3 minute read 26 Sep 2022
REGULATION CONCEPT

Establishing a charity in Hong Kong (Part II)

By Diane Fan

Counsel

Direct: +852 2629 1718 | Mobile: +852 9661 1926 | diane.fan@eylaw.com.hk

3 minute read 26 Sep 2022
Related topics Our latest thinking

Setting up a charity in Hong Kong may sound an attractive proposition, but they are subject to more, not less, compliance requirements than ordinary companies.  Part I of this series briefly summarised basic requirements and structures for such establishment. In this second article, the author focuses on requirements on corporate governance of charities, as well as continuing obligations for compliance after establishment.

Governance and compliance

Good corporate governance and compliance is very important to companies, businesses and organisations incorporated in Hong Kong, and the concept of corporate governance covers a lot of aspects. While legal requirements for corporate governance differ among various types of businesses, they generally include requirements on: accountability of the board of directors, senior management and committees; auditing and reporting; relationships with shareholders and stakeholders; and internal control systems and risk management mechanisms. Charities, as organisations incorporated and existing under the laws of Hong Kong, must also have in place a sound governance system subject to a series of compliance requirements. The Guide to Corporate Governance for Subvented Organisations, issued by the Social Welfare Department, outlines best governance practices for subvented organisations, including charities.

Governing Instrument

Charities must be established by a written governing instrument. In the case of companies limited by guarantee, the governing instrument is their articles of association. The governing instrument should contain clauses that cover:

  • Objectives for which the charity is established;
  • Limiting application of its funds to achieving stated objectives;
  • Prohibiting distribution of incomes and properties among members;
  • Prohibiting members of its governing body (e.g. directors, executive committee members, trustees) from receiving remuneration, except in circumstances where the charity can demonstrate that the payment of allowance or remuneration is necessary and reasonable, in which case the prohibition may be relaxed;
  • Requiring members of its governing body to disclose material interest, and not to vote in respect of a transaction, arrangement or contract in which they are interested;
  • Specifying how the assets should be dealt with upon dissolution; and
  • Requiring the keeping of sufficient records of income and expenditure, proper accounting books and compilation of annual financial statements.

Continuing Obligations

Since 1 August 2018, charities are required to upload audited accounts of every charity fundraising or lottery activity approved by the Social Welfare Department or Home Affairs Department to the fundraising activities page on the GovHK website. This applies to all charities, regardless of whether exempted from profits tax under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. After confirmation as tax-exempt, charities are subject to the following continuing obligations:

  • Submitting accounts, annual reports and other documents to the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) for review of its charitable nature, and if its activities are compatible with the governing instrument. Generally, the IRD performs a review at least every three years on each exempted charity, and the organisation is required to reply within one month of receiving the IRD’s questionnaire;
  • Informing the IRD within one month of any changes to its correspondence address, alteration to its governing instrument, termination of its subsidiary body, or cessation of its operation, dissolution or winding-up. Failure of notification may lead the IRD to cease accepting it as a tax-exempt charity;
  • If the organisation has earned or is beginning to earn chargeable profits, informing the IRD in writing within four months after the end of the basis period of the relevant year of assessment; and
  • Reporting remuneration paid to employees for each year of assessment and preserving such remuneration records, including reporting obligations in respect of the commencement and cessation of employment.

Most charities are companies limited by guarantee, and accordingly must comply with the general requirements under the Companies Ordinance, including the following continuing obligations:

  • Preserving corporate records such as the register of shareholders, directors and company secretaries, as well as meeting minutes;
  • Notifying the Companies Registry within 15 days of any change to the registered correspondence address, company secretary or director, or company name;
  • Companies limited by guarantee should submit an annual return within 42 days from the date of the return (i.e., the end of the nine-month period after the company’s accounting reference period), along with certified true copies of the financial statements, directors’ report and accountant’s report;
  • For each accounting year, an annual meeting among members should be held within nine months after the end of the accounting period;
  • If the number of members increases beyond the registered number, the Companies Registry should be notified within 15 days from the resolution of increasing members or the increase itself (whichever is earlier).

While governing members generally cannot receive remuneration, charities should nonetheless assume responsibilities of compliance with corporate governance obligations with diligence and professionalism. Qualified auditors should be engaged to audit the accounts and annual reports submitted to the IRD. The full content of annual reports, including a breakdown of received donations, main costs and expenditures, should be published on the IRD website and made publicly available at all times. Ultimately, charities may be subject to compliance with even more obligations than an ordinary company. For this reason, prior to establishing a charity, founders are advised to thoroughly consider the issues associated with relevant continuous reporting and compliance requirements.

Summary

Requirements on corporate governance as well as continuing obligations for compliance after establishing a charity.

