EN

3 minute read 24 Jan 2022

Special Purpose Acquisition Companies – Listing Regime in Hong Kong

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Ricky Ho

Associate

Direct: +852 2629 1713 | Mobile: +852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 24 Jan 2022
Related topics Our latest thinking

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (“Stock Exchange”) published in December 2021 the Conclusions[1] to its Consultation[2] of September 2021 on Special Purpose Acquisition Companies (“SPAC”), and the SPAC rules took effect on 1 January 2022 as part of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (“Main Board Listing Rules”). 

The Stock Exchange made it clear that Hong Kong regime is more stringent than that of the United States. In this article, we attempt to summarize the relevant rules and provide some analysis on certain significant aspects in relation to the SPAC listing rules.

Typical features of a SPAC

SPAC is a listing vehicle with no substantial business or asset, and its sole purpose is to raise capital through initial public offering (“IPO”) for future acquisition or merger with a target within a certain time period. It is typically formed by professional managers (i.e. SPAC promoters) who have private equity and corporate finance experience. At the IPO, the SPAC will issue shares for subscription by investors. It may at the same time offer SPAC warrants as a form of “sweetener” in the IPO. The SPAC may introduce new investors in the acquisition. Upon completion of the acquisition or merger, the SPAC and the target will then be combined, resulting in the listing of a “Successor Company” – this is referred to as a "De-SPAC transaction". If the SPAC does not complete a De-SPAC transaction within the specified time frame, it has to seek approval from its shareholders for an extension of the life of the SPAC, or be liquidated and the funds raised in the IPO will be returned to the SPAC investors.

Hong Kong’s SPAC regime set out in Chapter 18B of the Main Board Listing Rules[3]

Corporate governance

  • SPAC promoters: SPAC promoters must meet the Stock Exchange’s suitability and eligibility requirements. Each SPAC must have at least one promoter being a firm that holds a Type 6 (advising on corporate finance) and/or a Type 9 (asset management) license issued by the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”). They may subscribe for shares in the SPAC (“Promoter Shares”) and warrants (“Promoter Warrants”) but at least one such licensed promoter must hold at least 10% of the Promoter Shares.
  • SPAC directors: The SPAC board must include at least two individuals licensed by the SFC to carry out Type 6 and/or Type 9 regulated activities (one of whom must be a licensed person of a SPAC promoter). Any director nominated by a SPAC promoter to the SPAC board must be an officer of the SPAC promoter.

Listing and post-IPO obligations

  • Investors’ suitability: Professional investors may subscribe for SPAC shares and warrants. At the time of listing, SPAC shares and warrants must be distributed to a minimum of 75 professional investors of which at least 20 must be institutional professional investors and such institutional professional investors must hold at least 75% of the securities to be listed.
  • Trading of SPAC shares and warrants: Post-IPO trading of SPAC securities are limited to professional investors only. SPAC shares and warrants can be traded separately.
  • Fund raising size: Funds expected to be raised by a SPAC from its IPO must be at least HK$1 billion.
  • Escrow arrangement: A SPAC must hold 100% of its IPO proceeds (excluding proceeds raised from the issue of Promoter Shares and Promoter Warrants) in a ring-fenced escrow account in Hong Kong operated by a trustee or custodian. The monies must be held in the form of cash or cash equivalents.
  • Board lot size: The board lot size and subscription size must be of at least HK$1,000,000 for the SPAC shares.
  • SPAC warrants: The exercise price of the SPAC warrants must be at least 15% above the issue price of the SPAC shares. The exercise period must commence after the completion of a De-SPAC transaction, and must expire not less than one year and not more than five years from the date of the completion of a De-SPAC transaction. It will only result in the issuance of shares in the Successor Company upon exercise. The number of shares to be issued upon exercise of all outstanding warrants must not exceed 50% of the total number of shares in issue.
  • Promoter Shares and Promoter Warrants: Shares and warrants issued by a SPAC to any of its promoters will not have listing status. If the SPAC issues Promoter Shares and/or Promoter Warrants, the promoter must remain as the beneficial owner of such shares or warrants at the listing of the SPAC and for the lifetime of such securities. A SPAC must not issue any Promoter Shares to promoters that represent more than 20% of the total number of shares in issue as at the date of its listing. Promoter Warrants must not be issued at a price that is less than 10% of the issue price of SPAC shares at IPO and must not be exercisable during the period ending 12 months from the completion of a De-SPAC transaction.
  • Dealing prohibitions: SPAC promoters and their directors and employees, SPAC directors and employees, as well as their close associates are prohibited from dealing in any of the SPAC’s listed securities prior to the completion of a De-SPAC transaction.

