3 minute read 23 Mar 2022
Teenager doing home work on computer

Fifth wave of COVID-19 in Hong Kong: Importance of vigilance and taking proactive mitigating steps against cybercrime

By Kareena Teh

Partner

Direct: +852 2629 3207 | Mobile: +852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 23 Mar 2022
Related topics Our latest thinking

The fifth wave of COVID-19 in Hong Kong continues to cause unprecedented challenges to the Hong Kong community; many organizations have reverted to their work-from-home policy, increasing the risk of cybercrime incidents. 

Two recent developments in Hong Kong may exacerbate the risk of resulting loss and reduce the chance and extent of recovery:

  • victims may no longer take comfort from the Police-issued “letter of no consent” (“LNC”) as a temporary freezing measure following a recent successful judicial challenge before the Hong Kong Courts; and
  • access to the Hong Kong Courts is substantially affected by the General Adjourned Period (“GAP”) between 7 March 2022 to 11 April 2022, during which the Courts will only hear urgent applications.

Police letter of no consent regime and resulting temporary freezing measures

Typically, when victims have fallen prey to a cybercrime incident and have transmitted funds into a Hong Kong based bank account, they would usually urgently report the incident to the police or their remitting bank, which would in turn alert the receiving bank. Banks with knowledge or suspicion of such fraud would also file suspicious transaction reports with the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (“JFIU”) with a view to complying with the disclosure requirements under section 25A of the Organised and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455, “OSCO”).  The JFIU may issue a LNC to the banks which, as its name suggests, means that the JFIU does not give its consent to the banks dealing with the funds in the relevant account. While the ultimate decision to deal with property remains with the banks, they would generally refrain from doing so.  

Overtime, victims who have come to know about the LNC regime have relied on the LNC as a temporary freezing measure which quickly stops the fraudsters from further dissipating the funds, while taking time to identify the issues, collect the evidence, interview the involved personnel, and decide whether to take civil action to recover the defrauded funds. Where the defrauded funds are less substantial, some victims might have gone ahead with their civil action to recover the funds without firstly obtaining a freezing order, relying on the LNC to hold the defrauded funds in the bank accounts in the meantime.

Recent judgment holding that the no consent regime is unlawful

Recently, by its decision in Tam Sze Leung and others v Commissioner of Police [2021] HKCFI 3118 dated 30 December 2021, the Hong Kong Court of First Instance held that the JFIU’s “No Consent” regime is unlawful on the grounds that (1) it is ultra vires the OSCO, (2) it is not prescribed by the law and (3) it disproportionately interferes with the rights to property. 

It is unclear whether the decision will be subject to an appeal, or whether any interim measures/ legislative or policy changes will be introduced. A number of likely ramifications are nevertheless anticipated. First, the Police are likely to take even more care when deciding when to issue and/or extend a LNC, leading to possible delays in their issuance and/or shorter periods of their application. Second, the banks, receiving LNCs, will likely be even more careful in deciding whether to freeze bank accounts, particularly if they are in receipt of conflicting instructions from their customers to transfer funds out of the targeted bank accounts.

Impact of the Court’s general adjourned period

On 7 March 2022, the Hong Kong Judiciary announced that the Court will generally adjourn all proceedings between 7 March and 11 April 2022. The Court will only have limited functions, one of which is to hear “urgent applications to Duty Judge or Duty Master”. It is expected that the Court will first ascertain whether an application is truly urgent before convening a hearing to hear such application. As a result, victims who fail to take timely applications for freezing/ disclosure orders upon discovery of the cybercrime incidents may find that they may not be able to have their applications heard until after the cessation of the GAP.

Prevention is better than cure

There is currently no clarity as to whether the No Consent regime will continue to be operative, and if so, how it will be reformed and operate. There is also no indication as to whether the GAP may be extended, and if so, when it will come to an end.

These new developments therefore serve as a reminder to all organizations to continue their vigilance against cybercrime, avoid delays in taking actions which could increase the risk of loss occurring through onward transfers, and take proactive steps to contain and mitigate cybercrime risks. See our recommended steps in our publication issued in March 2020. We particularly highlight the importance of having designated incident response plans in place, with external professionals, including lawyers and forensic investigators, who can advise on and take urgent steps to apply for freezing/ disclosure orders, and subsequent recovery actions as appropriate.

Summary

The fifth wave of COVID-19 in Hong Kong continues to cause unprecedented challenges to the Hong Kong community; many organizations have reverted to their work-from-home policy, increasing the risk of cybercrime incidents.

