3 minute read 5 Dec 2022
Prosperity concept

ESG Series – COP27: Achievements and Deficiencies

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 5 Dec 2022

Show resources

After days of intense negotiations in Egypt, countries at COP27 reached an agreement on an outcome that established a funding mechanism to compensate vulnerable nations for “loss and damage” from climate-induced disasters. In this article, we will discuss the key decisions and responses from COP27.

Background of COP27

The “Conference of the Parties” (or commonly known as “COP”) is a global climate summit organised by the United Nations with the goal of bringing all the countries together to tackle climate change. This year is the 27th time that nations met to discuss this critical yet thorny topic (thus it is called “COP27”). The summit ended on 20 November 2022, two days later than the expected conclusion date due to difficulties in coordinating different participants to come to a consensus.

Loss and damage financing

COP27 reached a breakthrough agreement on the new “loss and damage” fund for vulnerable countries. Three decades ago, small island states and some developing countries started calling for compensation for the damage climate change inflicts on their communities. The term “compensation” was very sensitive for the developed nations which worried that such a fund may expose them to huge liabilities for historic and continuing emissions. Thus, the introduction of the “loss and damage” fund at COP27 was a huge milestone for small islands and other vulnerable nations.

A transitional committee will make recommendations on how to operationalise the funding arrangements and report at COP28 next year. The funding for loss and damage may come through “existing funding arrangements” such as development banks and debt relief and “innovative sources” which could mean taxes on fossil fuels, aviation and/or shipping. The European Union requires that support should only go to “vulnerable” countries, a term to be defined by the transitional committee.

Fossil fuels

In COP26, the climate conference in Glasgow made a push to secure global net zero emission by mid-century and keep a maximum of 1.5 C degrees of warming within reach and singled out coal as a problem for the first time, with countries agreeing to phase down its use.

In COP27, the deal text largely reiterates wording from COP26, calling up parties to accelerate "efforts towards the phase-down of unabated coal power and phase-out of inefficient fossil fuel subsidies”.  “Unabated” coal power is described by the International Energy Agency (IEA) as the use of coal power that is not mitigated with technologies to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, such as carbon capture utilisation and storage.

The COP27 deal referred to a new term “low emissions energy” alongside renewables as the energy sources of the future. It is believed that the new term means natural gas. In fact, COP27 host Egypt and certain other fossil gas-exporting governments are promoting natural gas as the cleanest hydrocarbon fossil fuel and the transitional source of energy to strike the right balance between emission reduction and knock-on societal effects resulting from a phase-out. By contrast, IEA said that if the world is to have an even chance of limiting global warming to 1.5 C degrees, then there should be no new gas fields and the use of unabated gas in the electricity system should fall 97% between 2021 and 2040. Although burning natural gas is a little over half as polluting to the climate as coal, methane venting and leaks from gas infrastructure can cause substantial pollution.[1]  

When the goal is shifted towards a “low-carbon economy” rather than a “zero-carbon economy”, the commitment to phase out or at least phase down may be slowed down.

Mitigation

Mitigation means avoiding and reducing emissions of heat-trapping greenhouse gases into the atmosphere to prevent the planet from warming to more extreme temperatures.

COP27 significantly advanced the work on mitigation that aimed at urgently scaling up mitigation ambition and implementation. The work programme will start immediately following COP27 and continue until 2030, with at least two global dialogues held each year. Governments are to revisit and strengthen the 2030 targets in their national climate plans by the end of 2023, as well as to accelerate efforts to phase down unabated coal power and phase out inefficient fossil fuel subsidies.

The decision text recognises that the unprecedented global energy crisis underlines the urgency to rapidly transform energy systems to be more secure, reliable, and resilient, by accelerating clean and just transitions to renewable energy during this critical decade of action.

International response to COP27

Countries closed COP27 with a hard-fought deal to create a fund to help developing countries being battered by climate disasters. However, COP27 was also questioned by certain government officials and experts for not being strictly committed to phase out fossil fuels or adopt more ambitious emission-cutting targets. [2]

Overall, the deal achieved in COP27 was considered a success for responding to the devastating impact that global warming is already having on vulnerable countries. But there are international concerns over the developed countries’ commitment in meeting their funding obligations, when the earlier COP goal of developed country parties to mobilise jointly US$100 billion per year by 2020 has not yet been met.[3] Also, the language used in the COP27 deal does not put stronger commitments on limiting global warming to 1.5 C degrees, thus arousing doubts on the achievement of that goal.

Show resources

  • ESG Series – COP27: Achievements and Deficiencies (pdf)

Summary

COP27 was considered a success for responding to the devastating impact that global warming is already having on vulnerable countries.