Material change in promoters or directors

  • Approval by SPAC shareholders and the Stock Exchange: If there is a material change in (1) any SPAC promoter who controls 50% or more of the Promoter Shares, (2) any SPAC promoter which holds a Type 6 or Type 9 license issued by the SFC, (3) the eligibility and/or suitability of a SPAC promoter, or (4) a SPAC director licensed by the SFC to carry out Type 6 and/or Type 9 regulated activities, then the “continuation” of the SPAC following such a material change must be approved by (a) a special resolution of the SPAC shareholders at a general meeting within one month from the change and (b) the Stock Exchange.
  • Redemption opportunity: Prior to the vote on the continuation of the SPAC following a material change, the SPAC shareholders (other than holders of Promoter Shares) must be given the opportunity to elect to redeem their shares.

De-SPAC transaction

  • Listing application by the Successor Company: The target must meet all new listing requirements (including IPO sponsor appointment, due diligence requirements, financial eligibility tests and minimum market capitalisation requirements).  The terms of a De-SPAC transaction must include a condition that the transaction will not complete unless listing approval of the Successor Company’s shares is granted by the Stock Exchange. At least one sponsor must be appointed to assist the listing application of the Successor Company.
  • Use of the SPAC IPO proceeds: The De-SPAC target must have a “fair market value” representing at least 80% of the funds raised by the SPAC from the IPO prior to any share redemption. According to the Stock Exchange Guidance on SPAC issued in January 2022[4] (“SPAC Guidance”), when assessing the SPAC board’s opinion on the satisfaction of the “fair market value” requirement, the Stock Exchange will adopt a holistic approach and take into account factors such as (a) the basis of the opinion, (b) the negotiated value of the De-SPAC target as agreed by parties, (c) the sponsor’s opinion; (d) the independent third party investment amount and (e) the valuation of comparable companies.
  • Independent third party investment: The SPAC must obtain funds from independent investors (restricted to professional investors only) in the De-SPAC transaction. The minimum percentage of independent investments required is 25% for a target with negotiated value of less than HK$2 billion, 15% if the value is HK$2 billion or more but less than HK$5 billion, 10% if the value is of HK$5 billion or more but less than HK$7 billion, and 7.5% if the value is of HK$7 billion or more.
  • Qualification of independent third party investors: Independent third party investment must include significant investment from sophisticated investors. According to the SPAC Guidance, the Stock Exchange expects at least 50% of the value of the independent third party investment be contributed by no fewer than three investors who each is (a) an asset management firm with assets under management of at least HK$8 billion or (b) a fund with a fund size of at least HK$8 billion.
  • Announcement and listing document: The announcement and the listing document to be made by the SPAC for a De-SPAC transaction must be pre-vetted by the Stock Exchange. Both documents must be published and despatched to the SPAC shareholders by the time the SPAC gives notice of the general meeting to approve the De-SPAC transaction.
  • Shareholders’ approval: A De-SPAC transaction must be approved by SPAC shareholders at a general meeting (shareholders with a material interest and the SPAC promoters must abstain from voting). Written shareholders’ approval will not be accepted in lieu of holding a general meeting. The terms of any third party investment to complete the transaction must be subject to shareholders’ vote at the same general meeting.
  • Deadlines: A SPAC must publish a De-SPAC transaction announcement within 24 months of its listing. It must complete a De-SPAC transaction within 36 months of its listing. It may submit a request to the Stock Exchange for an extension of any of the deadlines if it has received shareholders’ approval of the extension. The Stock Exchange retains the discretion to approve or reject an extension request, but any extension will be for a period of only up to 6 months.

