EN

3 minute read 6 Jan 2022

Stock Exchange Conclusions on Corporate Governance Code

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 6 Jan 2022
Related topics Our latest thinking

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (“Stock Exchange”) published in December 2021 the conclusions[1] to its consultation paper of April 2021 titled “Review of Corporate Governance Code and Related Listing Rules”[2], with an aim to enhance the corporate governance practices and reporting by listed companies. 

The Stock Exchange adopts most of the proposals outlined in the consultation paper, with certain modifications or clarifications, in the respect of (i) culture, (ii) board independence and refreshment, (iii) diversity, (iv) nomination committee, (v) communications with shareholders, (vi) certain enhancements relating to directors, (vii) linkage between corporate governance and ESG (environment, social and governance), (viii) timely disclosure of ESG reports and (ix) re-arrangement of the Corporate Governance Code. In this article, we will focus on three controversial areas as the Stock Exchange received highest rates of opposing responses (up to 36%) in its Consultation Conclusion[1]. These areas are board independence, refreshment and gender diversity.

Board independence

Independent non-executive directors (“INEDs”) in Hong Kong listed companies are expected to play a crucial role in achieving good corporate governance. They should be able to provide independent oversight and constructive challenge to the executive directors, but a core condition is that they do not have a material or pecuniary relationship with the listed company or its related persons.

The Listing Rules for the Main Board and GEM in Hong Kong set out a non-exhaustive list of factors to be taken into account when assessing “independence” of INEDs. Currently, there is a requirement to disclose each INED’s cross-directorships or significant links with other directors in the Corporate Governance Report, and the board is also required to set out the reasons why it considers the individual to be independent.

Proposal: In furtherance of this, the Stock Exchange proposed to require disclosure of a policy to ensure independent views are available to the board and an annual review of the implementation and effectiveness of such policy. 70% of the respondents supported the proposal and 30% opposed it. Some respondents considered that the proposed policy cannot address independence issues because of the difficulty to measure “independent views”.

Conclusion: This proposal is adopted with certain revised wordings, and will apply to financial year commencing on or after 1 January 2022. The Stock Exchange pointed out that the aim is to urge listed companies put in place mechanisms to ensure a strong independent element on the board which is key to an effective board. Those mechanisms do not necessarily have to be set out on a standalone basis, but may be covered in the INED recruitment process (e.g. in respect of time commitments/ qualifications), the number of INEDs, the assessment or evaluation of INEDs’ contribution, or other channels where independent views are available (e.g. by directors’ access to external independent professional advice to assist in the performance of their duties).

Also, the Stock Exchange published a “Corporate Governance Guide for Boards and Directors” [3] in December 2021 which includes suggestions on how to conduct board evaluation, e.g. the steps involved and how to disclose the results of the evaluation for accountability and transparency.

Board refreshment

For a long-serving INED who has served more than 9 years, the listed company is currently required to make a separate shareholders’ resolution for further appointment of a long-serving INED and explain to shareholders why the board believes such INED is still independent and should be re-elected, otherwise the company has to explain why such a shareholders’ resolution is not necessary.

As of 31 December 2020, around 17.7% of INED directorships were occupied by long-serving INEDs who sit across almost 1/3 of listed companies. Around 150 listed companies (5.9%) had all their INEDs serving the boards for 9 years or more.

The consultation paper pointed out that serving as INED on a board for a prolonged period may increase the risk of complacencies given the familiarity with management. Similar concerns are also shared by regulators in the UK, Singapore and Australia. More importantly, regular reviews and refreshment of INED directorship may enhance accountability of the board and generate new ideas and business strategies.

Proposals: The Stock Exchange proposed that (a) the re-election of a long serving INED be subject to approval by independent shareholders and (b) additional disclosure on such INED’s independence and suitability to re-elected. This proposal met with opposition from 35% of the respondents. The divergence of views was around independent shareholders’ approval and opposing respondents commented that all shareholders should be entitled to vote on board appointments. The proposed additional disclosure received wide acceptance.

Another proposal is the appointment of a new INED where all INEDs are long serving. 71% of the respondents supported and 29% opposed it.