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Jacky Chan

Associate

Direct: +852 2675 2167 | Mobile: +852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年12月5日
Prosperity concept

环境、社会及企业管治系列- COP27:成就与不足

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年12月5日

显示相关资源

埃及经过数天的紧密谈判后,各国在COP27会议上达成协议,建立为因气候导致的灾害而遭受“损失和损害”的脆弱国家提供赔偿的筹资机制。在这篇文章中,我们将讨论COP27的主要决定和回应。

COP27的背景

“缔约方大会”(或通常称为“COP”)是由联合国组织的全球气候大会,目的是召集所有国家共同应对气候变化。今年是各国第27次开会讨论这一关键而棘手的议题(因此称为“COP27”),大会于2022年11月20日结束,由于难以协调不同的与会者以达成共识,因此结束日期比预期晚了两天。

损失和损害融资

COP27在为脆弱国家设立新的“损失和损害”基金达成了突破性协议。早在三十年前,小岛屿国家和一些发展中国家已经开始呼吁为气候变化对其社区造成的损害进行赔偿,发达国家对“赔偿”一词非常敏感,担心这类赔偿可能会使他们为此前和持续的排放承担巨大的责任。因此,在COP27会议引入“损失和损害”基金对小岛屿和其他脆弱国家来说是一个巨大的里程碑。

一个过渡委员会会就如何运作资金的安排提出建议,并在明年的COP28会议上作出报告。损失和损害的资金可能来自“现有的资金安排”,例如开发银行和债务减免,以及“创新来源”,这可能意味着对化石燃料、航空和/或航运的征税。欧盟要求援助只能提供给“脆弱国家”,脆弱一词将由过渡委员会来定义。

矿物燃料

在格拉斯哥举行的COP26会议上,气候大会推动在本世纪中叶确保全球净零排放、升温幅度控制在1.5摄氏度以内,并首次挑出煤炭为一个问题让各国同意逐步减少使用煤炭。

在COP27会议上,协议文本在很大程度上重申了COP26会议的措辞,呼吁各方加快“努力逐步减少有增无减的煤炭发电,逐步取消对低效化石燃料的补贴”。国际能源署(International Energy Agency)将“有增无减”的煤炭发电描述为未采用碳捕集、利用和封存等技术来减少二氧化碳排放的煤电使用。

COP27协议中提及一个新术语“低排放能源”,与可再生能源一起称为未来的能源。据悉,这个新词是指天然气。事实上,COP27东道主埃及和其他一些化石气出口国政府正在推动天然气作为最清洁的碳氢化合物化石燃料和过渡性能源,以在减少排放与淘汰所产生的连锁社会效应之间取得适当的平衡。然而,国际能源署表示,如果世界尚有机会将全球变暖限制在1.5摄氏度,那么就不应该有新的天然气田,而且在2021年至2040年期间,电力系统中有增无减的天然气使用应该下降97%。尽管燃烧天然气对气候的污染只有煤炭的一半多一点,但天然气基础设施的甲烷排放和泄漏也会造成大量污染。[1]

 当目标转向“低碳经济”而不是“零碳经济”时,淘汰或至少逐步减少的承诺可能会放缓。

缓解

缓解是指避免和减少温室气体排放到大气中,以防止地球变暖到更极端的温度。

COP27显著推进缓解工作,旨在紧急扩大缓解目标和实施缓解工作。该工作方案将在COP27之后立即启动,一直持续到2030年,每年至少举行两次全球对话。各国政府将在2023年底前重新审视并加强其2030年目标的国家气候计划,同时加快逐步减少有增无减的煤炭发电,和取消对低效化石燃料的补贴。

从决议文本可见,前所未有的全球能源危机在这关键的十年间凸显,需要通过加快清洁和公正地向可再生能源过渡,迅速转变能源系统,使其更加安全、可靠和有复原力。

国际社会对COP27的回应

各国在COP27会议结束时达成了一项艰难的协议,即建立一个基金来帮助遭受气候灾害的发展中国家。然而,COP27也受到了某些政府官员和专家质疑,大会没有严格承诺淘汰化石燃料或采取更宏大的减排目标。[2]

总体而言,就回应全球变暖已经对脆弱国家造成破坏而言,COP27达成的协议被认为是成功的,但是,国际社会对发达国家在履行其资金义务方面的承诺表示担忧,因为早前的缔约方大会上发达国家提出的到2020年每年共同调动1000亿美元的目标尚未实现。[3]此外,COP27协议中使用的措词没有对将全球变暖限制在1.5摄氏度做出更有力的承诺,因此这一目标的实现受到质疑。

显示相关资源

  • 环境、社会及企业管治系列- COP27:成就与不足 (pdf)

结语

联合国气候变化大会第27次缔约方会议(COP27)被认为在应对全球变暖已经对脆弱国家造成的破环性影响方面是成功的。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

陈政康 Jacky Chan

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2167 | 手机︰+852 9359 1116 | jacky-ch.chan@eylaw.com.hk