Redemption

  • Redemption circumstances: SPAC shareholders must be given the option to redeem their shares prior to a general meeting to approve (a) the continuation of the SPAC following a material change referred to above, (2) a De-SPAC transaction or (3) the extension of any of the deadlines mentioned above.

Liquidation and delisting

  • Return of funds to shareholders: If a SPAC fails to obtain shareholders’ approval for the continuation of the SPAC following a material change referred to above or fails to meet any of the deadlines as mentioned above, it must be liquidated and return all of the funds kept in the escrow arrangement to its shareholders. The Stock Exchange will then delist the SPAC.

Application of Hong Kong Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Share Buy-backs[5]

  • Application to the SPAC prior to a De-SPAC transaction: The Hong Kong Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Share Buy-backs (“Takeovers Code”) will apply to a SPAC. Where a person acquires SPAC shares such that it and its concert parties hold 30% or more of the voting rights of a SPAC, then it will have the obligation to make a general offer to holders of the other SPAC securities.
  • Waiver of application to a De-SPAC transaction: The SFC may waive the application of mandatory general offer obligation under the Takeovers Code in relation to a De-SPAC transaction, i.e. even if an owner of the De-SPAC target obtains 30% or more of the voting rights in the Successor Company after completion of the De-SPAC transaction, its obligation to make a general offer will be waived. When considering the waiver application, the SFC may consider factors such as (a) the De-SPAC target owner’s shareholding in the SPAC and its dealings in SPAC securities and (b) any relationship between the owner of the target and the SPAC promoters, and parties acting in concert with any of them.

SPAC promoters

SPAC investors rely on the SPAC promoters’ ability to identify suitable De-SPAC targets and negotiate terms for the De-SPAC transactions that will provide them with attractive returns on their investments. In order to avoid SPAC promoters signing up for De-SPAC transactions with sub-standard targets, the Stock Exchange will consider only experienced and reputable promoters to be suitable. The SPAC Guidance sets out expectations on a promoter’s track record in SPACs, fund raising and investment management, as well as relevant criteria such as details of its licenses, potential competition with the SPAC, and history of compliance with applicable laws and regulations. Although such high entry point will help safeguard the investors’ interests, it limits the pool of institutions and persons to be eligible as SPAC promoters.

Redemption rights vs additional third party investments

Another protection afforded to SPAC shareholders is their rights to redeem shares in the SPAC. However, the Joint Study referred to by the Stock Exchange[6] found that the average and median redemption rates among its 2019-20 study cohort were as high as 58% and 73%, respectively. A quarter of the cohort saw redemption rates of over 95%. An average of 92% of institutional investors in SPACs divested their SPAC shareholdings prior to the closure of De-SPAC transactions, either through redemption or selling their SPAC shares in the secondary market.

Where redemptions reduce the cash amount for completing De-SPAC transactions, many SPACs mitigate this concern by seeking third party investments that are contingent upon the closing of the De-SPAC transactions. The Joint Study found, for a third of the SPACs in its study cohort, the majority of overall funds raised by a SPAC were not from the SPAC IPO proceeds, but from additional third party investments.

While the redemption right provides an exit to the SPAC shareholders, it also creates uncertainty to the SPAC resources for closing De-SPAC transactions which ironically is the primary objective of the SPAC.

Vetting of the listing application of the Successor Company

During the public discussions on SPACs before the Stock Exchange issued its consultation paper in September 2021, one controversy was, apart from the SPAC shareholders’ approval of the De-SPAC transaction, whether the Successor Company’s listing application should be subject to the current new listing requirements, and if not, whether SPACs might open a leeway for listing of De-SPAC targets which would not otherwise satisfy the new listing requirements.

The Stock Exchange proposed to consider a De-SPAC transaction in the same way as a reverse takeover (i.e. a deemed new listing) and require the Successor Company to meet all new listing requirements. Although such proposal received opposition from 33% of the respondents, the Stock Exchange stressed that the intention of introducing the SPAC regime is not to replace the traditional IPO route.

