表8的直接豁免不同,发行人必须就此豁免向金管局提出豁免申请。事实上,金管局在过去曾对某香港商场的现金券计划给予豁免。换句话说,任何消费回赠计划如果不属于储值支付工具条例规定的任何直接豁免范围,只要发行人能够让金管局相信其财务状况稳健,并有足够的风险管理控制措施,那么这种消费回赠计划很可能会被豁免于牌照要求。

要点

发行用于商场内的现金优惠券的发行人应当确保其计划持续符合上述豁免条件,否则不仅可能导致金管局行使酌情权,要求发行人申请储值支付工具的牌照,还有可能因违反储值支付工具条例的牌照规定而承担刑事责任。

笔者在此感谢王芷棋见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

发行用于商场内的现金优惠券的发行人应当确保其计划持续符合豁免条件。

关于本文

作者 何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野