About this article

By Kareena Teh

Partner

Direct: +852 2629 3207 | Mobile: +852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年3月23日
Teenager doing home work on computer

香港第五波新冠疫情: 应对网络犯罪时保持警剔及采取积极减轻损失措施的重要性

作者
郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 3207 | 手机︰+852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

莫皓然 Alex Mok

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2161 | 手机︰+852 9661 1609 | alex.hy.mok@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年3月23日
Related topics 最新视野

香港第五波新冠疫情持续对香港社区带来前所未见的挑战,而不少机构亦重启在家工作的措施,使堕入网络罪案的风险提升。

香港最近的两项事态发展可能会加剧造成损失的风险,并降低追讨的机会和程度:

  • 在近期香港法庭中一宗成功的司法挑战下,受骗者未必能从警方发出的“不予同意通知书”作为暂时性冻结手段而感到放心;及
  • 向香港法庭提出申诉的途径受2022年3月7日至2022年4月11 日期间的法庭程序一般延期(“一般延期”)广泛影响,期间法庭只处理紧急申请 。

警方的不予同意通知书机制及衍生的暂时性冻结手段

般而言,当受骗者堕入网络犯罪骗案并汇款至香港的相关银行账号后,受骗者通常会紧急地将事件向警方或汇款银行报告,而这亦会警醒收款银行。已得悉该诈骗或对该诈骗存在怀疑的银行亦会向联合财富情报组提交可疑交易报告,以遵从《有组织及严重罪行条例》(第455章)25A条下的披露要求。联合财富情报组可能会对银行发出不予同意通知书。顾名思义,这代表联合财富情报组不同意银行处理相关账号内的款项。虽然银行拥有应否处理款项的最终决定权,然而他们一般都会避免这样做。  

不时,知晓不予同意通知书机制的受骗者会凭借不予同意通知书作为能快速阻止骗徒继续转移款项的手段,同时慢慢了解问题所在、搜集证据、与受骗者内部涉事的员工进行面谈,并决定应否提出民事起诉以追讨被骗取的款项。当被骗取的款项不大时,一些受骗者可能会借着不予同意通知书将款项保留在银行账号的同时,选择直接进行民事起诉追讨款项,而不先行取得冻结令。

 

最近裁定不予同意机制为不合法的判决

香港原讼法庭最近在Tam Sze Leung and others Commissioner of Police [2021] HKCFI 3118 一案中于2021年12月30日颁下的判决中裁定联合财富情报组的不予同意机制为不合法,理据为该机制(1)超越《有组织及严重罪行条例》所授予的权限(ultra vires)、(2)不是法律订明的,及(3)过份干预财产权。

判决会否被上诉,或会否有任何临时措施/法律或政策改变,仍然是未知之数。然而,我们可以预视数个可能的后果。首先,在决定何时发出及/或延长不予同意通知书时,警方将会更谨慎,因而可能导致延迟发出通知书及/或把通知书的适用时期缩短。第二,当银行收到不予同意通知书时会更小心考虑应否冻结银行账号,尤其是当他们收到客户要求从目标银行账号中导出款项的相互矛盾指示。

法庭一般延期的影响

香港司法机构于2022年3月7日宣布法庭将于2022年3月7 日至4月11日期间对所有程序进行一般延期。法庭只有受限的功能,其中之一是“向当值法官或当值聆案官提出的紧急申请”。我们预期法庭会在开庭处理申请前先决定申请是否确切紧急。因此,受骗者如未能在发现网络犯罪后及时提出冻结令/披露令的申请,或需要等到一般延期完结后才能让法庭处理该申请。

预防胜于治疗

现在还未能清晰知道不予同意机制会否继续实施,及如何改革及运作,亦未有显示一般延期会否延长及何时完结。

因此对所有机构而言,这些事态发展有着提醒作用,机构需继续应对网络犯罪保持警剔、避免延误作出行动而令到进一步款项被转移的损失风险增加,及采取积极的措施以控制及减低网络犯罪风险。建议的措施可参看我们2020年3月发表的文章。我们特别强调制定指定的事件响应计划的重要性,同样重要的是要有专业人员,如能就申请冻结令/披露令及其后适合的追讨申诉作出建议采取紧急程序的律师及法证调查人员。

结语

香港第五波新冠疫情持续对香港社区带来前所未见的挑战,而不少机构亦重启在家工作的措施,使堕入网络罪案的风险提升。

关于本文

作者
郑宝玉 Kareena Teh

合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 3207 | 手机︰+852 9661 5325 | kareena.teh@eylaw.com.hk

莫皓然 Alex Mok

律师

直线︰+852 2675 2161 | 手机︰+852 9661 1609 | alex.hy.mok@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野