Therefore, the Stock Exchange adopted its proposal. All new listing requirements apply to the listing application of a Successor Company which include IPO sponsors who are to ensure the quality of assets and businesses listed via De-SPAC transactions by ensuring due diligence on the targets. In respect of the management continuity and ownership continuity requirements, the Stock Exchange may grant waivers on a case-by-case basis.

On top of the new listing requirements, the completion of a De-SPAC transaction also depends on the negotiation with the target owner, the availability of independent third party investments and the Stock Exchange’s vetting of the listing application including the valuation of the target (which is unlikely to be faster than the vetting of a traditional listing application).

It seems that a SPAC structure does not put the De-SPAC target in a position that makes it easier to list the target’s business in Hong Kong.

Market misconduct risks

A SPAC does not have any business operations. The market value of its securities depends very much on whether it is able to seek suitable De-SPAC targets and complete a De-SPAC transaction. This means that someone possessing inside information regarding such a transaction prior to its announcement might make a substantial gain from insider dealing in the SPAC securities before the transaction is announced. Consequently, the probability of insider dealing occurring in a listed SPAC tends to be higher than for an ordinary listed company.

A SPAC’s share and warrant prices are likely to be very sensitive to rumours on potential De-SPAC transactions. It may make SPAC securities more susceptible to market manipulation attempted by fraudsters who deliberately spread rumours (e.g. via social media platforms) of a forthcoming De-SPAC transaction to raise the prices of SPAC shares and/or warrants to levels at which it is advantageous for them to sell.

Regulators will need to step up their oversight on dealings in SPAC securities in order to address the risks of market misconduct.

Overall implications of the Hong Kong SPAC regime

The launch of the SPAC regime offers more investment alternatives and thus strengthens Hong Kong’s position as a leading international financial centre, but the stringent requirements are not likely to attract a large number of SPAC IPOs in the short run.

Summary

In this article, we attempt to summarize the relevant rules and provide some analysis on certain significant aspects in relation to the SPAC listing rules.

About this article

Authors
Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Ricky Ho

Associate

Direct: +852 2629 1713 | Mobile: +852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

EN

3 分钟 2022年1月24日

特殊目的收购公司-香港上市制度

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年1月24日
Related topics 最新视野

香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)于2021年12月就其2021年9月有关特殊目的收购公司(“特殊目的收购公司”)的咨询文件[1]发布了咨询总结[2],而特殊目的收购公司的上市规则于2022年1月1日起生效,并成为《香港联合交易所有限公司证券上市规则》(“《主板上市规则》”)的一部分,联交所表明香港的特殊目的收购公司制度相比美国的制度更严格。

本文,我们将撮要介绍特殊目的收购公司的上市规则,并对特殊目的收购公司某些重要范畴作出分析。

特殊目的收购公司的典型特征

特殊目的收购公司是一种无实际业务或资产的上市主体,而其唯一目的是透过首次公开发售集资,于上市后一段时间内收购标的公司或与其合并。特殊目的收购公司一般由具有私募投资及企业融资的专业管理人(即特殊目的收购公司发起人)成立。特殊目的收购公司在首次公开发售时发行股份供投资者认购,同时可能提供权证作为首次公开发售的“甜头”。特殊目的收购公司可以于进行收购时加入新投资者,收购或合并完成后,特殊目的收购公司与该标的公司将结合从而达到“继承公司”的上市,这被称为“特殊目的收购公司并购交易”。如特殊目的收购公司没有于特定时间内完成该种交易,则其需要寻求股东批准延长该公司的有效期,或将公司清盘并把首次公开发售款项返还予股东。

载于《主板上市规则》第十八B章列出的香港特殊目的收购公司制度[3]

企业管治

  • 特殊目的收购公司发起人: 特殊目的收购公司发起人须符合联交所就其合适性及资格的规定。每家特殊目的收购公司须有至少一名持有香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)发出的第6类(就机构融资提供意见)及/或第9类(提供资产管理)牌照。发起人可认购特殊目的收购公司的股份(“发起人股份”)及权证(“发起人权证”),但至少一名发起人须持有至少10%的发起人股份。
  • 特殊目的收购公司的董事: 特殊目的收购公司的董事会须包括至少两名持有证监会第6类或第9类牌照的人士(其中一名须为代表持有证监会牌照的特殊目的收购公司发起人)。任何特殊目的收购公司发起人所提名的董事会成员须为该发起人的高级人员。