Conclusions: Considering the different views, the Stock Exchange decided that:

  • Independent shareholders’ approval of the re-election of a long serving INED is not required.
  • Additional disclosure should be made on factors considered, the process and the discussion of the board of the nomination committee on why the long-serving INED is still independent and should be re-elected. Such requirement will apply to the financial year commencing on or after 1 January 2022.
  • A listed company must appoint a new INED if all its existing INEDs are long-serving. The Stock Exchange appreciates concerns regarding the difficulty in finding suitable INED candidates and will allow a transition period by implementing this requirement to the financial year commencing on or after 1 January 2023.
  • The length of tenure of the long-serving INEDs must be disclosed on a named basis in the shareholders’ circular, and such requirement take effect for the financial year commencing on or after 1 January 2022.

Gender diversity of board members

The board of a listed company should have a balance of skills, experience and diversity of perspectives appropriate for the company’s business.

Currently, a listed company must have a board diversity policy and disclose the policy (or a summary) in its Corporate Governance Report, which should include any measurable objectives that it has set for implementing the policy, as well as the progress on achieving those objectives. Starting from May 2019, the Stock Exchange requires an IPO applicant to disclose its board diversity policy in its prospectus, and any applicant with a single gender board is further required to make additional disclosures on how gender diversity can be achieved.

Despite such requirements, only 12.7% of Hong Kong listed companies’ directorships were held by woman in 2020, while women held 34.4% of directorships in the UK, 28.2% in the US, and 19.5% in Singapore. More recent statistics as of 31 December 2020 show that 32.1% of the 2,538 Hong Kong listed companies had no female directors while around 37.4% had only one.

Proposals: In order to further promote gender diversity which is more easily measured as compared to other diversity aspects, the Stock Exchange proposed that:

  • Single gender board not to be acceptable. 24% of the respondents opposed it. Some supporting respondents even suggested a minimum women director proportion to be achieved within specific timeline, while the opponents argued that director appointments should be under a fair system based on merit and the proposal might lead to tokenism.
  • Each listed company to set and disclose numerical targets and timelines for achieving gender diversity at board level and across the workforce (including senior management). This met with opposition from 36% of the respondents. In respect of targets at workforce level, respondents questioned the feasibility and meaningfulness of setting targets, as some industries are constrained by the industry nature, or the country where the main operation is located.
  • Annual review to be carried out on the implementation and effective of the board diversity policy. 88% of the respondents supported the proposal and 12% opposed it.
  • The forms to be filled in by new directors be amended to include directors’ gender information, and the director’s age, gender and other directorships be displayed on the Stock Exchange website. Again, this proposal was widely supported by 87% of the respondents.

Conclusions: The Stock Exchange decided that:

  • Single gender board will be phased out, i.e. the Stock Exchange will not consider diversity to be achieved for a single gender board. To strike a balance against the practical situations for Hong Kong listed companies, the Stock Exchange allows existing listed companies with single gender boards to have a three-year transition period (i.e. no later than 31 December 2024) to appoint at least a director of a different gender.  Also, for any listing application filed on or after 1 July 2022, the IPO applicant with single gender board will not be accepted.
  • The numerical targets and timelines for achieving gender diversity are required only at board level. For the workforce level, a listed company must disclose (i) gender ratios in the workforce (including senior management), (ii) any plans or measurable objectives set for achieving gender diversity and (iii) any mitigating factors or circumstances which make achieving gender diversity across the workforce (including senior management) more challenging or less relevant.
  • Annual review of board diversity policy will be required, with information on a board skills matrix included in the Stock Exchange’s Corporate Governance Guidance.
  • The director’s forms will be amended to include directors’ gender information.
  • The second to fourth proposals will be implemented to the financial year commencing on or after 1 January 2022.

Takeaways

The Stock Exchange has stressed the importance of enhancing corporate governance. Apart from starting to prepare for the new requirements, listed companies need to appreciate that such requirements are neither the highest standards nor the ultimate targets. The public will increasingly raise expectations for corporate governance.

The author would like to thank Ms. Nicole Chan (trainee solicitor) for her contribution in this article.