About this article

By Diane Fan

Counsel

Direct: +852 2629 1718 | Mobile: +852 9661 1926 | diane.fan@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年9月26日
REGULATION CONCEPT

香港慈善团体的简介(中)

作者 范丹丹 Diane Fan

顾问律师

直线︰+852 2629 1718 | 手机︰+852 9661 1926 | diane.fan@eylaw.com.hk

3 分钟 2022年9月26日
Related topics 最新视野

显示相关资源

在本系列文章上篇中,我们概括了在香港设立慈善团体的基本要求及模式。本文将针对慈善团体在企业管治方面的要求,包括其规管文书的规定,以及一些在成立后仍需执行的持续责任进行介绍。

管治与合规

在香港注册成立的公司、企业及团体而言,良好的企业管治及合规十分重要。企业管治涵盖很广泛的范畴,法律上对不同类型的企业有特定的要求,然而一般的企业管治原则都包括对董事会、高级管理层、委员会的问责、审计及报告、与股东及持份者的关系、内部监控系统及风险管理措施等主要方面的规定。慈善团体作为香港合法注册成立及存续的组织,必然也需要有良好的管治受到一系列合规要求的限制。社会福利署也出版了《受资助机构企业管治指引》,列明受资助机构企业(包括慈善团体)管治的最佳常规。

组织规管文书

慈善团体必须通过一份规管文书而成立,以担保有限公司为例,规管文书应为其公司章程。规管文书应载有涵盖以下事项的条款:

  • 慈善团体成立的宗旨;
  • 限制其资金用于实现其表述的宗旨;
  • 禁止在其成员之间分摊其收入及财产;
  • 禁止其管治组织成员(例如董事、执行委员会成员、受托人等)收取薪酬,但若符合某些条件并证明在特殊情况下支付津贴或酬金是必须且合理的则可获放宽;
  • 规定其管治组织成员披露重大利益及不可对其具有利益关系所涉及的交易、安排或合约作出表决;
  • 规定在其解散时如何处理余下资产;及
  • 规定备存足够的收支纪录、妥善的会计账目及每年编制财务报表。

持续义务

从2018年8月1日起,慈善团体须就其每项获社会福利署或民政事务总署批准的慈善筹款活动或奖券活动上载经审计账目至“香港政府一站通”内的筹款活动专页,以提高慈善团体的公开筹款活动的透明度。这适用于所有慈善团体,不管其是否得到《税务条例》第88条的税项豁免。

确认为免税慈善团体后,该团体将有以下的持续责任:

  • 须提交其账目、年报及其他文件,以便税务局复查其慈善性质,及其活动是否仍符合其规管文书所述。一般而言,税务局会对现有免税团体至少每三年进行一次复查,而团体须于收到复查问卷的一个月内回复税务局;
  • 如作出任何通讯地址、规管文书的更改,或结束其附属组织,或停止运作、解散或清盘,须于一个月内通知税务局,否则可能被税务局停止接受其为免税团体;
  • 如有关团体有或开始取得应课税利润,须于有关课税年度的评税基期结束后四个月内,以书面通知税务局;
  • 须就每个课税年度申报支付予雇员的薪酬详情,并保存雇员的薪酬记录,包括就其开始雇佣及停止受雇信息作出申报。

上篇提及大多数慈善团体均为担保有限公司,因此,亦需要遵守《公司条例》内的一般规定,包括以下持续义务:

  • 备存企业记录,例如股东、董事、公司秘书名册,以及会计记录;
  • 如注册办事处地址、公司秘书或董事,或公司名称有所更改,须于15天内通知公司注册处;
  • 担保有限公司须于申报表日期(即公司会计参照期结束后的九个月届满之日)后的42天内向公司注册处交付周年申报表,连同经核证为真实副本的财务报表、董事报告、核数师报告;
  • 就每个财政年度,于公司会计参照期结束后的九个月举行周年成员大会;
  • 如其成员人数增加值超越注册人数,须于议决增加成员人数或人数增加后的15天内(以较早者为准)通知公司注册处。

虽然管治组织成员一般情况下不得收取薪酬,但慈善团体也必须承担应尽的管治及合规管理义务,谨慎而专业行事。对于提交给税务局的账目及年报,慈善团体也应聘请合资格的专业审计师来进行,且年报的全部内容,包括慈善组织的所得捐赠、主要花费和支出等账目的明细,都应公开在税务局网站上,可以被公众随时查询审阅。相比普通公司,慈善团体须遵守的规定有过之而无不及。因此,在确切成立慈善团体前,创始人须慎重思考如何持续地符合相关申报及合规要求。

 

显示相关资源

结语

设立慈善团体后的要求、义务和治理。

关于本文

作者 范丹丹 Diane Fan

顾问律师

直线︰+852 2629 1718 | 手机︰+852 9661 1926 | diane.fan@eylaw.com.hk

Related topics 最新视野