EN

3 minute read 6 May 2022

Hong Kong’s new bookbuilding, placing requirements

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 6 May 2022
Related topics Our latest thinking

The Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC) is introducing new rules on conduct expected of capital market transactions that take effect on 5 August 2022.

The SFC requirements adopt key proposals from the consultation process for its Proposed Code of Conduct on Bookbuilding and Placing Activities in Equity Capital Market and Debt Capital Market Transactions, and Sponsor Coupling Proposal, announced in October 2021. The author highlights here certain important new requirements.

CODE OF CONDUCT

Only licensed or registered persons may engage in regulated activities in Hong Kong, which include sponsoring IPOs and bookbuilding/placing in a share or debt offering. In conducting such activities, they must comply with the revised Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.

CAUSE FOR CONCERN

While syndicate members in Hong Kong IPOs are given more leadership titles, responsibilities over key activities become less defined among the many leaders.

Also, the SFC notes increasing concern over the behaviour of intermediaries engaged in IPOs not in line with maintaining a healthy capital market, or possible conflicts of interest. For example, firms marketing the offering to investors without a mandate from the issuer, and subsequently convincing the issuer to accept them as syndicate members.

In this case, the issuer provides fee incentives at a late stage, further bringing about last-minute scrambles for orders and fees. Syndicate leaders thus have much less control over the whole bookbuilding and share allocation exercise at the last critical phase of the IPO.

For IPO sponsorship, the SFC also notices that fees are currently not aligned with sponsors’ costs and responsibilities. Based on its analysis of 99 IPOs listed from January to September 2020, the average sponsor fee was HKD6.3 million (USD804,000) and the average underwriting fixed fee was HKD43.9 million. This causes concerns over sufficient effort by sponsors in conducting due diligence on the issuers.

NEW REQUIREMENTS

The SFC will adopt proposals set out in the Consultation Conclusions by introducing new paragraphs 17.1A and 21 in the code. The new requirements specify:

  • Regulated activities include: (1) bookbuilding; (2) marketing and distribution of share or debt securities (placing activities); and (3) advising, guiding and assisting the issues for the above-mentioned. Mere market sounding and settlement are not included.
  • The requirements apply to both share and debt offerings, namely equity and debt capital market transactions. They cover IPOs with offerings of new and issued shares, and also listed issuers’ offerings of new shares (including by way of top-up subscription and placing) if bookbuilding is involved. Debt securities, whether listed in Hong Kong or not, are covered if the bookbuilding is conducted in Hong Kong.
  • An “overall co-ordinator” (OC) is defined as a syndicate capital market intermediary (CMI) conducting overall management of the offering, co-ordinating the bookbuilding and placing activities, advising the issuer on the offer price, and exercising discretion in share reallocation and over-allotment options.
  • Each syndicate CMI should be appointed by the issuer under a written agreement (including the fixed fee payable to the CMI and payment schedule) before it conducts any bookbuilding or placing activities.
  • At least two months before listing application submission for a Main Board IPO, the issuer should appoint at least one OC (or its group company) acting as an independent sponsor to the IPO. This “sponsor coupling” requirement may help ensure quality sponsor work.
  • Not later than two weeks after listing application submission (GEM or Main Board), the issuer should appoint all OCs (including their fixed fees and payment schedules). The OC must submit to the SFC list of all OCs with fixed fee payable to each, total fees, and the fixed and discretionary fee split ratio at least four clear business days before the Listing Committee Hearing, and notify the SFC if there are any material changes.
  • There is no specific timeframe for appointing OCs in a non-IPO transaction.
  • The OC is required to provide guidance to the issuer about the market’s fee split practice.
  • A CMI should not offer or pass any rebate to any investor. It should disclose the rebate details to the issuer, the OC, its target investors and the non-syndicate CMIs appointed by it.
  • When placing orders, a CMI should provide to the OC the name and a unique identification number (identity card number) of each investor for orders placed on an omnibus basis and the identities of all other investors, in order to ensure transparency in the bookbuilding process and assist in eliminating duplicate orders.
  • Share and debt securities should be allocated on a fair basis. Priority should always be given to satisfying investor clients’ orders over the CMI’s own proprietary orders (including orders placed for funds and portfolios in which the CMI or its group member has a substantial interest).

The SFC has also issued guidelines to capital market intermediaries involved in placing activities for GEM stocks, which will also take effect on 5 August 2022.

KEY TAKEAWAY

There are many types of share and debt offerings in terms of nature and complexity. A CMI may play different roles in different offerings. A licensed or registered institute, in taking up the role as a syndicate CMI, should put in place sufficient resources and effective controls to comply with the new requirements and to deal with conflicts of interest.

Summary

The SFC requirements adopt key proposals from the consultation process for its Proposed Code of Conduct on Bookbuilding and Placing Activities in Equity Capital Market and Debt Capital Market Transactions, and Sponsor Coupling Proposal, announced in October 2021. The author highlights here certain important new requirements.