Summary

In this article, we will focus on three controversial areas as the Stock Exchange received highest rates of opposing responses (up to 36%) in its Consultation Conclusion. These areas are board independence, refreshment and gender diversity.

About this article

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

EN

3 分钟 2022年1月6日

香港交易所就《企业管治守则》的咨询总结

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年1月6日
Related topics 最新视野

香港联合交易所有限公司(“联交所”)于2021年12月发布了咨询总结[1],旨回应于2021年4月检讨《企业管治守则》及相关《上市规则》条文的咨询文件[2],以提升上市公司的企业管治之常规及报告。

交所采纳咨询文件内所列的大部分建议,但作出若干修改及澄清,范畴为(i)文化、(ii)董事会独立性及更新、(iii)董事会成员多元化、(iv)提名委员会、(v)与股东的沟通、(vi)若干与董事相关的优化措施、(vii)企业管治与 ESG(即环境、社会及管治)的关系、(viii)适时披露《环境、社会及管治报告》及(ix)重新编排《企业管治守则》。

我们在本文简述三个颇争议的领域(即董事会的独立性、成员更新和性别多元化),原因是联交所在咨询结论[1]中就该等领域收到的反对回应率最高(高达36%)。

董事会的独立性

香港上市公司的独立非执行董事(“独董”)对实现良好企业管治发挥着关键的作用,他们能对执行董事提供独立的监督和建设性的质疑,但核心条件是他们与上市公司或其关连人士没有重大或金钱上的关系。

香港主板和创业板的上市规则列出了评估独董的“独立性”时应考虑的因素,但该清单并非全面的。目前,上市规则也要求在企业管治报告中披露每个独董的其他董事职位或与其余董事的重要联系,董事会还需说明其认为该名人士是独立的原因。

建议:为促进以上目的,联交所建议要求上市公司披露有关确保董事会可取得独立观点的政策,并每年检讨政策的实施及有效性。回应咨询的人士中有70%赞成,30%反对。部分回应人士认为计量独立意见并不可行,因此建议的政策无法解决董事独立性的问题。

结论:联交所采纳这建议,并修改了某些规则的措辞。建议将适用于由2022年1月1日或之后开始的财政年度。联交所指出目的是督促上市公司建立机制,以确保董事会拥有强大的独立元素,这是董事会有效运作的关键。相关机制不一定要载于独立政策中,也可以涵盖在独董的招聘程序(例如独董付出的时间/资格)、独董的人数、对独董贡献的评估或其他可取得独立意见的渠道(例如董事可取得外部独立专业意见以协助其执行职务)。

此外,联交所于 2021 年 12 月发布了《董事会和董事企业管治指引》[3],其中包括有关如何进行董事会评估的建议,例如涉及的步骤以及如何披露问责制和透明度评估的结果。

董事会的成员更新

对于已任职超过 9 年的长期服务独董,上市公司现时需另行寻求股东决议以再委任该长期服务的独董,并向股东解释为何董事会认为该独董仍是独立且应当获重选,否则公司需解释为何不需寻求股东决议。

截至 2020 年 12 月 31 日,约 17.7% 的独董为长期服务的董事,他们遍布三分之一的香港上市公司。大约 150 家上市公司(5.9%)的所有独董均于董事会任职了 9 年或以上。

咨询文件指出,长期在董事会任职的独董可能鉴于对管理层的熟悉程度而导致独立性削弱的风险增加,英国、新加坡和澳大利亚的监管机构也有类似的担忧。更重要的是,独董的定期检讨和更新可以加强董事会的问责效力,并产生新的想法和业务战略。

建议:联交所建议(a)长期任职的独董的重选需经独立股东批准及(b)额外披露有关该独董的独立性及是否适合重选。这建议遭到了35%的回应者的反对。意见分歧在于独立股东的批准,反对者认为所有股东都应有权对董事会任命进行投票。额外披露的建议则获得广泛的接受。

另一项建议是当所有独董都长期在职,上市公司需任命一名新的独董。回应咨询的人士中有71%赞成,29%反对。

结论:考虑到不同意见,联交所决定:

  • 再次委任长期任职的独董无需获得独立股东批准。
  • 上市公司应加强披露,说明为何认为该名长期服务的独董仍属独立人士及应获重选的原因,包括所考量的因素、董事会(或提名委员会)作此决定的过程及讨论内容。该要求将适用于 2022 年 1 月 1 日或之后开始的财政年度。
  • 如果上市公司所有现任独董都长期服务,则需委任新独董。联交所理解物色合适独董人选的困难,因此允许有过渡期,2023 年 1 月 1 日或之后开始的财政年度才需实施这项要求。
  • 上市公司需于股东通函中就每名长期服务的独董的任期披露其姓名及已出任该职的时间,此要求将适用于 2022 年 1 月 1 日或之后开始的财政年度。

董事会成员的性别多元化

上市公司董事会应在配合公司业务所需的技能、经验和多元化观点之间取得平衡。

目前,上市公司需制定董事会多元化政策,并在其企业管治报告中披露该政策或摘要,其中应包括为实施该政策而设定的可量度目标,及实现这些目标的进展。自 2019 年 5 月起,联交所要求首次上市申请人在其招股书中披露其董事会多元化政策,并进一步要求任何具有单一性别董事会的申请人就如何实现性别多元化作出额外披露。

尽管有这些要求,2020 年香港上市公司的董事职位中只有12.7%由女性担任,而女性在英国担任董事职位则达34.4%,美国为28.2%,新加坡为19.5%。截至2020年12月31日的最新统计数字,在2,538家香港上市公司中,32.1%的公司没有女性董事,而大约37.4%的公司只有一名女性董事。

建议:为进一步促进性别多元化(此较其他多元化方面更容易被衡量),联交所建议:

  • 不接受只有单一性别成员的董事会。24%的回应者反对此建议。部分赞成的回应人士更提议在特定时间内达到女性董事最低比例的目标,而反对者则反驳指董事的委任应在以绩效为基础的公平制度下进行,而有关建议可能造成样板主义。
  •  所有上市公司订立及披露目标数字及时间表,以在董事会及雇员层面(包括高级管理层)均达到性别多元化。这建议遭到36%的回应者的反对。在雇员层面的目标方面,回应者质疑设定目标的可行性和意义,因为某些行业受限于行业性质或主要业务所在的国家。
  •  每年检讨董事会多元化政策的实施和有效性。88% 的回应者支持该建议,12%反对。
  • 修改新董事需填写的表格,加入董事性别信息,并在联交所网站上显示董事的年龄、性别和其他董事职务。这项建议也得到了 87% 的回应者的广泛支持。

结论:联交所决定:

  • 单一性别董事会将被逐步淘汰,即联交所不会认为单一性别董事会可实现多元化。为平衡香港上市公司的实际情况,联交所允许现有单一性别董事会的上市公司以三年的过渡期(即不迟于 2024 年 12 月 31 日),任命至少一名不同性别的董事。此外,对于在 2022 年 7 月 1 日或之后提交的任何上市申请将不可具有单一性别的董事会。
  • 性别多元化订立及披露目标数字及时间表只需在董事会层面实现。至于雇员层面,上市公司需披露(i)全体雇员(包括高级管理层)的性别比例、(ii)公司就达到性别多元化订立的计划或可计量目标、及(iii)会影响在雇员层面(包括高级管理层)达到性别多元化(使其较困难或较次要)的因素或情况。
  • 每年检讨董事会成员多元化,并于《企业管治指引》中加入有关董事会技巧矩阵的资料。
  •  修订董事表格以加入董事性别资料。
  • 上述第二至第四项建议将实施至 2022 年 1 月 1 日或之后开始的财政年度。

要点

联交所强调提高企业管治的重要性。上市公司除了应开始为新要求作准备外,还需要认识到这些要求既不是最高标准,也不是最终目标。公众对公司治理的期望将日益提高。

笔者在此感谢陈颖漩见习律师对本文的贡献。

结语

我们在本文简述三个颇争议的领域(即董事会的独立性、成员更新和性别多元化),原因是联交所在咨询结论1中就该等领域收到的反对回应率最高(高达36%)。

关于本文

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野