上市及上市后的责任

  • 投资者的合适性:专业投资者可以认购特殊目的收购公司的股份及权证。在上市时,特殊目的收购公司的股份及权证须分发予至少75名专业投资者,而其中至少20名须为机构投资者,且机构专业投资者须持有至少75%的待上市证券。
  • 特殊目的收购公司股份及权证的交易:首次公开发售后的特殊目的收购公司的证券交易仅限供专业投资者参与,特殊目的收购公司的股份及证券可分开作交易。
  • 集资规模:特殊目的收购公司预期从首次发售筹集到的资金须至少为10亿港元。
  • 托管安排:特殊目的收购公司在首次发售中所筹集的款项总额(发行发起人股份及发起人权证的收益除外)须全部存入香港封闭式托管账户,并由受托人或保管人操作,账户款项须以现金或现金等价物的形式持有。
  • 股份交易单位: 特殊目的收购公司股份的交易单位及认购额须至少为100万港元。
  • 特殊目的收购公司权证:特殊目的收购公司权证的最低行使价须为较特殊目的收购公司股份发行价高出至少15%。行使期须于特殊目的收购公司并购交易完成后才开始,而且其到期日为由交易完成之日起不少于一年及不多于五年内,行使仅能引发继承公司发行股份,发行的特殊目的收购公司股份数目不得超过该等权证发行时已发行股份数目的50%。
  • 发起人股份及发起人权证:特殊目的收购公司向其发起人发行的股份及权证不具有上市地位。如特殊目的收购公司发行发起人股份及/或发起人权证,该发起人须一直是该等发起人股份或发起人权证的实益拥有人。特殊目的收购公司不得向发起人配发、发行或授予多于在上市之日已发行股份总数20%的发起人股份。发起人权证的发行价不得低于特殊目的收购公司股份于首次公开发售时发行价的10%,而且在完成特殊目的收购公司并购交易完成日期起计12个月内发起人权证不得被行使。
  • 买卖限制:特殊目的收购公司发起人及其董事及雇员、特殊目的收购公司董事及雇员,以及其紧密联系人于特殊目的收购公司并购交易完成前,严禁买卖特殊目的收购公司的任何上市证券。

发起人或董事的重大变动

  • 特殊目的收购公司股东及联交所的批准:如以下范畴发生重大改变:(1)任何控制50%或以上发起人股份的特殊目的收购公司发起人、(2)任何持有证监会发出的第6类或第9类牌照的特殊目的收购公司发起人、(3)特殊目的收购公司发起人的资格及/或合适性、或(4)持有证监会第6类及/或第9类监管活动牌照的特殊目的收购公司董事,则特殊目的收购公司于该重大变动后的“存续”须获得(a)由股东于该变动起计一个月内于股东大会透过特别决议批准及(b)联交所的批准。
  • 赎回机会:于特殊目的收购公司重大变动后,而在特殊目的收购公司是否存续的股东表决前,特殊目的收购公司的股东(发起人股份的持有人除外)须有机会选择赎回其股份。