About this article

By Rossana Chu

Managing Partner

Direct: +852 2629 1768 | Mobile: +852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

EN

3 分钟 2022年5月6日

香港发布簿记建档和配售新要求

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年5月6日
Related topics 最新视野

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)于2021年10月发布有关(i)就股权资本市场及债务资本市场交易的簿记建档及配售活动而制订的建议操守准则;及(ii)“兼任保荐人”的建议的咨询总结。

监会采纳的建议将于2022年8月5日起实施。本文重点介绍其中几条重要的新要求。

操守准则

只有持牌人或注册人才能在香港开展受监管的活动,包括为首次公开招股(IPO)担任保荐人,以及在股份或债务发行中进行簿记建档和配售活动。在开展此类活动时,他们必须遵守《证券及期货事务监察委员会持牌人或注册人操守准则》(下称“《准则》”)。

引发关注的事由

香港IPO活动中的银团成员被赋予了更多领导称谓,但在众多领导成员中,对其关键活动的职责界定却变得更模糊。

证监会还提到,参与IPO的中介人有越来越多的行为与维持健康的资本市场相悖,或者可能造成利益冲突,引发担忧。例如,有商号在未获发行人委任的情况下向投资者推销,随后说服发行人委任他们作为银团成员;亦有发行人在后期提供收费激励,进一步造成在最后一刻争夺认购指示及收费的现象。银团主事人在IPO的最后关键阶段对全盘的簿记建档和股份分配的控制权也因此被削弱。

对于IPO保荐人,证监会注意到目前的收费与保荐人的成本和职责并不相称。证监会分析了2020年1月至9月的99个IPO,计算出平均保荐人收费为630万港元,平均包销定额收费则为4,390万港元。这让人担忧保荐人是否对发行人进行了充足的尽职审查。

新要求

证监会将采纳咨询总结中的建议,并将建议纳入《准则》新的17.1A和21条中。新要求包括:

  • 受监管活动包括:(1)簿记建档;(2)推销和分派股份或债务证券(即“配售活动”)和(3)就上述活动向发行人提供意见、指引及协助。单纯的市场探盘和结算不在此列。
  •  这些要求均适用于股份和债券发售(即股份和债券资本市场交易)。这些要求涵盖新股份和已上市股份的IPO发售,以及,如涉及簿记建档,亦涵盖已上市发行人的新股发售(包括通过增补认购和配售的方式发售)。对于债务证券,无论是否在香港发行,只要簿记建档在香港进行,此类要求亦适用。
  • 对发售进行全盘管理、协调簿记建档和配售活动、向发行人提供意见,以及在重新分配股份和超额配股行使酌情权的银团资本市场中介人(CMI)将被界定为“整体协调人”(OC)。
  • 每位银团CMI必须在进行任何簿记建档或配售活动前获得发行人的书面协议委任(包括应支付给CMI的定额费用及费用支付时间表)。
  • 对于在主板进行的IPO,在提交上市申请前至少两个月,发行人应委任至少一位OC,并由该OC(或其集团公司中的某家公司)担任该IPO的独立保荐人。这“兼任保荐人”的要求或有助于确保保荐人工作的质量。
  •  在提交上市申请(GEM或主板上市)后不迟于两个星期,发行人应委任所有OC(委任条款包括定额收费和收费支付时间表)。OC应在不迟于上市委员会聆讯前四个完整营业日向证监会呈交OC名单,支付给每名OC的定额费用,以及总费用和定额与酌情部分之间的比例。如上述资料有重大变更,OC应通知证监会。
  • 对于非IPO交易,没有就OC的委任时间作出具体规定。
  •  OC须向客户提供有关市场费用摊分比率惯例的指导。
  • CMI不得向任何投资者提供或转赠任何回佣。CMI应向发行人、OC、目标投资者和其委任的非银团CMI披露回佣细节。
  • 在输入认购指示时,CMI应向OC提供以综合方式输入认购指示的每位投资者的名称及独有识别码(如身份证号码),以及所有其他投资者的身份,以确保簿记建档过程透明并消除重复的认购指示。
  • 按公平原则分配股份和债务证券。CMI应时刻优先满足投资者客户的认购指示,而其自营认购指示(包括代表CMI或其集团公司在当中有重大权益的基金及投资组合输入的认购指示)则次之。

证监会同时发布了参与GEM股票配售活动的资本市场中介人指引,该指引将于2022年8月5日起实施。

要点

因不同属性和复杂度,股票和债券发售被分为多种类型。CMI在不同的发售活动中可能扮演不同的角色。持牌人或注册人在承担银团CMI职责时应投入充足的资源,实施有效控制措施以确保符合新要求及处理好利益冲突的问题。

结语

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)于2021年10月发布有关(i)就股权资本市场及债务资本市场交易的簿记建档及配售活动而制订的建议操守准则;及(ii)“兼任保荐人”的建议的咨询总结。证监会采纳的建议将于2022年8月5日起实施。本文重点介绍其中几条重要的新要求。

关于本文

作者 朱静文 Rossana Chu

管理合伙人

直线︰+852 2629 1768 | 手机︰+852 9733 6010 | rossana.chu@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野