特殊目的收购公司并购交易

  • 继承公司的上市申请:收购标的须符合所有新上市的要求(包括委聘首次公开发售保荐人、尽职审查要求、财务资格测试及最低市值要求)。特殊目的收购公司并购交易的条款须包含一项条件:除非继承公司的股份上市申请获得联交所的批准,否则交易将不会完成。须委聘至少一名保荐人以协助继承公司的上市申请。
  • 特殊目的收购公司首次公开发售款项的使用:特殊目的收购公司并购标的的公允值须达到特殊目的收购公司首次公开发售筹集的资金(进行任何股份赎回前)的至少80%。根据联交所于2022年1月发布的《有关特殊目的收购公司的指引》[4](“《指引》”),当评估特殊目的收购公司董事会对“公允值”形成的意见时,联交所将会全面考虑多方面因素,例如(a)该意见依赖的基础;(b)特殊目的收购公司并购各方就标的议定的价值;(c)保荐人的意见;(d)独立第三方投资者投入的金额;及(e)与并购标的可比的公司之估值。
  • 独立第三方投资:特殊目的收购公司须于特殊目的收购公司并购交易中从独立投资者(仅限于专业投资者)募集资金。独立投资的最低百分比为25%:如果标的之议定估值为20亿港元以下;15%:如果标的之议定估值为20亿港元或以上但少于50亿港元;10%:如果标的之议定估值为50亿港元或以上但少于70亿港元,或7.5%:如果标的之议定估值为70亿港元或以上。
  • 独立第三方投资者的资格:独立第三方投资需包括资深投资者的重大投资,根据《指引》,联交所期望独立第三方投资额至少50%来自不少于三名具有以下特征的投资者:(a)管理资产总值至少达80亿港元的资产管理公司或(b)规模至少达80亿港元的基金。
  • 公告及上市文件:特殊目的收购公司就特殊目的收购公司并购交易而发布的公告及上市文件须由联交所事先审核,两份文件须于发出批准特殊目的收购公司并购交易的股东大会的通知时同时公布并寄发予特殊目的收购公司股东。
  • 股东批准:特殊目的收购公司并购交易须经过特殊目的收购公司股东于股东大会批准(拥有重大利益的股东及特殊目的收购公司发起人须放弃表决权),股东大会不能以股东书面批准代替。任何为完成并购交易而进行的第三方投资的条款须于同一个股东大会被股东考虑。
  • 期限:特殊目的收购公司须在上市后24个月内刊发特殊目的收购公司并购公告,并在36个月内完成特殊目的收购公司并购交易。如其已在股东大会上经股东批准延长任何期限,则可向联交所提出延期要求。联交所有酌情权批准或拒绝延期要求,但任何延长最多为6个月。

赎回

  • 赎回情况:于股东批准(1)重大变动后特殊目的收购公司是否存续、(2)特殊目的收购公司并购交易,或(3)延长上述任何期限前,特殊目的收购公司的股东须有机会选择赎回其股份。

清盘及除牌

  • 款项返还予股东:如特殊目的收购公司未能于出现重大变更后一个月内就该变更获得所需的股东批准,或未能符合任何上述的期限,则特殊目的收购公司须清盘,并将被托管的全数款项退还给股东,联交所随即会取消特殊目的收购公司的上市地位。

《公司收购、合并及股份回购守则》的适用情况[5]

  • 特殊目的收购公司并购交易完成前:《公司收购、合并及股份回购守则》(“《收购守则》”)适用于特殊目的收购公司。当一位人士认购特殊目的收购公司股份至其及其一致行动人士持有特殊目的收购公司的30%或以上的投票权,其须向其他特殊目的收购公司证券的持有人作出强制性全面要约。
  • 特殊目的收购公司并购交易的豁免:证监会可豁免在《收购守则》下有关特殊目的收购公司并购交易的强制性全面要约责任,即使特殊目的收购公司并购标的的拥有人于并购交易完成后获得继承公司的30%或更多之投票权,其强制性全面要约责任可被豁免。证监会考虑豁免申请时会考量以下因素:(a)特殊目的收购公司并购标的拥有人于特殊目的收购公司的持股量,及特殊目的收购公司证券的交易记录,及(b)特殊目的收购公司并购标的拥有人与特殊目的收购公司发起人及其各自一致行动人士之间是否存在任何关系。

特殊目的收购公司发起人

特殊目的收购公司投资者依赖特殊目的收购公司发起人找到合适的并购交易对象,及就并购交易的条款进行谈判的能力,以便为其投资提供有吸引力的回报。为了避免发起人安排特殊目的收购公司与低标准的标的进行并购交易,联交所仅认定经验丰富及信誉良好的发起人为合适人选。《指引》列出对发起人在营运其他特殊目的收购公司、资金筹集及投资管理之往绩的期望,以及相关标准,如其牌照的细节、与特殊目的收购公司的潜在竞争、及遵守适用法律及法规的历史。虽然此高门槛有助于保障投资者的利益,但也限制了有资格成为香港特殊目的收购公司发起人的机构及个人的数量。

赎回权与额外的第三方投资

赋予特殊目的收购公司股东的另一项保护是其赎回特殊目的收购公司股份的权利,但是,联交所提及的联合研究[6]发现,在其2019至2020年研究对象中赎回率的平均及中位数分别高达58%及73%,当中四分之一的赎回率超过95%,平均而言92%的特殊目的收购公司之机构投资者于并购交易结束前都会通过赎回或于二级市场上出售其特殊目的收购公司股份以退出特殊目的收购公司的投资。

股份赎回必然减少完成并购交易的现金,许多特殊目的收购公司会通过寻求以并购交易完成为先决条件的第三方投资以缓解这种问题。联合研究发现,在其研究对象中,有三分之一的特殊目的收购公司筹集的资金大部分并不是源于特殊目的收购公司的首次公开发售款项,而是来自额外的第三方投资。

虽然赎回权为特殊目的收购公司股东提供一个退出的机会,但其也为特殊目的收购公司完成并购交易的资源带来了不确定性,然而,并购交易恰恰是特殊目的收购公司的主要目标。

继承公司的上市申请之审核

联交所在2021年9月发布咨询文件前,公众关于特殊目的收购公司的讨论中有一个颇具争议的课题:继承公司的上市申请除了股东对并购交易的批准外,是否应遵守目前的新上市要求;而如不需要,特殊目的收购公司可为原本不符合新上市要求的标的的上市打开一条通道。

联交所建议以与“反收购项目”相同的方式考虑特殊目的收购公司并购交易(即视为新上市),并要求继承公司符合所有新上市要求。虽然33%的回应咨询的人士反对该建议,但联交所仍然强调引入特殊目的收购公司上市制度并非要取代传统首次公开发售的途径。

最后,联交所采纳了自身原本的建议,所有新上市要求将适用于继承公司的上市申请,包括首次公开发售保荐人,以确保对标的作出尽职审查,及透过特殊目的收购公司并购上市的资产及业务具有一定的质素。而就管理层及拥有人维持不变的规定而言,联交所可个别考虑是否给予豁免。

除新上市要求外,特殊目的收购公司并购交易的完成还取决于与标的公司拥有人的谈判、是否可引入独立第三方的投资及联交所对上市申请的审核,包括对标的公司的估值(这比传统上市申请的审核不太可能更快)。

运用特殊目的收购公司这途径似乎并不能让并购标的更容易于香港上市。

市场失当行为的风险

特殊目的收购公司没有任何业务运作,其证券的市场价值很大程度取决于其是否能寻找合适的并购标的,并完成特殊目的收购公司并购交易。这意味着,在宣布交易之前,拥有这类交易的内幕消息的人可能会在宣布交易前通过对特殊目的收购公司的证券进行内幕交易而获取巨大收益。因此,在上市的特殊目的收购公司中发生内幕交易的概率往往高于一般上市公司。

特殊目的收购公司的股份及权证的价格可能对潜在并购交易的谣言非常敏感,这可能使特殊目的收购公司证券更容易受到欺诈者的市场操纵,例如透过故意散布即将进行并购交易的谣言(包括通过社交媒体平台),将特殊目的收购公司股份及/或权证的价格提高到出售有利的水平。

监管机构将需要加强对特殊目的收购公司证券交易的监督,以应对市场失当行为的风险。

香港特殊目的收购公司制度的总体影响

特殊目的收购公司制度的推出提供更多的投资选择,从而加强香港作为领先的国际金融中心的地位,但香港严格的要求在短期内不太可能吸引大量的特殊目的收购公司于香港进行首次公开发售。

结语

在本文,我们将撮要介绍特殊目的收购公司的上市规则,并对特殊目的收购公司某些重要范畴作出分析。

关于本文

作者
朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

何振隆 Ricky Ho

律师

直线︰+852 2629 1713 | 手机︰+852 9662 5912 | ricky.cl.ho@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野